We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Isle is Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Isle Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Grand Isle is Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Isle Resort and Spa.Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted to this tropical paradise. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that had a fabulous view of the ocean as well as overlooking the marina and a hole on the golf course. Each unit has a golf cart for easy transport around the resort. The suite, with balcony, was beautifully decorated, current appliances and very clean. The restaurant on sight has gourmet menu with a variety of choices. The food was excellent. Staff was attentive and accommodating. The beach is very close to the pool/resort area so access was not a problem. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests at the pool and beach. No need to 'reserve' as you do at some resorts.The ocean water was one of the best in the Caribbean and the white sand was groomed to perfection. There were kayaks available for guest use, which we took advantage of, as well as snorkels and fins. Off site we also enjoyed a day on the water stopping at several of the smaller Exuma Islands. Attractions include the swimming pigs and iguana's as well as sand bars that cascade around the islands for you to enjoy.We travel to the Caribbean 5-6 times a year and have been to many islands. We stay in both time shares and resort hotels. Every island has their signature appeal but If you are seeking the ultimate in rest and relaxation Grand Isle Resort and Spa is the place to go.
Renee and Ray Brown
Skaneateles, NY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    56
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
168
161
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent accommodations, idyllic setting, superb service. Thoroughly enjoyed the Spa facilities and the local excursion to swim with the pigs and see the iguanas. One of the most relaxing vacations ever. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My kids (11,13) and I just had a great stay at Grand Isle. The villas are luxurious and the beds are great. We were in an ocean view 2 bedroom and would have liked an ocean front, but oh well. The beach is very pretty. It was a little too windy for paddle boarding or much kayaking, which would otherwise have been really fun to do. Everyone at the resort is very friendly and helpful. Jodi did a lot of work to help us plan our activities. We swam with pigs, sharks, turtles and stingrays, and fed iguanas. We went fishing and driving around the island. At the end of the day we hung out at the lovely pool. The food is quite good at the Palapa Grill, the resort's only restaurant. Definitely go tot he Chat n Chill and the Tropic of Cancer beach/Santana's. You will want to rent a car, as taxis to and from activities are very expensive and not terribly convenient. The driving is very easy. This was our first trip tot he Bahamas, and we were very impressed with the resort and the island.

Room Tip: I would splurge for the oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The villa was stunning. The water was the clearest I have seen anywhere. The ocean is so blue the sea gulls reflect the color of the ocean as they fly overhead. Not a lot to do on Exuma. However the accommodations are second to none. Relax..Relax..Relax.. The golf cart assigned to each unit is an added treat. The meal are tasty and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. I hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The villa we stayed in was amazing, fully equipped with everything and anything you might need. Staff was courteous, food was good, beach was nice, I can see why they are #1 on Trip Advisor! However, those looking to boat around the exumas must know this hotel is far... far from the marina, far from the tour agencies, far from Staniel Cay... So, if you are looking to be in the center of the action, this isn't your place... Grand Exuma isn't the place.... George Town isn't the place... Stay in Staniel Cay!
Note: The entire island is DEAD after 5pm and seems deserted on Sundays when the ONLY thing that's opened is the church and 1 gas station!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Secluded luxury in natures paradise. This is upscale and comfortable. Every Villa comes with a Golf cart. Splurge for the ocean view. The beds are wonderful. Have dinner one night at the Palpaya grill. Rent a car for sure. Walk on the beach and go to the infinity pool. Great location to take daily excursions. You will love this place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We absolutely love this resort! We loved that we could easily explore the rustic island and come home to a very comfortable and luxurious resort. We had a one bedroom and there was so much space for the 2 of us. The kitchen was fully equipped, and it had a nice balcony. The bathroom was huge, and there was a laundry located in the large bathroom (with detergent so you can do a couple loads of laundry.) The decor was so beautiful and the ceilings were so high, it was a perfect home away from home. We went grocery shopping in the biggest store on the island in Georgetown (still very small compared to US grocery stores, almost like a big 7 eleven). Options are obviously limited here, so bring snacks or if you want anything specific from home if possible.

We were very thankful for all the help the manager, Colleen provided as we were planning our small wedding on the beach that the resort shared with the Sandals resort. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. Colleen was super accessible and made it so easy to plan the wedding. We were very happy with everything. She helped me get in contact with a local hair and make up artist - Helen Lockhart. Helen was so nice, accommodating and did a great job.

We hope to be able to return to this resort very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isle Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.