We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stocking Island

Stocking Island
Great Exuma
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Great Exuma
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Emerald Bay. We took a day trip to Stocking Island and ate at Chat and Chill. It was a great day trip and was nice to get off the resort for a little bit. I had the rib plate and my husband had the grilled grouper plate. The grouper was amazing and the ribs were ok. I have never seen water this beautiful and was even different from the water at the resort. I highly recommend taking this day trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    59
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Nice place for a day trip, as you can do a small trek down the beach from North beach to St. Francis. We took the water taxi from georgetown and got dropped off at Hamburger Beach,and picked up at St. Francis. Hamburger Beach has a small bar and grill. Great Conch Fritters for $3!!! behind this is a trail that goes to both north beach and the monument. Check out north beach as it most made up of small shell remnants and had some great little reefs. Amazing view from up on top at the monument. Secluded 1 mile stretch of beach that extends past St. Francis Resort. We saw a total of 4 people on the beach the entire 6 hours we were there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ribs and Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Calm water, great food and chilled beers! Get the ribs entree and enjoy the relaxed ambience. Not crowded and easy to get to from GGT harbor. Use Elvis's water taxi service. Affordable and reliable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

You MUST visit Stocking Island. The colour of the sea is wonderful!
Just grab a water taxi from Georgetown harbour, it takes 30 minutes. You will go there every day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Elvis is a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We took the water taxi over to Stocking Island to have lunch at Chat & Chill and enjoy the beach. Elvis and the gentleman who was with him really made the trip extra enjoyable. He was so knowledgable and fun. I felt like they were Bahamas ambassadors. The beach in front of Chat & Chill is beautiful, lots of chairs to hang out in. There are 2 Rays (not sure what kind they were) hanging around the area where the fresh conch salad is made waiting for scraps and that was very cool. They appear to love human contact. Definitely would recommend an afternoon on Stocking Island.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stocking Island also viewed

Great Exuma, Out Islands
 
Great Exuma, Out Islands
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 

Been to Stocking Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stocking Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.