We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon and wedding!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Bonus!!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duluth
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon and wedding!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The week of Valentine's Day a group of 12 of us went to Exuma and stayed at Sandals Emerald Bay for a wedding and to celebrate a honeymoon. I'll start with the bad, because there was little of that. The bad was that my wife and the bride-to-be were told through booking the vacation that they would each receive a $150.00 spa credit as part of our respective honeymoon/wedding packages. Unfortunately, upon arrival we came to find our that Valentine's week was a 'blackout' week so no specials were honored that week. Needless to say, a new bride and a bride-to-be did not take that very well and there really was no accommodating by the resort. Long story short we received a $50.00 resort credit per couple - however this was non-transferable and there is not much you can do with $50.00. We only got the credit because we engaged Sonja who was in charge of guest services. The only other complaint would be our repeated requests for premium (Crown Royal and Absolute) booze be delivered to our rooms as they inform you that you can do. Luckily, Vaughan (Krissy's boyfriend) was a stellar butler and he came through for us last minute. All in all, a few logistical issues but they were able to be overlooked because of the staff, cleanliness, quality of food and the beautiful setting.

Now - the good. The staff at this resort are unbelievable. Van, Gerard and Melizza were the best bartenders we have ever had at an all-inclusive. Gerard you will see highlighted in a photo our group took with him. He is the man! Krissy (also highlighted below) from the entertainment crew became family while we where there...she dealt with us throwing her in the pool, stealing the beach staff's golf cart, introducing us to her boyfriend Vaughan and showing us the pics of what he got her for Valentine's day (only the PG ones). Krissy was by far one of the best people we have met at a resort!!

Algebra went out of his way making sure we were enjoying every aspect of the trip, he would get us reservations at any restaurant at any time - never a worry despite our groups size and varying tastes.

Chantelle, a waitress at il chielo, was one of the kindest souls and genuine people. We requested her every time we ate at the restaurant because she made our experience multiple times better due to her love of life and bubbly personality.

Shelise did a terrific job with the wedding, it was beautiful and every detail was perfect.

The food at all restaurants was great for the most part. Favorites were the lamb, filet and scallops at the French restaurant. Il Chielo had a great fish dish (name escapes us) and a wonderful dessert for the wedding dinner. The Drunken Duck had a nice sirloin with a spicy sauce that in our drunken state of mind we had for dinner and then again for dessert. The buffet was always good.

All staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. The grounds crew did a wonderful job and always had a smile and a hello. Everyone played along with us as we 'borrowed' golf carts to ride around, surf on top of and generally have a good time.

We also recommend Four C's adventures for any excursion. Iguana island, swimming with the pigs, snorkeling in the grotto and swimming with nurse sharks was a wonderful day. This tour is very professional, safe, friendly, adjusts to everyone's needs and best of all it was only $320.00 per couple - less then half of what you pay if you go through Sandals.

The bugs on the sand were horrible for some of us and did not bother others - so that seems to be hit or miss.

Overall a great property, the people of Exuma are amazing. Learning history of the island and it's people, experiencing the food and culture made the trip all the better. Have never felt safer at/on any vacation.

Thank you especially to Gerard and Krissy, you guys helped make our honeymoon/wedding week perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    590
    245
    82
    49
See reviews for
44
2,080
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Sandas Emerald Bay is the ultimate luxury vacation for those wanting service, class and relaxation. The staff, from cooks, to wait staff, to management are always friendly and cooperative. We had a butler villa and, although we didn't use them as much as some others, (after all , the only exercise I got was walking to get something to eat or drink) you could ask them for any amount of servies and they were always attentive. Unasked, I had a bath run for me, chocolates delivered to our room, a snack at the beach, etc. The beach is beautiful, the pool amazing. We used the quiet pool because that was more our style. Beach chair "saving' is a perennial problem at all resorts, but the butler made it much easier. The food was very good; the breakfast and lunch buffets more plentiful and varies than other resorts. We liked El Cielo a little better that La Parisienne and the Cafe de Paris with always available croissants, pastries and ice cream is wonderful (and dangerous to the waistline). My husband loved the golf - very, very challenging. The pro, Kevin, could not have been more professional, nice, knowledgeable and helpful - more than any other pro my husband has experienced. Our butlers, Stephen, Cecil, and Waldron were terrific. Yes, there are sand fleas and bug spray is supplied to every room with instructions to use it outside. You should. Not a big deal - everyone has a bug of some sort. Try the black flies in Maine!! We look forward to going back to Sandals Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: Butler level villas are right on the water - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 1st Feb 2013 for 2 weeks and also got married there. Shalise the wedding coordinator was fantastic and gave us everything we had hoped for. Lenny the photographer was also very good and gave us some great shots that we will treasure forever.

The weather was generally good; around 25-28 Celsius everyday and mainly sunny with some cloud and a little rain on 2 occasions. It was often windy but the water sports were only cancelled on 3 days of the 14 we were there.

The room was great, very clean and well kept with everything we needed. Housekeeping came twice everyday and did a brilliant job.

The spa was good, we had a couples massage on our first day which really relaxed us and set the tone for the rest of our holiday.

Food was generally ok in all restaurants with a few slight exceptions, both good and not so good. Staff and service in all restaurants was great and if you have any issues or want something that is not on the menu, just ask. They will accommodate almost anything and can't do enough for you.

The grounds are amazing and the workers do a brilliant job, they are there everyday making sure standards don't slip and it truly does look perfect.

Overall the resort is not perfect but no hotel ever is, the difference here is that they act immediately to rectify anything that you notify them of. The management are very visible to the extent that you see most of them everyday at different times and locations and have plenty of chances to voice concerns. If you don't feel comfortable voicing your concerns face to face just send them an email and they will do their best to rectify whatever issues you have and make sure they don't happen again. They even thank you for it because they genuinely do want to give their guests the best possible holiday they can, and make improvements where possible.

I would recommend and will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I escaped the endless winter for a week at Sandals Emerald Bay. The arrival at the tiny island airport was a little hot and congested but once we exited the airport we were greeted by the Sandals representatives and whisked off to the resort in a Suburban with another couple. When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with cool wash cloths and champagne and after a few minutes of filling out paperwork we were escorted to our room. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the ocean. The fully stocked bar was a nice perk. The resort itself seemed set up for privacy and relaxation. There were private tent cabanas around the "party" and "quiet" pools and many other areas to lay back and de-stress. The beach was gorgeous with soft white sand and warm turquoise water. Again, there was lot's of privacy and unobstructed views of the ocean. My one critique would be the lack of chairs and umbrellas / sun shelters on the beach. We had to wake up early every morning to stake our place and it was frustrating to see chairs being held with items sitting vacant for most of the day. A staff member came around asking for feedback and when we mentioned our frustration - a private "cabana" was set up for us the next morning. The staff were extremely warm and friendly and very accomodating. There were two restaurants that required reservations and it was a little disappointing to find that the only times available during our week for both were either 5:30 or 9:00. There were three other restaurants - with one being mainly buffet, a pizza place and a cafe with delicious sweets. The Barefoot by the Sea restuarant was our favourite with many fresh fish dishes. The food at the resort was good but not exceptional and there was not a decent steak to be found. Many decent lobster tails though! We came mainly for a relaxing all-inclusive beach vacation and were not disappointed. If this is what you are looking for, I would highly recommend Sandals Emerald Bay. One thing to mention - during our stay we had heard about others complaining about bug bites. We never had a problem during our stay and we were on the beach every day and on our balcony every evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel with my husband and another couple. We chose this hotel as we are continuing our travels to the Florida keys. We were not expecting above and beyond after reading some trip advisor comments. Can I say we are all blown away by this resort. Even my husband who I had to convince to go all inclusive, is loving it!
The only negative I have is the tiny bugs that bit me a couple of times but I should have sprayed!!
The hotel is stunning, rooms big and bright with amazing views, the food is so fresh, plentiful and well cooked! The French rest superb! The staff so happy and helpful!! I would find it very difficult to criticise and never thought I would say this but we will 100% be back!! We are all very well travelled and are shocked at how much we love this resort!
Congratulations to the management and thank you to all the staff for making our stay so perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our third visit to this amazing resort and it just gets better each time.Our favourite restaurant is Le Parisienne the food and service is top class.
However, that takes nothing away from the other restaurants which serve wonderful food and the service is superb.
What also makes the holiday special is the attention from the friendly and attentive staff from the General Manager and his department managers who are always so willing to stop and chat and ask "Is there anything more we can do to make your stay more pleasurable?"
Every member of staff including gardeners, room attendants etc are always smiling and greeting you.
We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Villa room was gorgeous - step right out onto the Beach with private hammock. Beach is small but beautiful - white sand & clear blue water. Butler service is amazing. Food is good. Very very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to read that you had such an amazing vacation with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience very soon.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.