We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location but you pay for it!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell @ Skenfrith

The Bell @ Skenfrith
Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
+44 (0)1600 750235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Skenfrith
Price range: $40 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning location but you pay for it!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We called in for a drink and a sandwich . Sat in the garden which was beautiful, however they would not make us a sandwich at 2.30 pm. Perhaps this was a good omen because the drinks prices were extortionate and I looked at the menu that for a pub - was equally extortionate so glad we didn't eat!! Have been in skenfrith for 2 weeks and it was our first and last visit. Everybody said the same thing where we were staying -- very very expensive for a pub

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    21
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welsh Wizardry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A delightful inn by a bridge over untroubled water in a village with a fine ruined castle and a curious church. Welcoming staff and pleasing ambience with a wealth of wood and slate.
Elderflower bellinis for the ladies and a local beer for me while we studied the interesting menu followed by a meal to remember served by a charming waitress from Lithuania washed down with an excellent Macon Villages at an agreeable price. We will return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A brilliant lunch in an idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Bell is a lovely country inn that overlooks a river, about a hundred yards from Skenfrith Castle. The staff are friendly and helpful and the dining area is neat and tastefully decorated. There were several options when it came to how we could eat (sharing boards, specials and an a la carte menu too). The wine list was, we thought, extensive and varied. We ordered well and loved our meal. The scallops were excellent -- probably the best I've ever had, actually, and the puddings deserve a special mention too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great supper for eight of us. Very helpful staff who gave us a separate room so dog could come too. So good we went back again the next night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were enroute to the valleys of south wales and were recommended to go to this hotel for lunch. How glad that we did. We only had sandwiches but wow the bread was beautiful and the beef was just delicious. When going to see family again i think we might have a more substantial lunch next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell @ Skenfrith also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Bell @ Skenfrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell @ Skenfrith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.