We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at Coral Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Gardens
Garden Road | Hoopers Bay, 29239, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SWIMMING PIGS for FREE !
Ranked #1 of 9 Great Exuma B&B and Inns
arlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great week at Coral Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Betty and Peter welcomed us warmly, and were the best of hosts during our stay. Peter is very knowledgeable about the island, and is very effective in matching guests' interests with activities--but as he says, he provides the information and we make the decision. His recommendations were right on the mark for us--places to kayak, best beaches, shelling, outfitters, restaurants, etc. Very helpful, with valuable attention to detail. We came to explore the island and Peter was a wonderful guide. The accommodations are very clean and comfortable--hairdryer, beach towels, etc offered if needed. Great value. We also rented car from Peter--very convenient, well maintained vehicle, perfect for island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    56
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
154
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great holidays in Exuma.
Peter and Betty are the best friends you can meet duriing your holidays.
He's so funny and kind,always so cute during him "daily" lessons about your stay in the island
Betty is so nice and very lovely.
The Coral gardens is the best place in Exuma,nice room,nice breakfast,nice view from the little hill where the building is situated.
So,enjoin Exuma and the fantastic friendly help from Peter and Betty to have the best holiday you can dream!!!
Thank you Peter,thank you Betty,many greetings from Roberto the photographer and the beautiful Barbara.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Oxleys are as wonderfully helpful as their reputation suggests. (We found them initially via Lonely Planet, but reading about them elsewhere, and in the many other positive reviews on this page confirms our experience.)
The apartment we had is attached to the main building that has their own place and the B and B rooms. It has a separate entrance, and was clean, comfortable and spacious. Towels are changed every other day and sheets every third or fourth. The car we rented via the Oxleys is a very good option, and highly recommended.
We dealt principally with Peter, who's very personable and extremely knowledgable about the Island. Best example: on a particularly windy morning, Peter knocked on our door to suggest a very specific spot where we'd be able to get some sun while being sheltered from the winds that day, which were coming from the northeast. Another day, he sent us to a beach (again, almost deserted) where at low tide, one can walk hundreds of metres out onto the sand bar.
He also arranged a daytrip with Coastline Adventures, one of the several companies operating out of the town of Barre Terre...an excellent choice with which we were very happy.
We had a great time, and Coral Gardens suited us well as budget-conscious travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I am a solo woman traveler who went to Exuma for 10 days. I stayed the whole time with Peter and Betty and they live up to all the rave reviews of their helpfulness and kindness. I was glad to have breakfast ( came with my room) each day. They are up on a hill that overlooks green out to the sea. Nice for the wide look to the island and a nice breeze. The property is clean and quiet. I had not been to this island before, and thought I could be there without a car. My advise is---rent a car and rent it from Peter. He made the whole process easy and I liked his little four wheel drive cars. Worked well on the roads to the beach and it was fun to drive. As a solo woman traveler, I try to pick places that are safe and this island is certainly an example of that. I was told by Betty that (my first two days I did not rent a car) that if walking, locals may offer you a ride and you can feel comfortable in taking it. I did take a ride with a local man and his son into town. I never felt uncomfortable on this island even at night anywhere I went. People are kind and friendly. I did meet other travelers easily and spent time with them during my stay. Peter and Betty have a small refrigerator that guests can put food in. There also is a TV with lots of stations if you wish to catch up on the news or watch HGTV (my favorite) with breakfast or in the evening. They also have a huge selection of books that you can feel free to borrow, so you don't have to feel you have to haul yours down. The internet worked seamlessly and so you can email to keep in touch if you like. I also like this place as it is in the middle of the island, and you are not far from town or the grocery store. The beaches are many and often you have them to yourself. I have been to beaches around the world, and I have to say these are the best ones I have seen. The water is clear and great swimming at any of them. I was at Hopper Beach my last two days and only saw a total of 7 people in two days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Tracy,

You were a wonderful guest who wanted to embrace the many beautiful experiences of the island and activities and it was a pleasure for both Betty and I to help you achieve your objectives and for you to have such a great time.

Your comments will certainly help other single ladies that on Exuma they can have a relaxing and safe vacation We always look after our guests so they have the type of holiday--either just relaxing or activity based - that they wish.

Thanks for the lovely Review and happy travelling wherever you go next .

Betty&Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Peter and Betty are the best hosts you can imagine , nothing is too much trouble for them . the taxi they arranged was waiting for us as promised ,we had a lovely warm welcome on arrival and they gave us loads of information on exuma .we didn`t have a hire car and the shop was a 10 minute walk away so Peter took us and waited while we shopped so he could bring all our heavy goods back in the car . the apartment was very spacious and extremely clean . i have never seen such a well equipped holiday rental .the property is near the most wonderful beach ( 5 minute walk ) and within a 10 minute drive of george town .i would recommend this property to anyone going to exuma , they made our holiday very special and we can`t wait to go back .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

WE stayed at the B and B last month and from the moment we arrived peter went out of his way for us - drove us to a restaurant on our first night as we didn't arrive until late, gave us great advice and recommendations for activities and places to eat and visit, called people with us so we didn't have to interrupt our day to find wifi, was brilliantly flexible with car hire and generally made sure that we made the most of our stay. Woke up every morning to the sound of the seas - bliss! thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We were only too pleased to help you enjoy your first visit to Exuma and glad that you were able to explore and enjoy so much of this beautiful island.

Best wishes from a sunny and 82*/29* Exuma

Betty&Peter--Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We highly recommend Coral Gardens if you're visiting the beatiful Exumas!! Hosts Betty & Peter are warm, knowledgeable, very helpful and strike the right balance of providing information and support to the extent desired on any given day.

We traveled as a vacationing couple, and loved the studio apartment attached to their Coral Gardens house and B&B. It was fully private, quiet, peaceful, and had enough space to spread out a bit and have a relaxed week. Nice King bed, small but full kitchen for cooking as desired throughout the week, and good location with walking distance to lovely Hooper's Bay beach.

Renting a car through Peter is a no-brainer, easy, and very necessary to explore the area fully. We stayed 8 nights, which seemed just about perfect with enough time to get out on the water, do some kayaking, snorkeling, enjoy some great beach time, meet locals, and enjoy a few excursions. Those who try to explore any of the Out Islands for just a few days are missing out. A week allows more time to slow down, explore, experience much more and soak it up.

The one disappointment we had was visibility and weather for snorkeling. Our trip landed during some rainy, cloudy days, but Peter was very helpful in trying to anticipate weather patterns to plan our day trips around Mother Nature! We were still able to accomplish what we had anticipated, but missed the bright sun and clear water that would have really lit up the fish. But our days were still very much enjoyed, beautiful and memorable.

Coral Gardens is great for self-sufficient travelers who aren't looking for fancy resorts or luxury experiences but want a sense of comfy home. It's a very relaxing, quiet, peaceful place, well-appointed and tastefully pulled together, and very pleasant to come back to after a day on the beach. The screened windows allow a nice breeze and we were always very comfortable, without needing to turn on the air conditioner.

Peter's recommendations for where to go, what to do, where to eat, etc. are spot on, so be sure to consult with him as you narrow down what you'd like to do.

And don't miss the best fresh lobster...be sure to visit Dee at Santana's! We loved it so much we went there twice. And right next store her mom at Mom's Bakery makes a lovely rum cake, which we also enjoyed over a few nights back at our apartment. For beaches: we really loved Cocoplum particularly. But you can't go wrong with tropical sand and truly turquoise water; there are several nice beaches to explore driving in both directions on Great and Little Exuma.

Tip: definitely take and use bug spray--bugs do come out at dawn/dusk, and if you're out at that time you'll be glad you have it.

Thanks to Peter & Betty and Coral Gardens and the beautiful Exumas-we'll enjoy our memories for years to come, and we are so pleased our trip planning research led us there!
Teri & Max

Room Tip: The studio apartment was a perfect, homey space for a vacationing couple to spread out for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
T&M,

You were truly lovely guests and as experienced travelers, your comments about your stay are particularly valuable for others who may be thinking of a visit to Exuma.

Both Betty and I try our best to ensure that our guests enjoy the holiday they wish to experience, but unfortunately we could not control the damp weather that affected some of your days!!

Best wishes, many thanks and good traveling in the future,

Peter and Betty--Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Gardens

Address: Garden Road | Hoopers Bay, 29239, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet hillside location with beautiful sea views. Convenient for airport & Georgetown whilst only a short walk to best beach on island. B&B with choice of 3 double/twin bedrooms or 2 self-catering apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Gardens Hotel Great Exuma
Coral Gardens Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coral Gardens to your Saves list