We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Isle Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sheer Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I've done many many 5 star resorts in various parts of the world, including the very expensive Fairmont Kea Lani at Wailea in Maui, Hawaii... I have never been to a place quite as stunning as the Exumas. We had a gorgeous 2 story villa at Grand Isle with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen with top of the line appliances, a balcony overlooking the beautiful crystal blue waters (you would not believe how blue the water is...it was literally like swimming in kool aid...just STUNNING) the view of the water from our ocean view suite was breath taking. Each villa also has their very own golf cart to drive around the property and all around the Emerald Bay community, which came in useful when we wanted to go across to market, and over to the marina, or just driving around for fun to check out the beautiful scenery. I give this resort 2 thumbs up, I would love to permanently live here!!!!!! Looking forward to go back there soon!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    63
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
188
180
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second time staying at Grand Isle and found it to be just as great as the last time! We brought our children down on this trip (Ages 7 & 5) and they couldn't have had too much more fun! Everyone was extremely friendly and very accommodating! Cannot recommend this establishment enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I took my first vacation in 3 years and decided to visit Grand Isle resort for some serious R&R. From the stunning infinity pool, to the crystal blue waters of the resort's beach, to the lavishly-appointed villas, this resort is the way to go if you are searching for a calm and luxurious vacation.

One of the best things about this island is the laid-back vibe. This is not a place to visit if you're looking for shopping, nightlife and other major-city-esque things to do. At Grand Isle it is all about embracing the natural beauty of the island, indulging in some amazing food, and connecting with your friends and family on your trip.

I was impressed by the restaurant on-site. I have spent years working as a food writer and am am always paranoid that when I go away to the Caribbean the food is going to be awful (i.e. - I'm looking at you Dominican RP and Cuba). THIS WAS NOT THAT CASE AT GRAND ISLE! The food is fresh, well-seasoned, and authentic to the region. The people who have commented here about a lack of dining options are probably a bit on the nutty side. What this restaurant does well is authentic Caribbean eats (think rice/peas, screamingly fresh seafood, homemade desserts, and rum-spiked drinks). If you want to eat pepperoni pizza and pasta alfredo because that's all your palate can handle, you'll probably find the food mediocre. The restaurant excels at its breakfasts, chicken and fish dishes. Order the curried chicken sandwich for lunch and you will be in heaven. Other than the ridiculously-priced toast ($4 for 1 piece of American bread), sad yellow tomatoes and shake on parmesean (please import some of the real stuff from Italy if you are a luxury resort) the food was spot on. Best lobster I've ever had. Hands down. Would have been nice to see some nightly specials here and there. Also - if you think the food is expensive here, remember you're on an ISLAND and everything has to be IMPORTED by plane. That brings up the cost of the dishes.

THINGS TO ORDER:
-lobster
-lobster bisque
-grouper
-conch fritters
-coconut ice cream
-curried chicken sandwich
-chicken BLT wrap
-red snapper
-plantains, rice and peas
-rum cake
-Kobe burger (they cook the kobe beef burger at dinner service medium, like they should, and that was lovely)


Mad love to the staff here. Marcello, Leon, Sug are amazing!!! They are kind and respectful - especially to the female guests. This was unlike a lot of the dodgy staffers who populate some of the resorts in the Dominican. They were also great with the kids!!! If you are bringing kids with you, know that they will treat your children kindly!

SIDE NOTE: I would like to applaud some of the staff here for dealing with some guests who can't seem to do anything on their own (ie. throw out their trash, put their wet towels in the towel chest, set up their own beach chairs, carry their bags). Maybe it's just cause I'm Canadian and don't expect other people to almost brush my teeth for me, but I have to say that the resort does an excellent job of ensuring every guest is taken care of from start to finish, regardless of how much help they need around the property.

The Spa was nice. Had the hot lava shell massage, which was great! If you have lots of sunburns though DO NOT get this massage. Also drink lots of water after these massages - I've found the RMTs in the Caribbean go in a little harder with the kinks (compared to those in Canada) and that works out A LOT of tension. It is important to stay hydrated to help flush out the released toxins, and not get too much sun. To make sure you get this they give you ice water with sliced apples, and a small chocolate when you are done your treatment.

Some of the best things about this resort were:
- lack of children
- great seafood
- washer dryer in each villa
- gorgeous and clean infinity pool
- the beach (can get a little weedy at times depending on the weather and due to the location, but they groom it as often as they can)
- the decor in the villas
- the golf cart you get, and the fact you can use it to get to the liquor store.

MUST-DO:
- rent a car
- find the Tropic of Cancer beach
- eat fried grouper at Santana's Grill Pit
- get tons of sun
- drink Exuma Blues and Bahama Mamas at the resort

This trip was a blessing for myself and my family. Came back to work refreshed, relaxed. It was perfect! Go. Now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Returned last night from a week stay (May 18-25) at the beautiful Grand Isle Resort in gorgeous Exuma. Grand Isle is nothing short of amazing.

We stayed in a 1 bdrm garden-view suite which was perfectly appointed, beautifully decorated and extremely spacious. The modern kitchen was FULLY stocked and included dishwasher, fridge with ice maker, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets and tea bags supplied each day. The unit had "His-and-Hers" closets, a huge bathroom with whirlpool tub, separate (large) shower, a stacked washer-dryer (soap provided), and a good sized covered balcony with table and 2 chairs.

The resort grounds are stunning. Beautiful infinity pool with plenty of high quality lounge chairs located in a variety of areas so you could always find a private spot. Palm trees and gorgeous flowers all around.

The beach is incredible. The water is an impossible shade of blue and the beach has smooth clean sand. Plenty of loungers, thatched beach sun huts and some canvas-covered loungers. The shoreline is level and shallow for quite a while. No undertow so very safe and inviting. Perfect!

The Palapa Grill Restaurant is excellent. Everything we had was delicious. Food is well prepared and many items are made in-house (including the desserts and coconut ice cream). There is a good selection of items appealing to a variety of tastes (lots of fish of course, but also steak, burgers, chops, pasta and chicken for non-fish eaters). The pizza was just so-so. An automatic 15% gratuity is added to all food/drink bills.

The staff at Grande Isle is wonderful. Always smiling, always saying hello and always providing great service. From the front desk, to the restaurant staff, to the pool attendants, everyone is polite, cheery and professional. We needed batteries for one of our TV remotes and someone delivered them to us 5 minutes after we called down, even when we said "no rush".

Rented a car ($74.00/day (for a Toyota Corolla) which was delivered to the resort for us (and picked up afterwards) at no extra charge, and took a drive to Santana's Grill (about 45 minutes) and Tropic of Cancer beach. Drive was easy as there is only one road that runs the length of the island. Fried grouper at Santana's was delicious and nearby Tropic of Cancer beach is a must see. The folks at Santana's will give you directions to the beach as it is not well marked, It is only 2 miles from Santana's so you are not going out of your way.

Final words. Exuma is a quiet island and Grand Isle is a quiet resort. If you want night life, excitement and party-people...don't come here, but if you want serious R&R and good food in a gorgeous setting, this place is perfect .No real water sports provided. Resort does have snorkel gear and boogie-boards but that's about it. Cab ride from/to airport is $30.00. Didn't go on any boat tours but heard they are great.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are beautiful with lovely balconies. No need to spend for ocean view unless you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have just returned from the stunning Grand Exuma island in The Bahamas. As a first time visitor to both the island and the Grand Isle Resort I was very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the Penthouse which is as perfect as you would expect - with it's own private elevator, golf cart, amazing views, beautiful interior design - excellent kitchen, very comfortable beds and exceptional bathrooms. The restaurant is very good but it is the staff that make this resort - always smiling, polite, courteous, extremely helpful and they really enjoy working there. The beach is beautiful as is the infinity pool overlooking the turquoise ocean. I would highly recommend a visit to this amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste. Anne des Lacs, Quebec
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were three friends who stayed in one of the penthouses from May 12th to 19th. All I can say is Wow! The penthouse has 4 bedrooms and 4 1/2 bathrooms, was beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. The kitchen is huge with lots of cupboards, glasses, dishes with top notch modern appliances. Whoever was the designer did a fantastic job with various relaxing hues of aqua, yellow and tan. There is a lovely and large outdoor balcony with chaise lounges, cocktail table setting and smaller table setting. The view overlooks the picturesque Emerald Bay and marina with its stunning sailboats and yachts. The housekeeping was great and the personnel all over the resort were helpful and friendly. The beach was gorgeous and clean with the most beautiful aqua water that we have ever seen. We practically had the beach to ourselves. Food at the Palapa Grill was good, but the menu could use some changes. It is quite a long and expensive taxi ride to Georgetown to eat out or do your banking ($70 to $80) so it is best to rent a car for a few days. A golf cart is provided to travel around the resort and nearby areas which was handy. Great places to eat are Catch a Fire (featuring local musicians), Santana's. For a truly special and memorable day trip, call Captain Bob at Coastline Adventures. He will take excellent care of you and show you Carmon Cave, the swimming pigs, the sand bars, the iguanas while you sip on a delicious rum or fruit punch. Oh yes, he also provides a fresh conch salad. The price is $200, but worth every penny

Lori Leonard
Ste. Anne des Lacs, Quebec

Room Tip: You will definitely not go wrong if you stay in the penthouse. It is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently visited the Grand Isle Resort with a few friends for a week of fun and relaxation. I cannot even begin to describe how beautiful the beach is -- an absolute must see. The pool was fantastic if you need a break from the beach and the pool/pool bar staff was very friendly (Emmerson is awesome!). Get the pina colada, you'll thank yourself.

We were lucky enough to unknowingly book the week of the Regatta -- such a fun event and a great way to meet some of the locals. I would definitely suggest checking out the festivities if you go that week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isle Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.