We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Sandals Great Exuma - WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Sandals Great Exuma - WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When planning our honeymoon, my husband and I wanted a place that was quick and easy to get to, not crowded, and relaxing. Sandals Great Exuma was the perfect choice! Quick flight from Miami to Georgetown, Bahamas, greeted by the Sandals taxi service drivers (ours was super friendly) and a short 15 minute ride to the resort. We were then greeted with friendly faces and a glass of champagne. The resort was just what we were looking for...spacious rooms, clean grounds, awesome staff (espcially Bee, Leslie and _____ from the entertainment staff and Melissa from Barefoot By the Sea). Barefoot by the Sea was our favorite restaurant (awesome conch chowder, fried grouper sandwich and lobster tails). Just be sure to wear lots of bug spray! We also enjoyed Cafe de Paris...the cookies cream gelato was amazing! We didn't have the best service at the Drunken Duck. The breakfast buffet at Bahama Bay was really good with a lot of variety.

The pool was nice and relaxing, but not too quiet. They were playing good music and the bartenders were all very friendly and fun. The Miami Vice and the Dirty Banana drink is a must! Also, step out of your comfort zone and try out the Pool Olympics, the water aerobics or the TV trivia...you'll be so glad you did! There was plenty to do at the resort...paddleboards, water trike, Hobie Cat sailboat, kayaks and plenty of beatiful beach! We did use 4 C's Adventure to book an all-day excursion. Highly recommend this. It takes a long time to get to where you're going (about 2 hours), but the swimming pigs, the Thunderball Grotto, swimming with the sharks and the sandbar was totally worth it. Smiley and Captain Andrew took good care of us. The entertainment definitely exceeded our expectations, especially at night. Bee, we love you! But, we also enjoyed our quiet time on the beach at night with nothing but the stars and the waves to keep us company. In summary, Sandals can be fun and lively if that's what you want, or it can be quiet and romantic. It's the best of both worlds!

We would highly recommend Sandals Great Exuma and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    532
    217
    77
    45
See reviews for
35
1,907
5
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food:Italian Restaurant POOR,French very good,Seafood Bare Foot Very Good,Bahamas Cay Breakfast excellent,Lunch Mediocre at best. Rooms:Good, Entertaiment short and fair.Drinks OK.Pool area very good.Beach Very nice.Hotel staff nice as well.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book it that what you are told you will get is WHAT you get.We booked trough Sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hello and where do I begin to rate the most amazing place ever!
From the moment we landed, we were treated to superior customer service at Sandals!
This is our second trip, we loved it so much last year that we returned this year. Many of the staff remembered us, which made it so nice!
From the comfortable accommodations, the beautifully landscaped grounds, the pool, hot tub, restaurants, it was the perfect trip.
Several people made our trip extra special!
Georgette from the photo shop was amazing. I got to accompany her to the local elementary school to read to the students, and now I have friends for life with those children!
She and the Sandals foundation do amazing things helping the children with school supplies and other forms of support. She really cares about those children! She took several shots of me playing with the kids, it was such a special morning!
At the beach, we had many employees help us tremendously with all of the paddle boards, hobie cats, reservations for snorkeling. I wish I knew all of the names, but Levar (spelling?) came out to rescue us while sailing. We were having trouble navigating and he swam right out to help us, hats off to him! There was also a young lady (again sorry don't know how to spell her name) hint, she wore a beautiful (emerald?) ring on her left hand, and she was instrumental in helping us to sign up daily for the snorkel trip!! When the weather changed, she called us to say that the boat was not going out. We also met up in the ladies room where she recognized me and said she was sorry but the seas were rough. Our captain on the boat, Jeran, took us to a different place each day that we snorkeled, talk about amazing!
We felt very safe under his watch!
At the restaurant Bahama Bay, Rose was very attentive, and was always available to get us anything we needed. Chef Stewart was always on the floor attending to the mouth watering buffet, and was very pleasant to talk to. The omelet makers, Randy and Clarese (spelling?) whipped up my egg white omelette with delight!
At Cafe de Paris, the girls remembered us from last year, and they were so helpful getting my husbands whiskey frappuccino. I am sorry I don't know all of their names, but we were there everyday getting our coffee and pastry fix!
The chocolate night was something out of a magazine! I only wished I had more time to do a tour of the facility to see how they made such amazing chocolate desserts!
At the pool, Leslie livened it up daily with his games and tunes, and he can really bust a move dancing on the patio!!
David, the manager, was out every morning very early meeting with staff and guests, surveying the property, to make sure no detail was left undone! Sandals is so lucky to have such a caring and dedicated employee!
The highlight of my trip was meeting Butch Stewart himself! I heard he was on the property, and while dining at Il Cielo, I went up and introduced myself. He got right up, took a firm hold of my hand, and hugged me after I told him how much we love Sandals! I can see from his warm personality, that the people that work for him are his top priority, aside from the guests, that is.
That is the secret to his success!
I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bay house number 6. It was very quiet and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames, iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just got back from 5 nights at this resort - an excellent experience!! The staff is wonderful, the beach - unbelievable!! Don't miss the Italian restaurant and their dessert bar. Don't be afraid to customize your menu. Try to arrive early and carry your bathing suit, in case your room isn't ready. They have facilities to change for the early arrivals. DO NOT MISS the French pastry shop with ice cream, cookies, lattes, pastries and crepes! I'd like a room right outside that shop!!

Room Tip: We were away from the pool and noise at night - very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am very late in reviewing this resort as we went in April 2010. Sandals had just opened Emerald Bay about 6 weeks prior to our visit. It was a fantastic holiday for us. Because this resort is an all Butler resort, we had 2 butlers looking after us all week. Our main butler,Trudy Ann, was absolutely fantastic. She met us at the lobby and then took us to our room. She provided us with our cell phone, gave us a run down of the property and what her role was. Anytime we wanted or needed something, Trudy was there to look after us. She made sure our cooler in our cabana was always full. Took care of my husband's golf and my spa appointments.

This is a resort that I would definitely recommend again. We spent most of our time in The Drunken Duck Pub. The staff were attentive and ready with anything we asked for.

The room was always clean. The butlers provided us with a romantic bath one night. It was beautiful to come back to the room and see the flowers in the tub (we had a jacuzzi style).

The food was really good. At a lot of AI's, you tend to get tired of the food by the end of your trip. That didn't happen with this trip. There was enough variation of food that you didn't have that.

All in all, I would go back here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff was much friendlier than on any other island in the Bahamas, with every butler, maid, server and landscaper greeting you as you walked by. The food at every restaurant was excellent, especially the Lobster Linguine at the Italian restaurant, and personal pizzas at the buffet were made in 15 minutes most of the day. Everything is included, so I took them up on the Scuba trip. They have a modern, well equipped scuba boat and fins (although the fins on the web site look new and the ones they supplied are junk), mask, tank usage are all free. Two 40 minute dives in the beautiful reefs around Exuma. I dove Exuma 40 years ago in 1973, and not much has changed. It is still a quiet island with only about 7,000 residents who are much friendlier than Nassau or Grand Bahamas, and the Sandals is much nicer than most others, although Sandals St. Lucia is right up there. We stayed in the Butler suite right on the beach, and the butler walked in several times a day with fruit trays, bottles of rum, flowers, and other gifts, all included. We spend more money for first class suites and upgraded accommidations, and Sandals Emerald Bay did not dissapoint us. It was one of the best Carribbean Vacations ever. Service, especially room service for our group (we had 70 people) was slow, up to an hour, but if you have been to the Bahamas before, you will understand that their body clocks run about an hour slower than other island countries and just accept it, or order well before you get hungry. Same goes for restaurant service, plan 90 minutes for soup, salad, main course and dessert because while nothing is coming fast, it will be well prepared and hot. The hotel is 15 minutes from the airport and has a great back 9 on the golf course as well. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick one of the beach bungaloes if you can afford it, for a location you will never forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosonee, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were at Sandals Emerald Bay from March 10-17, 2013. It was an unforgettable experience. We arrived at the hotel on Sunday afternoon and were immediately greeted by several friendly staff, one of whom was our butler for the week. Dion showed us around the property and we immediately knew he was going to make our wedding week special. He was outstanding. Extremely professional, and ALWAYS smiling and cracking jokes. My husband kept saying "he is always 2 steps ahead of us!" Within the first day or so he knew where we would be, what we liked to eat and drink, and he made sure we didn't have to ask for anything. Our other butler Ainsworth was the exact same. They made our trip so incredible, and I highly recommend requesting them as butlers if you plan on visiting this resort.

Also, Pascal's service at The Parisienne restaurant was amazing. When we finished dinner, we took 2 of his champagne glasses from the restaurant to the Drunken Duck, and as "punishment" he made sure we never saw the bottom of the glass. Now THAT is service. He was extremely friendly and we had a fantastic time with him.

Shaliese (spelling?), our wedding planner, made sure everything was taken care of for us. We hardly had to do anything besides show up. She was awesome, and if you are planning on getting married here then have no fear, you are in good hands!

Vickram was our server at our wedding reception and he was fantastic as well. He was very professional, and provided excellent service. Well done, Vickram!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.