We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Turtle Club, great for boating trip from Jupiter, FL.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Club & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Turtle Club & Marina to your Saves list
Green Turtle Club & Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   North End of White Sound, Green Turtle Cay   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Green Turtle Club, great for boating trip from Jupiter, FL.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a week stay in one of the waterside cottages. Perfect for our boat as the dock is parallel to the cottage which makes for easy loading and unloading. The units we stayed in included a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom suite. Unit 13 had a king bed, 2 chairs with table, dresser, mini fridge, coffee maker and en suite bathroom. Adjoined was unit 14, which is the living room, dining area, kitchen and full bathroom. Kitchen included small old fashioned stovetop and oven, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster, and a deep freezer! (Stored all our bait for a week's fishing trip). Full kitchen equipment, older items, but functional. Unit 15, also adjoined, had 2 queen beds, dresser, 2 chairs, table, mini fridge, coffee maker, en suite bathroom. Daily housekeeping services with fresh towels and toiletries. Air condition units in each room. Back porch was length of all three units and screened in, which was great for summer bugs! The restaurant and club had good food, and the bar is a fun laid back casual place for drinks, wi-fi, tv, and socializing. Great staff! Green Turtle Cay is a good location in the Abacos to access other islands, dive and fishing spots, etc. We enjoyed visits to Guana, Marsh Harbor, Spanish, Hope Town, and of course New Plymouth, accessible by golf cart on Green Turtle Cay. This was a wonderful location for our boating vacation of fishing, diving, island hopping, a bit of shopping. It isn't a fussy resort, but the customer service is impeccable. Spend an evening under the string lit trees,with tipsy turtles, and a local island band! Fun!

Room Tip: We rented Starfish units 13,14,15 together to accommodate a family of four. Friends stayed in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Another amazing stay at Green Turtle Club (GTC)! We stayed again at a Waterfront room; however, this time we stayed on the White Sound side so we could dock our rented boat. From the food at the GTC (Diane is the best server ever!), to the friendliness at reception, you will not be disappointed. We rented a golf cart, which is a must, from Kool Karts and the boat from Sunset Marine Boat Rentals. They both never disappoint. Always on time, courteous and excellent motorized items. Always a pleasure staying on this island and with GTC. Only a few negatives...only cold water in the shower and no emergency kit at reception. However, they did pull together and found some supplies for us. But I think that needs to be rectified in the future. Other than that...amazing! The manager Julie at GTC is always very friendly and you can tell she loves what she does.

Room Tip: Waterfront, White Sound side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our stay at the Green Turtle Club (GTC), and would highly recommend the resort to both couples and families that want to enjoy the ease of great service, cuisine, and clean accommodations without the sometimes struggle/inconvenience(s) that would come from renting a private home. The whole island is full of locals who welcome your business, take great pride in their cuisine, and invite you to experience what they get to enjoy everyday. In staying at GTC, everything is close: golf cart rentals directly in back of the Welcome Center, boat rental companies will drop a boat to the dock directly in front of your waterfront cottage, and they have one of the very best restaurants on the Island. I would highly recommend Sunset Marine for boat rentals, and Pineapples Bar and Grill (find it by golf car in the daytime) and the Lizard Bar and Grill (at Leeward Yacht Club and Marina -both for food and drinks, and both have docks for to arrive by boat. Next year we will bring back our young children!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just returned from GTC and had a decent time, but really not worth going if you are not going to keep a boat in their marina or rent one. GTC is far enough from New Plymouth that it's not walkable and even if you get a golf cart, the roads are pretty rough in places and not family friendly for small children to hang on to the back of a golf cart while bouncing along the road.

That said, the resort is nice for bahama standards as long as you know what to expect when coming to the bahamas. Things like a bathroom sink that barely functioned or poured water out the back of the faucet all over the counter are commonly found here.

Also, the people are very nice, and help out where they can. Come to GTC for boating, clear water and the people of Green Turtle and you'll be happy. Don't expect 4Seasons levels of comfort or phone/internet that works and you won't be disappointed.

Note that everyone you meet will tell you how expensive the GTC restaurant is... and it is a little expensive, but most things are expensive in the bahamas....just 30% more at GTC.

Note: Internet was available less than 10% of the time we were there and multiple power outages per day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I spent 11 fabulous days at Green Turtle Club earlier this month. We rented a golf cart for the entire stay as well as a boat for about 4 days, which we moored right on the dock by our cottage (#10 Papaya). This allowed us to explore the island by land as well as by sea and to do a little island hopping. We rented a great boat from Reef Rentals, but there are several other boat rental agencies to choose from. There are also a variety of places that offer golf carts around the island; which is definitely the best way to get around. The little town of New Plymouth is worth a visit with several good places to eat such as Harvey's, the Wrecking Tree, and Macintosh's, and a couple of great local haunts: Pineapples and the Sundowner. I also recommend the historical museum. Our favorite eating place was the restaurant at the Green Turtle Club. Fabulous food and friendly service in an atmosphere that was unbeatable. Inside the hotel is a comfortable TV lounge and the Tipsy Turtle Bar. They make the best rum punch on the island, too! The resort and grounds are lovely and include a little convenience shop as well as laundry facilities. Our room was clean and spacious and included Wifi. The cleaning staff could not have been more helpful and sweet to us, even though we did track in a lot of sand! Overall, we would highly recommend the Green Turtle Club & Marina. Another ammenity we enjoyed especially was Brendal's Dive Center located just next to the resort. Fantastic people and an unforgetable experience exploring the reefs.

Room Tip: Rooms by the water are quiet and include a private dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very good hotel and nice personnel. Nothing to say.
The main problems if you do not have a boat and you are looking for some nice beaches are the sandflies, terrible insects that were biting us, quite a lot.
So my suggestion is to go mainly on the oceanic beaches and avoid at all Coco Beach (that is beautiful).
Room excellent, food good, nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Green Turtle Cay Club in mid-December. There are about 26 units of three types: small rooms on a hillside above main building; units 7,8, 9 close to water beside main building; and several dockside units quite a walk from main building. We stayed in unit #7 (highly recommended) which is on their small beach to left of screened restaurant. It was nicely decorated with French doors looking onto the water; two sink areas; small refrigerator and fairly private. Units #8 & #9 are behind unit #7 and do not have a view from inside, but are also close to the main building.

The Club is a self-contained low key resort with two restaurants; cute bar; living room area; gift shop; small grocery store; golf cart rental; adjacent dive shop; gas pump and marina. Prime spot for boaters to dock or drag anchor because White Sound is very sheltered. Marina offers electricity; wifi; cable TV. The resort was very quiet during our stay as boaters and guests start arriving after Xmas for the season.

We cannot say enough about the great service and warm hospitality from the staff. We found all breakfasts and dinners to be excellent. Consulting chef Michael Howell visits CTCC several times a year from Nova Scotia and plans a diverse and excellent menu (Greek lamb; grouper; conch; pasta). All food in Bahamas is expensive as everything except fish must be shipped in. Meal prices are in line with other restaurants. Renee and other restaurant staff make you feel at home.

The resort has a very small beach front with a handful of loungers and picnic tables. CTCC is a couple of miles (golf cart ride) from the only town New Plymouth (400 population). Town is cute, but limited options for dining and groceries. CTCC is a short walk from Coco Bay, a pretty bay with a nice beach (no services or chairs). A golf cart ride to other side of White Sound (10 minutes) leads to Jolly Roger restaurant and dockside bar at the Bluff House.

NOTE: It is mandatory to take Deet 25 or greater to GTCC to avoid bug bites and to use it. The area is full of mangroves hiding "no see-ums" which you can't see but we experienced many bites. Aside from this issue, we had a great stay (even without a boat) and would recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Unit #7 is best for a couple. Comfy king bed; small refrigerator; two sink areas; great water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Turtle Cay
0.0 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 8 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in Andros
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Club & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Club & Marina

Address: North End of White Sound, Green Turtle Cay
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Green Turtle Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Green Turtle Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Turtle Club & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Resort with 29 rooms and 40 marina slips. Excellent Restaurant and famous Tipsy Turtle Bar, Boutique Gift Shop with items from all over the world including many made right here in the Bahamas by Bahamians! Great Service Staff, beautiful beaches, diving, snorkeling, bonefishing, reef fishing, deep sea fishing, kayaking and at the Green Turtle Club doing nothing is doing something!! Historical village of New Plymouth settled by the Loyalists in the late 1700's just a short golf cart drive away(2 miles). Museum, Sculpture Garden, shops, bars, restaurants and bakeries in the village. Brendal's Dive Center for diving right next to the resort. Golf cart rentals available. Green Turtle Club's guest service staff ready and willing to help set up any rentals or fishing/diving trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Green Turtle Club & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Club & Marina Hotel Great Abaco Island
Green Turtle Club And Marina
Green Turtle Hotel Marina
Green Turtle Resort Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas - Out Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Club & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.