We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night on Offa's Dyke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangattock Lingoed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
Llangattock Lingoed NP7 8RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One night on Offa's Dyke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This is a very pleasant place to stay, if rather old fashioned. We were welcomed with tea and cake (not home made) in the lounge which reminded my friend of her gran's house - and my friend is nearly 70. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need. Breakfast was typical good B and B but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

WE first stayed here in 2000 with our 14 year old son. This time we went alone. It was excellent back then and is even better now. The room was clean and bright, the breakfast was excellent and our hosts were very helpful in pointing out things to see in the area. The old church next door is definitely worth a look too.

The Hunter's Moon pub is a couple of minutes walk away and serves excellent food.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a real gem. We had a warm welcome, a nice stay in this house with a lovely room and a lovely breakfast. The owner went that extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The house lies next to the church and has parts from the 16th century. The local pub is excellent. This was our third stay at the walk along Offa's Dyke Path.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters were your room is. The entire house is nice and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at this friendly b and b for one night whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path. Tea and cake provided in the guest lounge on our arrival - most welcome after climbing/walking across a steep freshly mown hay field at the end of the hot day. Necessary washing was taken by Karen and hung out to dry - she also made sure it was dry for us the next day by putting socks in the airing cupboard. Excellent breakfast and packied lunch for the next day.

As we were walkers, a table had been reserved for us at the Hunter's Moon just down the road.
Excellent family run establishment - delicious pastry and desserts provided by Grandma Beryl.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at The Old Rectory for three nights while walking The Three Castles Walk and area in early May, 2014. We were treated royally by Karen and Paul! The Inn is beautifully decorated and our room overlooking the valley was amazing, both in accommodation and views. Their knowledge of the area and desire for us to feel at home and make the most of our visit led to an amazing walking adventure. Breakfasts were cooked to order with fresh fruit each morning. We walked in their door as strangers the first day and left feeling like family. Will definitely make a trip back, just to stay with them again. The pub, just a block's walk away, was a great place to end each day's adventures with excellent food, drink, and friendly proprietors.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the valley and beyond, with large windows and window seat was amazing. We spent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spend three nights at the Old Rectory in Llangattock Lingoed on a short walking holiday in Wales. We booked through a walking company, Celtic Trails, and I am so glad we did as we would not otherwise have discovered this wonderful place. We were doing the Thee Castles walk but as the Old Rectory sits right on Offa's Dyke Path we had an opportunity to walk a bit of that one as well. It is perfectly situated for both.

As there were four of us (two couples) we were booked into the two-bedroom apartment in the Tithe Barn. It was great to have the space after our previous lodging in a cramped B and B in Shropshire. The Tithe Barn has been lovingly and appropriately converted into lodging, and is very comfortable. Needless to say, everything was sparkling clean and the appliances all worked fine. We only used the kettle and coffee press as we were given breakfast in the main house. The breakfast, with cereal, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and toast, was a good start for a long day of walking.

Paul and Karen are kind and wonderful hosts, and work hard to ensure that their guests are well cared for. I would recommend the Old Rectory without hesitation to anyone walking in the area or touring in a car, and looking for a lovely, peaceful, and comfortable bed and breakfast.

Note that there is another "Old Rectory" in the area, in The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club on the other (west) side of Abergavenny. Also there appears to be another Old Rectory B and B to the south of Abergavenny, with reviews here on Tripadvisor. Make sure you are looking at the Old Rectory in Llangattock Lingoed.

Room Tip: The Tithe Barn is normally a self-catering apartment but can be booked on a B and B basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Whilst enjoying a boating holiday on the Brecon Canal, we visited The Old Rectory for dinner. The place is in a wonderful setting and the accommodation does not disappoint. The food was so good and reasonably priced that we visited for breakfast the following morning. Very friendly staff, we look forward to staying there in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Llangattock Lingoed NP7 8RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llangattock Lingoed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock Lingoed
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Llangattock Lingoed
The Old Rectory Llangattock Lingoed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.