We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Isle Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Battle Ground, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had an excellent vacation staying at the Grand Isle. The place is super clean and it was very nice and quiet. The golf carts were fun to drive around the golf course and watch the sunset... This place is great for kids or adults. The food at the restaurant is amazing! The grand Isle is really worth the price and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    54
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
160
151
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Grand Isle is a world class resort within a 1 hour plane flight from Miami. Our experience started with expert assistance from Crystal, an extremely competent concierge, who assisted not only in making a number of arrangements for us, but also sharing tips on things that would make our stay more enjoyable. The property itself is beautiful and meticuously maintained. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath unit that was attractively decorated. Housekeeping was very consistent and accommodating, leaving our unit spotless every day. The entire staff obviously got "the memo"- every one we interacted with was wanting to make sure we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do to assist.
Do yourself a favor- visit Great Exuma and stay at the Grand Isle resort. Call Crystal today and start planning your trip!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place to relax for 4 days and could not have been more pleased with Grand Isle. The property itself is beautiful and maintained in top condition. Our unit, an 1 bedroom on the second level overlooking the marina, was furnished to a very high standard and the kitchen had whatever we needed. Everything worked perfectly and was always cleaned immaculately. The walk to the pool, beach and restaurant area was not far so we didn't bother with the golf cart that was available with the room (though at an extra $15 per day). The beach was lovely with clear, warm water and fine white sand. There were plenty of seats in the shade and the crew at the hut was happy to lay out towels and provide snorkels etc. Though we had a rental car to explore Exuma, we did enjoy some meals at the Palappa Grill and found the food was very nice and staff were friendly and professional. Also the front desk and concierge staff were very helpful both before and during our stay. They provided a cooler and extra towels we could take on our various excursions. The gym has a broad range of high quality equipment and fitness machines. We will definitely go back to Grand Isle and the only improvements we hope to find would be bathrobes and a small vanity mirror in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have a better view though you will need to climbs stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our villa was fabulous – spacious, clean, well-decorated and furnished, quiet, with a great kitchen. Our rooms were wonderful, too. The kitchen aspect is especially important to me because I have Celiac Disease (strict gluten free diet) and often have to cook for myself to avoid cross contamination. So, having access to a large refrigerator, full stove and oven was very convenient! There’s a grocery store about 10 minutes away, too (Georgetown Exuma Market). You get a golf cart to explore the resort as well. The pool is very nice and relaxing and the staff was always attentive to our needs. The only (slight) bummer is that the beach is down a staircase from the pool – which isn’t a big deal! If you want to kayak, the staff will set it up for you. And it’s great for walking and relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had an amazing family holiday at Grand Isle. The resort is spectacular and the team of employees were all exceptional. We felt very welcome and well taken care of. The resort itself exceeded our expectations.. the decor, comfort and location were all top notch. The pool and beach facilities were perfect for our family and we really enjoyed the Palapa Grill. Food was excellent and a great variety so we enjoyed having most of our meals right on the resort.
The concierge service was terrific and had us well prepared even before our arrival. We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean and can say this was by far the best visit!!

Thanks to all the staff at the Grand Isle, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at this resort. The staff and accommodations were truly wonderful. Spectacular restaurant, beach and pool area. The staff was very helpful and accommodating for any car reservations, tour or excursion reservations or recommendations. We will most certainly be back next summer. We recommend the wave runner tour and renting a boat for a day from Minns boat rentals in George Town. This was one of our best family vacations of all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Major Kudos to Jodi and the entire staff at Grand Isle. We had a very enjoyable 7 night stay. The service was exceptional, with a special shout out to Marchello (Concierge) and Eduardo (Behind the Bar).

We had a three bedroom villa with an ocean view ... what a beautiful view from the king bedroom and both balconies. The villa was very spacious and comfortable. The only complaint, we expected one king and two queen rooms and our villa had one room with two twin beds. The mattress for the king was very hard.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isle Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.