We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Small Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island to your Saves list
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elizabeth Harbour, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Mattapoisett
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Small Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you remember what hotels on the islands were like before the Four Seasons, etc., you'll love the Peace & Plenty. Located in Georgetown (not much there - gift shop, supermarket, small restaurants in walking distance), it abuts the street and opens up into a charming pool and bar area immediately adjacent to the water. We had a king ocean view, and it was just fine - balcony with a table for 2 overlooking the ocean. Rooms aren't fancy, but they are very clean, and everything works. The staff are wonderful - especially the folks at the front desk, who couldn't have been more helpful. We only ate breakfast there, but it was excellent. (There is also a good breakfast place across the street.) Reasonably priced and family-friendly.

Room Tip: insist on an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryjb, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
As the owner of the PnP, my family has been working hard to provide a clean and comfortable place for people to enjoy. We believe the PnP is your home away from home and hope that you will come back to see all your friends and 'family' that you have made on your first trip here. Thanks for the generous review.
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Club Peace and Plenty had everything we were looking for....comfortable rooms...gorgeous views...great location...and friendly accommodating staff. Great spot for breakfast across the street. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the great review. The Club PnP staff hopes to see you in Exuma soon.
Barry Benjamin
Owner and President, Club Peace and Plenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was kind of lost when choosing a hotel in Exuma. I selected this hotel because of the localization. I didnt know whether I should rent a car or not, so I wanted a place close to restaurants, supermarkets...

It´s a nice hotel and the staff is very helpful. They booked and tried to do everything that I asked for. The view from the room is amazing! I dont regret my choice but wouldn't stay there next time only because they have no acess to any beach. Althought, it's close to the convinients places, the island is small and doesnt have many structure. So, in the end, I rather stay further from the small market and closer to the wonderful beaches.

Room Tip: You must choose a room with ocean view. You can go all the way to the Bahamas and end up looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The inn is located directly on the water and has the best staff on the island. Always friendly and helpful with your every need. I've stayed here twice and it has been excellent both times. Extremely clean and up to date. No phones in the rooms so you won't be bothered. They have a fun BBQ Thursday nights that the whole island is invited to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Club Peace and Plenty is awesome, I am really surprised to see one bad review. This is a place that I just can't wait to come back to. :)One day we are planning on bringing our entire family. By far my favorite place to go on vacation. Our service was outstanding, our room was spotless and the staff could not be more happier to help. Always greeting with a good morning and big smiles on their faces. The Bartender Lerman, NEVER forgets a face and your name. Years ago, I gave him a CD of our band and years later we went back for another stay and sure enough we were greeted by our first name and our CD was playing out at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Harbor Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

How should I start, we booked using Booking.com, every thing we saw and were told was a lie, and the facility was out dated. They charged us 400.00 more than we booked. There were no free water taxi's as advertised. Food and Drink prices were off scale high. We were also told we would get a free nights stay since it was our anniversiry. We did not!. The rooms were mesquito breding grounds. The room was noisy right by the road. The windows were wooden slats. I guess for "who knows. We could have stayed at Scandals for an additional 75.00 dollars a night. We should have. The pool was nasty at best. littered with paper and bar items. The hotel was in desparate need of upgrades. Iy was un safe, slippery, concrete. In a nut shell, the marketing and advertising department from bookings.com owes me a refund, someone needs to investigate these locations and validate what the "real" story is. Once you are there, you are stuck without options!!!!.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel like Scandals!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia M, Manager at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
The Management and Staff appreciate your feedback and are disappointed that we did not fulfill your expectations. I'd like to draw reference to the issue of the hotels taxes & fees not being included in your price quote at the time of booking, by your preferred agent (Booking.com). While I have previously brought that to their attention, the hotel has no control on how they or other wholesalers set up their booking engines. The Club Peace & Plenty has its own website and uses incentives to drive business directly through its site. One such incentive is the free night for an anniversary. This incentive is offered exclusively through the hotels website. It is unfortunate that this past March the Hotel had to Suspend one of its popular amenities, the free ferry to Stocking Island, due to circumstances beyond our control. While we are in the process of reestablishing the service, all wholesalers working with the hotel were informed in writing. There are at times things and situations beyond our control and sometimes you will find something uncharacteristic of the hotel occurring. To limit and prevent such occurrences the hotel does not market itself as more than it is ("A charming and historical colonial style inn", and the staff diligently work to provide a safe and clean environment, while providing friendly service. Every point of interest that is presented to the hotel, during a guests stay, is addressed in the shortest possible time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are planning a trip to Great Exuma and I was SOOO glad to see that Club Peach & Plenty is still there since it is one of those lifetime memories from when I stayed here 37 years ago!!! It looks like they still have the same fantastic island flavor of an old place with fantastic food, service and beaches nearby. Can't wait to go back with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island

Address: Elizabeth Harbour, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club is a beautiful 32 room resort, including 3 two-room suites, overlooking Elizabeth Harbour. Room choices include Harbour water front view, pool side, Garden suites, or two-room suites. All rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, hair-dryer, private bath, and in room cable television. The hotel's Gourmet restaurant offers local cuisine including Grits with breakfast and Conch burgers for lunch. The dinner menu ranges from steak to seafood including Grouper, a local favorite. The Club offers two bars. Our 'Pool Deck' bar is tended by Lerman "Doc" Rolle. Inside is the air-conditioned site of the 'Old Slave Kitchen' bar tended by Garfield and Annette. Since the Club is right in the middle of town, you are close to grocery shopping, site seeing and fun activities including sail boat rental available through Out Island Explorers or snorkeling, diving and motorboat rental. On a Friday the Club sponsors a cocktail party for their guests. Other nights can include live Calypso musi, dancing and Karaoke. The Club is Exuma's gathering place for the townspeople and visitors from all over the island. There is also a ferryboat service on request to Peace and Plenty’s Stocking Island Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island Hotel Great Exuma
Club Peace And Plenty Exuma Island
Hotel Peace Plenty Exuma Island
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.