We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blu at Exuma Palms

Blu at Exuma Palms
Queen's Highway | At Palms Hotel, Great Exuma
1 (242) 358-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Great Exuma
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a new concept restaurant on Great Exuma!! Not only are we on one of the most beautiful beaches in Exuma, but we are both from hospitality backgrounds. Ben, the chef hails from Ireland, where he trained under the Michelin Starred chef Derry Clarke during his apprenticeship, before heading to Washington DC and working in various restaurants. After that he went to Tokyo for a year working in the Michelin starred Gordon Ramsay restaurant. After his Asian affair he joined mega yachts where he served the wealthy throughout the entire Caribbean and Mediterranean for several years before falling in love with Exuma. Clare the Manager, from London has spent 8 years serving the uber rich and famous aboard some of the worlds most glamorous and largest yachts in the world. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, with themed nights. Monday is Mexican night, Friday is Indian and Sunday sip Goombay Smashes listening to live Rake 'n Scrape music while feasting on the Islands famous Grillmasters pit, pulled Pork, Chicken and all the fixings...We play cool old tunes, with a casual, ocean front ambiance, serving fine cuisine from around the world, served well with a smile. Call for reservations.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were staying at a rental villa on three sisters beach so the location of Blu was very convenient to us. Little did we know how delicious the food was ! We went on a Sunday - the BBQ night. All the buffet choices were great and very tasty, including beef skewers, BBQ chicken and the mac and cheese (a traditional bahamian side dish), which was the best we had all week. We returned another time where we were able to order à la carte. Excellent shrimps à la cilantro, chicken caesar salad and penne carbonara. We highly recommend Blu during your stay in Great Exuma !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

For all the elaborate, and sometimes over complicated dishes served at other higher priced local establishments in the past, The Palms offers a simple, yet finely crafted meal. This refreshing change came as a surprise, as we enjoyed fresh salads, potato and leek soup, along with a tasty chicken breast with a side of fresh broccoli and roasted potatoes. The atmosphere was pleasant; several other families dined with us. The staff was friendly and personable. I came with very low expectations, and left pleasantly surprise, with a satisfied stomach. If you are looking for quiet evening and are willing to pay a little extra, I highly recommend it! This is based on 28 years of dining experience in Exuma.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blu at Exuma Palms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family tried Blu at Exuma Palms for dinner and we all agreed that it was the best meal we had on the island. They served us a nice mushroom soup as an amuse-bouche along with some homemade spinach bread: nice touch! We ordered the ceasar salad, tomatoes and basil and spaghetti carbonara and everything was delicious. The service was also the best we had in Great Exuma.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Solid Addition to Exuma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bistro Blu in the Hotel is a large, lit and airy room overlooking Three Sisters Beach. There's a nice long bar you can sit at prior to being seated. Dinner does not start until 7pm usually. The decor is simple, clean and tablecloths are on the table. It's definitely a change from many of the local Bahamian places.

On Exuma, there are generally three types of places to eat. The small snack shops that dot the island and are more for quick bites for locals. They usually have no seating, look rather dirty and you don't know what they will have, but usually only 2 or 3 things. They're mostly for the locals but a few at the fish fry and in Gtown are good. The next level are local family owned places, many run by whole families, that provide clean places, usually on beaches, and cook all the local foods -- fish, conch, lobster, chicken. It's Bahamian style with local veggies, rice peas, etc. they usually have slow service, are not trained in the ways to run their restaurants, are laid back, don't always have all the food, but are warm, friendly, try hard, and when the food comes its usually very tasty. This would include places like Santana's, the Tucker's at Big D's, the Mackenzie's at Shoreline, Cheaters, Iva Bowe, etc. All of them are fantastic for the local experience both of food, people, and frolicking on their beaches. None are fancy, all have Bahamian service time, but all are solidly good and very enjoyable families you should talk with while you wait and drink a cold Kalik.

Now there's a decent number in the third category which are people who have come here to the island who have lived off it, know what a restaurant in a western city would serve, look like, feel like and they are claiming a stake of the Exuma restaurant scene (if there is such a thing!). S when you get a little tired of the local dishes, you can change it up at these places that try to move beyond them. I would include Bistro Blu in that category along with Catch a Fire, Pallapa ( which has really moved up a notch with new chef), Bamboo, Exuma yacht club, etc. All have more worldly approach to the food (island ingredients, but not just the customary island dishes) strive for a higher standard of service, selection, ambiance. They might slip here or there ( service is generally slow everywhere on the island), but they are adding a nice variety to the island.

On to Blu -- it's not always clear what will be served and there are a lot of theme nights, SO ALWAYS CHECK when you call. They have Indian, Mexican, etc. on those nits, you have no choice, it's just what they make. The room is large and can hold big tables of people if you need it. The night we were there had a table from a youth church group --15 or so well behaved kids and two ladies (I wish my kids were as well behaved as those 15!). It was their first stab at Mexican night and it was darn good.
First course was chips and home made salsa and guacamole. What a difference when you have real tomatoes and onions for salsa and guacamole. It was gone in about 5 seconds and we asked for more, which they brought along with a large plate of corn and pepper fritters. They were ok, nothing amazing, and probably needed a sauce for dipping. I guess if there had been some more salsa and guacamole it would have been good, but the second serving disappeared in 10 seconds and I didn't want t oaks for even more.
Next out was a huge plate of spiced and grilled chicken pieces and a very nicely seasoned and char-grilled steak sliced thin along with some local grilled vegetables. It came with some homemade soft tortillas to make Flautas. We rolled up the tortillas with meat, veggies and we did get more dips for this course.
So all in, Blu is a nice addition and worth a visit. The chef brings a different skill to the island and one that other restaurant owners in Exuma should go see and learn from ( use the local ingredients, but create new dishes). While I like the local seafood anyway, sometimes you crave a steak, but I would never trust a steak to be seasoned, tender and grilled right at most places. From what I saw on Mexican night, I think you could satisfy your steak craving at Blu and not be disappointed. (Pallapa also has nice steak dishes). The service was a bit slow, but once the food started coming out, it was fine and the waitresses were extremely nice young ladies. My guess is that you will get food faster by not being there at seven when it opens, but show up 30 to 45 min later. A large group came in and sat at the bar and the food was there within 10 minutes.
I am looking forward to trying their standard menu as the items looked tasty. But a great addition and worth a visit or two I hope the chefs example is picked up as a challenge by some of the locals and Exumas "dining scene" keeps improving. By the way, prices were super reasonable --12 for kids and 22 for adults for a lot of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Chef on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Ben has won my personal Best Chef on the Island Award! His Caesar Salad is to die for. His grilled fish is beautifully seared and perfectly flaky. My husband loves the Conch Fettucini Alfredo. The conch is tender and the sauce is light and delicious. Great place for a nice couples dinner, but they also have pizza for the kids. It's a bit of a drive from George Town, but SO worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu at Exuma Palms also viewed

Great Exuma, Out Islands
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 
George Town, Great Exuma
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 

Been to Blu at Exuma Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu at Exuma Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.