We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Total Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Isle Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Great Exuma
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Total Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a week at this exquisite property, which totally lived up to the comments and compliments of other guests. We arrived right after Hurricane Sandy rolled through, and you'd never know it happened. Every aspect of the resort was immaculate. We stayed in a one bedroom Villa and felt at home from the moment we walked through the door. Spacious, beautifully decorated, with amazing views of the ocean, golf course and marina. Beautiful sunrises in the morning and watched the moon rising over the horizon in the evening. Total peace and quiet. The property is so well built that you can't hear a thing from outside with the windows and doors closed, not even the landscape crews. Every appliance was top notch, even the washer and dryer. The kitchens are so well equipped you could easily prepare a Thanksgiving feast. The mattresses are very firm, which was not a problem for us, and the linens were clean and high quality. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job, and everything is immaculate. The resort had just opened after being closed a while for maintenance and kitchen expansion. The menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner have a great variety and are beautifully presented. If you plan on preparing your own meals, you will need to come prepared with staples and have a vehicle, since there are no markets nearby. Taxi rides get very expensive. There is a liquor store across from the resort that is easily accessed by golf cart, but no groceries nearby. The markets only get fresh fruit and vegetables on certain days of the week, and even staples are very expensive since everything has to be shipped in. The resort has a friendly relationship with the Sandals resort next door and adults have access to the restaurants there at their own expense. The pool area has amazing views of the beach and shoreline. The beach is quiet and clean, and the water is beyond description. So many beautiful shades of blue that seem to change minute by minute. Great snorkeling right off the beach. So good, my husband (an avid diver) doesn't even feel the need to get on a boat. The golf course in amazing, albeit somewhat difficult for casual golfers. Difficult to concentrate on your game with such beautiful views. Quality golf equipment is available to rent at a reasonable fee, so no need to drag your clubs. The staff was friendly, courteous and accommodating. Overall an outstanding experience. Bonus to anyone traveling from the Atlanta area...direct flights available into George Town twice per week that will get you there in 2-1/2 hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    54
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
154
147
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to the Grand Isle Resort on a whim and wow what a beautiful resort. The accomodations were top notch (comparible to high end Maui), the staff very friendly and the beach exellent (soft white sand). The colour of the water was picture post card perfect blue. Great snorkling, pool and lounging. We took our teenage children and they had a great time. The resort supplies golf carts to get around (nice touch).

If your looking for lots of activities (tours, sight seeing etc) it is limited but then again we would of gone to Florida if that's what we wanted. Totally R&R. Food is good in the restaurant or you can bring your own or purchase in local stores (not close-taxi). The unit kitchens are top end.

Gated so we felt 100% safe, off and on the resort.

Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the ocean close to the pool.....although every unit is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visited two locations in the Bahamas with friends and Grand Isle was far and away the best. We had a 3 bedroom villa which was beautifully decorated and perfect for two families. The grounds are well kept and the pool and work out facilities were excellent. The onsite restaurant was limited but I understand they are currently building a new kitchen to improve the dining experience. The staff were pleasant and helpful and I have to give special thanks to Lorinda in the sales office. She was friendly and knowledgeable and went out of her way to ensure we had an excellent stay. The location of the resort is remote so make sure and rent a car if you plan to explore the island, go offsite for meals or purchase groceries as taxi rates are high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I just returned from one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever taken. I travel frequently for work so my expectations are always quite high for our vacations. The Grand Isle did not disappoint me. The place was exactly what I needed. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean front villa and could view the ocean from our bed. The kitchen is FULLY equipped we brought margarita mix from Costco and enjoyed frozen margarita's using the blender every day. On the island everything is very expensive because it must be shipped in, so being able to cook wonderful meals in our kitchen was a bonus and a little easier on the bank. If I were to do it again I probably would have brought more dry goods and spices from home. The golf carts were a bonus for entertainment and being able to drive to the liquor store, unfortunately the convenience store which used be close by has closed. The staff were amazing and housekeeping patiently waited for us to leave the room so they could clean every day. It seems that they are very happy to be working at this resort and would help you help in any way that they could. We reviewed the place and pictures on tripadvisor and they are exactly as they seem. We arrived just after hurricane Isaac and the beach in front of the property seemed to have a lot of seaweed, which I believe can be contributed to Isaac, but by the end of the week the beach seemed to clean up nicely. There are many other beautiful beaches which on the island which should not be missed so get in the car and take a drive. The management put on a beach fire the second day we got there which was nice to meet the other people staying there. Everyone vacationing at the resort with us were friendly and the island is so small you usually bump into each other off the resort. We had contemplated renting a house but the convenience of housekeeping, security on the property, and having the option to lounge by the pool can't be beat here. I was attacked by sand flies which I understand is quite common on the island I even brought insect repellant but didn't realize I was being bit until after the fact. The mattress in our unit was not the best I have ever slept on but still very acceptable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I have visited many places including islands in the Pacific, Caribbean and French Riviera, but I must say this one ranks up there. Grand Isle is one of those hidden gems that you come across every once in a while. A beautiful, high end resort with wonderful ocean front villas, surrounded by a Greg Norman golf course with white sandy beaches, infinity pool, and on-site restaurant/bar. Georgetown is classic "old world" rustic Bahamas where the people are friendly and the area safe. It's a place where you can rent a car and explore hidden beaches such as "Tropic of Cancer" or go downtown and party at Eddy Irvine's Bar. Take a ferry to Stocking Island and spend the day visiting Chat & Chill's, then come back to your Villa in the evening and relax. We took a boat tour of some of the surrounding islands and see why "Pirates" was filmed here. The beach parties are a great time and the fishing was also really good. We came with a large group and all had a great time and hated to leave...but we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron13
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented the 2 bedroom villa with an ocean view. It was just under 2,300 sq. ft. We loved the space and fully equipped kitchen. No need to eat out (every meal) when you can zip off to the local grocery store (25 mins to Georgetown) and eat at the villa (which you will soon refer to as "home"). We brought basic dry provisions (an entire backpack full - backpack are lighter and you can put heavier items such as cans into them) but milk, eggs etc. can be easily bought in town. Those with young children can certainly appreciate the value of having a kitchen. Coffee is provided in the rooms – just be sure to bring coffee filters from home. You can drink the water but it does have an odd taste and smell. Most people seem to cook with the water but buy drinking water. I believe we paid about $2 per 4 litre bottle of water from a little store about half way to Georgetown on the main road. Avoid buying a bottle water from the restaurant on site. That was $9.20 for a litre.

The villas were large, modern and nicely decorated. Having so much space also enabled us to bring other family members with us. TV had over 30 English stations, blueray player, DVD library at reception to borrow from free of charge. The highlight of the resort, for the kids, is the golf cart and pool. I, personally, preferred the beach - the snorkeling was great! Clear water, white sands, mild surf. Abundance of life (saw a barracuda shark, schools of fish and sting rays!). A Greg Norman golf course was right next to the villas. It looked spectacular albeit challenging. Narrow fairways and unforgiving drop into the ocean or sand if you missed the fairway. I couldn’t play as I came unprepared (you need more than just flip flops to play golf) but I was able to drive around a few holes next to the resort - which my 3 year old loved as much as I did. From the resort, you can book SCUBA ($150 with Sandals for a two tank dive) and book day trips to cruise the cays, go snorkeling, swim with nursing sharks and pigs (yes, I said pigs) and see the endangered red iguanas (about $170 cost). The full day trip is not recommended for young children as it is a long day to be on a boat.

You can also easily rent a car from the resort and make your way to Stocking Island ($12 return ferry ride from Georgetown) to visit the beaches and eat at Chat n’ Chill. Big D’s and Flamingo Beach is near the resort (10-15 mins drive) for another good lunch spot. Car rental was $74 per day. Good to rent on the 2nd day (after you've settled in) to stock up on provisions for the kitchen and on the last day because you can drive yourself to the airport and drop off the car there. Saves you a $30 cab ride.

If I was to be critical of anything (although I had no issues) it may be that there is one restaurant on site. Otherwise, you have to drive elsewhere for dinner (if you wanted to dine out). Sandals is next door. You can drive the golf car over. Indeed, my wife and mother-in-law had dinner one night at the Italian restaurant at Sandals. It was typical Sandals-resort food. Not great, not bad but over priced for someone visiting the resort for dinner ($160 plus tip for two). We ate at the Grand Isle restaurant for a couple of lunches and breakfast. It was reasonably priced (ie. burger and fries was about $13), good food, with a nice view overlooking the pool and ocean.

We would definitely go back - especially if what you are seeking is a beautiful place to simply slow down and relax. No night clubs. No partying to all hours. Just enjoy your family, sun and surf. Certainly, a nice way to reconnect with what gives life meaning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

All was Great...everyday a nice surprise!!!
The ocean view villa was huge, big room with terrace, bathroom, dining room and kitchen fully equipped!!Very nice diea the Golf Cart at your disposal for moving inside the property, with your own garage.
The infinity pool is amazing, very big with a great view directly on the sea, we were always alone in swimming....fantastic!!
The restaurant was very good, both for meat and fish bahamian style!But in case you prefer cook at home, take the car because the nearest supermarket is at 15 miles at least!
The staff is very helpful and available for every request....very good staying in Grand Isle!
And the island....a little piece of heaven!Every beach was unbelievable and desert...go to Little exuma as well as. The only problem were the sand flyes, but you can prevent it with oil or cream.
We'll came back to this paradise for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box EX-29253 | George Town, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Great Exuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isle Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.