We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation at Columbus Isle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Columbus Isle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Columbus Isle to your Saves list
Club Med Columbus Isle
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cockburn Town, San Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, CT
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great family vacation at Columbus Isle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Had a wonderful week at Club Med Columbus Isle. The beach is one of the best. The resort service is excellent. The food is excellent -- especially for an all inclusive -- great job Reuben! The scuba diving is well above average. everyone is friendly and attentive. Our first "Club Med" experience. We will do it again.

Couple of small negatives: our room (348) needs some serious updating: water damage on the walls and too much mildew in the shower and sink area. The resort should provide drink service on the beach. The resort needs a true spa -- not just overpriced massages.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear dash1_98,
We're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful first time at Club Med! We apologize the small issues you had with your room, but appreciate you letting us know. We hope you'll come back and vacation with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    626
    168
    73
    18
See reviews for
449
992
99
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

When Columbus Isle opened in early 1990 we came to spent a week and enjoyed a wonderful time.
In the meantime we traveled the world and visited a good number of Club Med Locations!
So many years later we visited Columbus Isle again last week. The getting there was a bit cumbersome because anybody taller than 5'6" will have a hard time traveling on charter planes!!!! I wish Club Med would give the option of a better flight setting even if you have to pay a bit more and than, what do you do 3-4 hours in Fort Lauderdale?????
There are no family suit available and we got two rooms, which upon arrival we found out were interconnecting and that was a huge plus traveling with a teenager.
It was nice to see the palm trees and greenery mature and providing shade. Unfortunately accommodations took a toll due to climate and visitors, but never the less, the beach and waters are still a magical place. A renovation is definitely in order to bring this place up to speed again. The bathroom are very worn, anybody who cares for TV entertainment had to deal with old and broken equipment, rusted safes and worn out beds.... not a 5 star place (at the moment).
The chief de village, Barq, and his team created and provided a wonderful atmosphere and made us feel very special. The meals are spectacular, one of the reasons why we keep on coming back to Club Med!
What surprised us is that the excursions and extras are extremely expensive. A trip to a local lagoon was 95 Dollars per person (3 hours trip, no food, just a 15 min. car drive and a boot tour where we did not see any fish or else) , a 2 hour ride on a jet ski 175 Dollars, pictures ( in our case 60 + p.) purchased and burned to a CD ( cost 50 cents) 200 Dollars. Internet connections had to be purchased and not a very good speed connection was available.
While we were there, they closed the Beach Bar for snacks and opened one of the specialty restaurants for "Gourmet Snacks" which did not go well with our ever hungry teenager. I think this was not a smart move.
Yes, sailing and kayaking is included and the equipment was in excellent condition. Our GO Cederike and his team did a great job in getting us into the boots and fly across the waters.
We love the Club Med concept and will be back for more. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Book directly with Club Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear beachlbuddy,

We're so happy to hear you had a wonderful time with us at Club Med Columbus Isle! It's great that you find our beach and resort magical! However, we are truly sorry that the rooms were not quite up to your standards and that your experience with the flight was less than positive. Additionally, we apologize that you felt that the excursions were not up to your expectations. We are thrilled, however, that you rated us 5 stars overall and hope that these problems won't deter you from future vacations with Club Med.

Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Growing up in Europe, my parents took us to a club med once or twice a year. So I had many expectations for my first trip to a Caribbean club. Also, I was worried how my wife, who has never been to Club Med would like the experience. Well, as the title suggests, we both loved it! When Barq met us at the gate and greeted us like friends that haven’t seen for a long time, and Leigha gave us her big smile, we knew that we were at the right place.

First, let me say that getting to Club Med Columbus Isle, is the easiest flight I have ever had to the Caribbean. Direct flight from Ft Lauderdale, no airport hassle, and a really short (count to 10) ride to the club. It makes the value bonus points for the club.

I won’t bore you with our trip diary notes. However, I will try to answer some of the questions we had booking the vacation.

If you can, (I know I will) go for two weeks, one week is just too short to enjoy all the fun, food and to wind down… the rooms are great wherever you choose. There really are no bad rooms, especially since most of the time you are not in the room other than sleep! if you have to be able to wake up and see the ocean, spring for the better room. If not, they are all more or less the same.


I always wonder about the bar, wine situation… so let me say that the wine selection is not bad. They have a few reds and whites, not the best but positively drinkable. The bar is well stocked with all the name brands and Mint for Mojitos! (Is it really that hard?) The bartenders however ROCK! And really make the difference. They make great drinks and take care of their guests. In the evening everyone meets at the bar, relax over a drink and get to trade war stories of the day. Like an English pub (but fancier) where everyone knows everyone, and everyone is a friend. This is where the international qualities of the GO’s really shine. Lauren will take great care of you!

The shows at night are great (if you can stay up that late) after diving or sailing or Yoga, soccer, volleyball… and you get to meet some of the GO’s who you might not meet otherwise, or know they had such talents. (Hello Cedric!)

If you are into water sports and diving, Club Med Columbus Isle is where it’s at… I love sailing and was happy that they had larger and faster Catamarans. Cedric and Tal (my Eilat Brother) are awesome. Tal organized some activities that made everyone feel at home. Don’t know how, but I got convinced to taking an advanced diving certification while I was there (I just wanted to snorkel…) but I don’t regret it. The diving is amazing. Maxwell, My instructor and dive buddy was great, calm and very professional. Hopefully the water heats up a little for him… the other instructors were also great and were always helpful. Thanks Morgan, Joseph, and Stephan.

There is a hotel (three rooms) on the other side of the island (guanahani ) that teaches Kite surfing. Worth the trip! While you are not advised to rent a scooter (why?) if you know how to ride, and you are somewhat responsible, the ride is beautiful.

The Food was amazing, very creative, fresh and plentiful. Chef Reuben was on his game. The new menus every day, the smiling kitchen staff and great servers, made every meal an experience. I wish the pool café was opened more hours with a better menu, and that reservations for the restaurant could be made by phone or at the hotel office!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear dontslumit,
Wow! We are absolutely blown away by your thoughtful words and raving review! Thank you so much for taking the time to answer so many questions about the resort, as well as give us so many compliments. We hope you'll come back and vacation with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, EL Salvador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

the hotel felt like we had a home in a nice village. the people there were very nice. i enjoyed talking to Eric from reception, my friends and I would go and talk to him every day. he was really nice and exciting to talk to. he opened a coconut for us and he helped us with our song.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear skberger,
We're so happy you felt so at home at Club Med Columbus Isle! It's great that you made such great friends with Eric from reception. We hope you'll come back and vacation with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Wow! What a resort...incredible vacation, food, activities and nightlife/entertainment....Barq and his staff are providing many great memories....The sailing team Carly, Cedric and Tal are the best...the scuba team is fantastic, Maxwell, Stefan and Audrey...Alex of the Tennis team was awesome....I was very sorry to see him in his last week as a G.O....the bartenders Alan, Justin and Mark will never let you get thirsty....be careful of the "Alan special" you may need help back to your room!!! The food and the restaurant were incredible... Reuben and Hugo do everything possible to provide what you desire....The shows were always entertaining and Leah and Sheena (choreographers) helped bring out the best performances by the G.O.'s...

We have been to several clubs and many exciting vacations with our family....this tops them all....we will return often and bring many friends and family with us....

Lisa and Cliston

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Dear Lisa and Cliston,
We're so glad that you both loved Club Med Columbus Isle so much! It sounds like you got to do some fun watersports and watch great shows. We can't wait for you to come back and vacation with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

It was out first experience with club med and most probably our last. The facility was beautiful, the turquoise water was just spectacular, food was great, and the GO were outgoing and planned great events. Although the sewage smell and the black dirty water in our toilet bowl was totaly horrifying. For 4 days straight we had to look and smell that. Called the front lobby they sent a staff member who was suppose to get back to us but never did, even after several calls and also requested to change room which was not granted. Very dissapointed.
Mary from Montreal

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Mary,

We are terribly sorry that you had issues with the plumbing in your room during your stay at Club Med Columbus Isle. We also apologize that your requests for help with the situation were seemingly ignored. Here at Club Med, we truly strive for the best service for our guests and apologize that we fell short in your case. Rest assured that management will be notified to prevent future situations like this from happening. We're glad, however, that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay. We hope this won't deter you from future vacations with Club Med.

Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Club Med Columbus Isle was terrific, really the perfect holiday and getaway for any type of traveller. The difference between this resort and any other comes down to the service and ambience, which are beyond exceptional. I heard from numerous people that the reason this Club Med is so fantastic is because of Barq, the Chef du Village. He has created an incredibly unique and special atmosphere due to the quality and enthusiasm of the GO (and kitchen) staff and all of the personal little touches along the way that make for a truly enjoyable and diverse holiday. Every day and night there was some sort of new and exciting event or detail to break things up, whether it was a fashion show, thematic decorations, live music, dining around the pool all in white, specially themed cocktails, etc etc. As a guest, you really felt that the staff was doing EVERYTHING they possibly could to ensure you had the best stay. I felt they really went above and beyond in absolutely everything, and we were so impressed. As guests, we really noticed and appreciated all of these little touches. Barq, by the way, is an absolute pleasure - so charming and welcoming, he personally welcomes every guest at meals and always has a nice word to say, making you feel like an extra special guest. The same can be said about the head chef who actually hand-delivered to me several times special dishes he had created just for me. The very first day he came up to my table and asked if there was anything, absolutely anything, he could do or make for us that would make our meal experience better. It was already so great that we were speechless! Best night in the buffet was Scents of the World where everyone sits around the pool all in white.

The quality of the GO staff is incredible. They are all fun people with seemingly relentless, unabated energy. They wake up early and then dance and party late into the night, mingling with and befriending guests all along the way. Lauren, the fitness instructor, is a star. I think she should be discovered one day and become a professional dancer. She was amazing in Bad Romance, and her Sculpt & Tone class in the mornings was terrific. She was incredibly charming and a wonderful GO. Morgan in scuba was outstanding - literally the most helpful scuba instructor I could have imagined, he guided us through every step of the diving process. The GOs eat meals with guests, so we really got the chance to get to know them. Bob (honorary GO) on the poker table was fantastic, and we had so much fun playing and learning from him - if he is around when you are on holiday, you should definitely play with him. Seriously amazing energy these GOs have - they started practicing for the next night's show at midnight.

The resort itself is beautiful and paradise. Turquoise, clear, clean water that you never wanted to get out of. I recommend hiring a bicycle and heading outside of Club Med to some of the remote beaches - white sand and totally untapped beach, you feel like you are on a desert island. The grounds, pool area, buffet, scuba, bars were all outstanding. There were a huge number of tennis courts too. The rooms were a bit tired, and our shower head was broken, but it didn't detract from the experience. I liked the island style of the room actually and the private balcony. I think the bathrooms and showers could be reworked. Still, it was an incredibly enjoyable stay.

I think the Club Med concept is incredibly brilliant and unique. With the high energy of the GOs and the dances/songs that everyone knows, they create this intimate club for the guests who feel like they are part of something really special. Everyone danced at night - when does that ever happen at other places?! The whole concept just draws you in, and you want to be a part of it. It's the perfect place to both relax and be active, depending on your style. Seriously, it's Barq and the GOs that made this Club Med so special. I do think the dress themes could be more creative - too much black and white and jeans - need to put in some colorful themes!!

Also, a special note on the guest performers - we had an electric harp player from Montreal that played every night alongside a DJ, and the combination was eclectic and melodic and lovely. We were huge fans. I like that Club Med finds and supports local independent artists. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, April 17, 2011
Dear EternalLove4Travel,
Wow! It's wonderful to hear that you had such a fabulous time at Club Med Columbus Isle! We appreciate all of your compliments, as well as your helpful feedback. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Columbus Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Columbus Isle

Address: Cockburn Town, San Salvador
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Columbus Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the refinement of the Bahamas during your stay at Columbus Isle. The heavenly all-inclusive resort of Columbus Isle is a paradise for diving and honeymoon vacations. Travel to Club Med Columbus Isle as a couple and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this secluded resort on the Caribbean Sea. Indulge in a massage* by the ocean or relax by the pristine beach. As one of the top 5 wall diving destinations in the Caribbean, this luxurious hideaway is also the best luxury resort for couples. This environmentally-friendly resort also offers a wide range of activities and sports for adults. No matter what your travel expectations are, you'll find the amenities at Columbus Isle to be more refined than anywhere else: premium oceanfront accommodations, oceanfront massage* palapas, scuba diving* in one of the best diving spot worldwide, 3 gourmet dining venues including our All-day dining facility and a specialty restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Columbus Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Columbus Isle Hotel San Salvador
Club Med San Salvador
San Salvador Club Med
Columbus Isle Club Med
Club Med Columbus Isle Bahamas/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Columbus Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.