We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of February Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added February Point Resort to your Saves list
February Point Resort
Queens Highway, George Town, EX-29090, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“super stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

this is our 8th trip to exuma and february point was a lovely place to stay. the facility has an infinity pool located on the community beach with a beautiful view of Elizabeth harbor. we used the kayaks to paddle the cove and see the sea cucumbers, sponges, starfishes and tropical fish. the pool area has pretty and comfortable furniture and a restroom and shower but you do need to bring your own drinks/ snacks. the house was very pretty,clean and stocked with all of the normal kitchen appliances and we were on the water overlooking the marina and the bar/ restaurant. we had drinks there one evening and the chef is now cooking for people by arrangement while they wait for permits for the restaurant. we did not eat there but kept a boat there. we loved going to chat and chill across the harbor by boat and playing volleyball, dominoes and the pigroast on sundays is the bomb. there are stingrays that will let you feed them. get a goombay smash and "chill"..... north ,in the car you can go to cocoplum beach (stunning) for one of the best gourmet lunches on the island and look for sand dollars. palm bay beach club has a great bar, food and air hockey and fooseball. by boat go to doras she's across the bay by the monument high on the hill she makes the best conch burgers and you can cross over to the ocean side of the island to have some 'wave action'on a beach by yourself if you drive to little exuma call santanas for a great lunch and go next door to mom's for fresh baked bread and sweets in her bakery bone fish lodge is closer and they have great food, good company and they feed sharks at nite and teach about them. there are three close grocery stores in town and several liquor stores and mom's bakery comes to town in the lot across the street from great exuma market. february point is very central to everything. they have a nice gym and tennis courts that can be lit for you f you ask the guard at the gate. all in all a very nice place

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Our rental overlooked the Marina and what a view it was! The accomodations were fantastic and decorated as if we were looking in a travel magazine! Boating and fishing were excellent as well as the natives. Very friendly community in town with plenty of restaurants. You can pretty much get around anywhere you have to go by boat, so make sure you have access to a boat for the best of the islands. Make sure you stop at the Chat & Chill for a tropical drink and a conch salad. The water is so clear you can see the fish you are catching.

Bring your sunscreen and hat because it is warm and sunny everyday.

The fitness room was just fine tuned and we enjoyed the flat screens while working out every morning. The staff at the office was very accomodating with small requests right down to an umbrella for a walk into town!

  • Liked — Rooms, amenities, pools and access to water
  • Disliked — Auto transportation, such as, no scooter rentals, no golf cart rentals. Hard to get around other than by boat.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

We went to February Point for two reasons. First we wanted to see Exuma and we desparately needed a vacation. Secondly, we were interested in a fractional ownership program that they had for their villas and we took advantage of their promotional rate. I contacted Matthew in advance and asked him about what, exactly, that would entail. He assured me that this "would not be a time-share-pressure" event. He wanted to take us on a boat tour and then let the property sell itself. He had a couple of fractions left in some units that were under construction if we were interested. Long story short - it couldn't be any more high pressure. The boat ride was for two hours and wound up with me buying the drinks. Then "Uncle Howard" came buy the next day with Matthew to show me a villa - not one of the ones that I was initially interested in. Then we were to meet the third day as well. I took my family into town to the straw market to shop while I met with Matthew and Howard again, when LOW AND BEHOLD, there appeared Matthew in the market to ask me if I still planned on meeting. HE FOLLOWED US INTO TOWN! I was furious. My wife was scared. My guests were mortified. Needless to say, no meeting occured. In the end, Exuma is a beautiful place. The villa was beautiful as well. But the resort was way over-sold in the literature with regard to amenities. There is one small pool and one small beach. There is no restaurant to speak of. Loved the island - hated the experience.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

The views are spectacular, but we had many problems with the "resort" which we had booked for seven days.

By e-mail with the concierge, we had arranged to be picked up at the airport by their shuttle and our rental car. We arrived around 10:30pm after travelling all day (four adults, an eight-month-old and a three-year-old) with luggage and equipment required for traveling with babies. Neither the shuttle nor the rental car were there. We called and they told us to find a cab. The little airport actially shut down, leaving us outside in the dark to get loaded into a cab. The concierge met us at the house to let us in. The rental car was delivered late morning the next day.

Upon entering the darkened four-bedroom house, named Vista House, we soon learned that we had no water pressure, We could not shower or flush the toilets. It took three days to get full water pressure so that more than one faucett at a time could be used in the house.

The house on the point was beautifully furnished, but a stray TV that belonged in one of the four bedrooms was sitting on the living room floor and was never connected. The bedrooms all had aromoires for TV's, but no TV's in any of them. The kitchen was lovely, but was so sparsely stocked that we had to use coffee cups for cereal bowls and pots and pans for mixing bowls.

We had been told that February Point had reciprocity with the Four Seasons Resort to use their facilities (specifically for the children's programs) and were told after we arrived that it was only for golf. We convinced them that we had been misled and someone at February Point made a call and arranged unofficially for us to use the Four Seasons. It was an uncomfortable arrangement.

The concierge, at our request, had arranged for a chef and server to prepare and serve three dinners. The chef arrived late each time and the server only came once.

If you look on February Point's website and at its incredibly beautiful magazine ads , they will tell you that February Point is equipped with the following ----not so ---- they have misrepresented their facilities on the web and in print:
---they do not have two infinity pools, only one small pool about 10ft x 30ft, nestled between two houses
---they do not have a restaurant as advertised
---the bar on the water has no hours posted so you never know for sure if it will be open or not
---they do not have lighted tennis courts, as advertised, only a couple of courts by the road surrounded by a concrete slab and rusting rebar which looks like the beginnings of a tennis shop
--they do not have a putting green as advertised

As most travelers do, we made the best of our time because the water and weather were beautiful and we were together for a long-planned vacation together, children, parents, and grandparents. We were just so let down by the false advertising which set our expectations and by the haphazard approach to service and lack of professionalism exhibited by the staff. We were comped two-nights of our stay for all the inconveniences.

  • Liked — The spectacular view from Vista House
  • Disliked — misrepresentation of facilities
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

We do not reccomend February Point Resort Estates at this time. There
are many ammenities that are promised on the website and in literature that do not exist at the present time. They may in the future, but don't be fooled, they do not exist now. There is no putting green, there is one swimming pool that is about as big as a backyard pool (and it was very cold). There are two very small beaches. There is so much construction going on at the resort that the beaches are very dirty. They also said there was a restaurant. There is a beachside bar that is very lovely, but they only served drinks, and that's when they choose to be open. We were told one night that they would be open after 5pm. We went down at 5:45pm and it was not open.

The resort committed to pick us up at the airport upon our arrival and take us back to the resort. So there we are at 10pm after a full day of travelling with two young kids (8 months old and 3 years old) and no one is there to pick us up. The airport is shut down at this time and there is one cabbie waiting with us to see if we need a ride. 30 minutes later after 3 phone calls to the resort, they were there to pick us up. Upon arriving at the house, there was no water. Neither here nor there, but we were paying $1400/NIGHT and the water was not working. It took two days to fully fix the problem. We were told before booking that Feb. Pt had full reciprocity with the Four Seasons- not true. You can use the golf course, restaurant and casino, but no the pools. We also requested a chef for three nights and for someone to serve and then clean-up. That happened one night. The other two, the chef came, but no one was there to clean up. We had maid service every other day, but we would come home to wet towels and/or sheets in the apartment sized washer and dryer for us to deal with. Through all of this there were never any apologies made- just excuses. Quite frankly, I would say 90% of there website is not accurate and flat out false.

We ended up having a great time. We spent a lot of time at the Four Seasons. At the risk of sounding trite, we should have just stayed there. It was incredibly pleasant the service was wonderful.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

I have traveled the world and back. I was 100% happy about every detail of February point. The house was incredibly decorated. The beds were comfortable and soft. The views were of the most tourquoise and aqua blue colored water. The breeze lifted all stress. A relaxed week of boating and beach walking. I will go back a million times. The staff will pamper you like no others. February point is the place to visit!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to February Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about February Point Resort

Address: Queens Highway, George Town, EX-29090, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the top Exuma hotels and top Exuma resorts located just one mile from George Town, Great Exuma within Elizabeth Harbour and across from the world famous Chat n Chill beach club. Two to Six Bedroom Oceanfront Villas with full concierge and housekeeping services, gourmet kitchens, spectacular ocean views and full service Marina and restaurant. A great choice for family vacations in The Bahamas with full-service amenities. Our Exuma Luxury Villa Rentals and Exuma Resort services will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your February Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
February Point Hotel Great Exuma
February Point Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage February Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.