We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, property needs some work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exuma Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Exuma Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Exuma Palms Hotel
Queen's Hwy. George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly The Palms at Three Sisters Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, property needs some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous 10 day vacation staying at Exuma Palms Hotel.
The location is magnificent. Island is beautiful, lots of things to do for everybody from snorkeling, swimming, and frolicking in the water to visiting local restaurants (they are expensive and mostly fried food though).
The property needs some work - the steps to the beach are broken and you need to use your skills to help yourself among the stones. That must be brought to Fred's (owner) attention - it may become an unpleasant situation if somebody falls trying to use them... Also, there are some lose wooden panels left to the main stairs..
However, the staff is outstanding. They do everything to satisfy your every need. They are truly amazing people who want to make sure you are having a great time given the some property flaws.
We were promised that the place would become better. If that is true, we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    33
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
74
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I will start out by saying that I am more of a stalker than author when it comes to writing online reviews but this time felt compelled to share my experience at Exuma Palms. My husband and I are enjoying our last day of nine at this quaint hotel. Like others have recently shared, we have been awed by the views from our second floor balcony and spoiled by the convenient access to this beautiful beach. Yes, the hotel is in a state of transition in management and will benefit from planned improvements in the facilities and meal offerings. These issues did not spoil a wonderful time here but full meal service would have enhanced our experience as some evenings we did not want to drive to a restaurant. The staff, under the direction of Ann, were friendly and responsive to our needs.

Guests of this island and this resort need to realize that it is a remote island with the beauty and limitations that go along with that. It is a given that you will need to rent a car to enjoy all that the island has to offer......beautiful beaches, delicious restaurants/festivities and recreation activities.
If you check out other resorts on the island, you may find that each has its benefits and drawbacks such as price, location and proximity to town, beach access, onsite restaurant, ocean view, room amenities (fridge, microwave, coffeemaker,etc).

Each person values different things and makes tradeoffs. For us, we were very satisfied with our stay at Exuma Palms and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Best views on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights for our Honeymoon. The island was beautiful but in all the stay at this hotel could have been much better.

The Beach:
The beach here is truly phenomenal. Almost every time my husband and I ventured down to the beach we were the only ones there. It was like having a private beach all to yourself. If you swim straight out you can snorkel some shallow reefs. The access to the beach is a bit iffy. We climbed the rocks to the side of the ramp instead of trying to make our way up and down the steep access ramp. However, older or handicapped guests would have an extremely hard time accessing this beach. The shower and foot rinse were both broken when we tried to use them.

The Room:
Simple with the basics and clean - generally what we expected. We used the microwave, coffeemaker and refrigerator on a few occasions and all worked. There is no safe in the room but we had no issues with any valuables disappearing. The bed was comfortable enough but the sheets often had stains on them. The bathroom was a different story. The shower leaked constantly. We could hear it with the bathroom door shut from the bed all night running. The toilet was situated right next to the shower so you got wet from the drip and splash of the shower head each time you used it. The shower itself was also not up to par. In between the grout it appeared very dirty, black and moldy. We ended up showering in our flip flops. No hair dryer was provided in the bathroom as advertised. The maid came every day, was very friendly and faithfully took our used towels and dropped of new ones (which were often stained). She also made the bed each day and swept the sand from the floor. However, she frequently forgot to take dirty dishes and replace them with new ones. As for the AC it worked but not well. We paid for an ACed room and expected one, but the very small and old unit didn’t appear to be up to the task. The room remained fairly warm and sticky all week. Between the humidity of the room and the leaking shower we didn't sleep very well all week. The slider door to the patio was off the tracks and couldn’t even be opened all of the way. The TV worked well the few times we used it and got a surprising number of channels. There was no telephone provided in the room which honestly was sometimes a big inconvenience. The patio - although it had an incredible view - was really dirty as were the chairs on it. The rooms have potential if only a little more investment and attention was paid to them.

The Restaurant and Food: When we booked this hotel they advertised dinner service. However upon arrival they informed us that they only served breakfast and lunch but no dinner. We arrived at about 5 and had absolutely no options for dinner. We ended up paying 50$ to take a taxi to the closest restaurant (that was not within walking distance). Apparently the restaurant within walking distance that they sent their guests to had burnt down just one week prior. For the rest of the week we ended up renting a car so we could feed ourselves dinner. You cannot survive staying here without either paying high fees for taxis or renting a car. If you think you can, you’ll be without dinner every night you stay there. We ordered breakfast twice and lunch twice during our stay. They advertised breakfast from 7-11 and lunch from 12-3 however each time we showed up for service within those hours the staff acted inconvenienced that we wanted food service. One morning two staff members quarreled about who would have to cook us breakfast. One day lunch was advertised to us as being served between 2 and 3. We showed up at 230 and they acted like there was no lunch to be served. On the morning of our all day boat tour we showed up at 730 for breakfast knowing we would not get lunch on the tour until later in the day and the lobby/restaurant wasn’t even open. They say they open at 7 but we noticed that they rarely actually show up at that time. We ended up eating granola bars we had in our rooms before our van came to take us to the tour. The food we ended up receiving while there was of acceptable quality but the service and attitude we usually received while ordering it put a bad taste in our mouths. Due to this we almost always used the rental car to drive other places to eat.

The Lobby, Staff and Grounds: This hotel looks much better in the photos. Upon pulling up the outside looks very rundown. It needs a lot of exterior work. The inside of the lobby and restaurant is nice. The patio furniture is also very nice and we appreciated the hammocks back by the volleyball court. The wifi is extremely spotty. We could access it in the lobby but not on the patio or in our room. The staff for the most part was friendly. Ann was always very nice and welcoming. We only saw Lindsey two times during our stay but she was great. She offered us a lot of advice and recommendations. Some of the other staff members often came off as inconvenienced when asked to do something. Anything from asking for beach towels, coffee mugs, or a recommendation on a place to eat they acted like they didn't have time to help us. Probably the biggest con of them all was the safety of this place. Every staff member leaves at 8. There is no one there to help you if you need anything and there are once again no phones provided in the rooms. This means if something happens you are pretty much on your own! I really disliked this aspect of the stay.

In all the hotel could definitely be worse in many ways and it didn't ruin our wonderful trip to this beautiful island but in its current state I wouldn't recommend it to anyone or stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Let me share my experience on my honeymoon with my husband....we came to Exuma palms to stay for 1 week....all the time we could get off work. Ben was not at the hotel, his girlfriend Claire was the only one there. There were no cooks and no food available once we arrived. Claire told us that she put a sign on the door that they were closed even though we were staying there and they were collecting our money. She was working there illegally and did not want anyone in the town to know about it. She told us she would give us a bottle of wine and ride us into town if we needed it, since the BBQ was cancelled for that Sunday since there were no other residents at the hotel....She then told us we were staying in one of the older rooms and that there were remodeled rooms, but since we used a coupon, we got the old room....At this point I started to cry, as a young couple who had very little money even to go on a honeymoon, we were stuck with the room that smelled like mold, even though there were 11 other rooms available and were not being used. I was sick to my stomach that someone would treat us this way....We left the next day and went to Peace & Plenty in the town....they treated us so well, Learmond makes the drinks and there was a lively crowd to hang out with everynight. I don;t know who it writing all these reviews that Exuma Palms is a good place to stay but we had a horrible experience, so please beware!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred W, Owner at Exuma Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We apologize for your experience. Ben is no longer with the operation. We have upgraded our management and customer service. We would love to have you back and would offer a special returning customer rate to show how our services have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Exuma Palms Hotel. We were a little nervous going into it as we'd read some recent negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The beach was absolutely stunning and the hotel has some of the most beautiful views. Pictures do not do this beach justice, we felt like we had our own private beach! As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Theresa, who was just wonderful. Along with Lindsey and Ann, they made our trip easy and extremely memorable. They arranged for our offsite reservations, cabs and rental car. They were all extremely helpful in giving us advice on what to do on the island. I can not say enough about how delightful and friendly everyone at the hotel was. The kitchen and cleaning staff were just as wonderful. They made us feel like family, and it made our overall experience that much better.

Although the rooms are not quite what you would get at a resort, it was exactly what we were looking for. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were kept clean, we had a microwave, coffee maker, and fridge, as well as a TV. But, who wants to spend all their time in the room when you have a beautiful beach steps away and tons of exploring to do!

The bar was great and the restaurant food was delicious. The breakfast at Blu was awesome, especially those pancakes, I would go back just for those pancakes! We ate dinner twice, and both times really enjoyed our meal. One evening was Mexican night, and the other featured some delicious chicken options. Fried chicken and fries, and the best curried chicken I've had in a while.

If you are looking for a quiet, friendly, beautiful place...this is the hotel for you. The Exuma Palms played a huge part in making this trip so incredibly memorable for me and my fiancé. Can't wait to go back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

After the disappointment of Chef Ben no longer being there, was an enjoyable vacation. Use this as a convienent base for activities. Five minutes from the airport right on the main road. Beautiful practically
Private beach. White soft sand and gentle water.
Breakfast is simple but good. Make sure to try one of Theresa' coffees. Best I have ever had
Staff over delivers - Lyndsay, Theresa, Kari, Rose - all fabulous.
Currently no night Chef. Have cocktails out on the Veranda and go out.
You will want to rent a car as taxi's are very expensive. Airport rental will deliver a car to the hotel and pick up if you wish. &74 per day. Take charge cards.
Most beach eateries do not take charge cards. Most entrees in the $30 - $40 range. Cocktail $8, bottle of wine $30. All places seem to add a 15% tip.
We liked catch a Fire, great sunset, Grand Isle, Chat and Chill and Big D's for Conch.
We were off season so not all offerings are available at these spots.
Met the owner while we were there and many of the minor deficiencies are being addressed
Rovella the wonder dog was super sweet and will watch out for you.
Good value, great people and great view. It's enough

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staying at the Exuma Palms was perfect. The hotel was small and the beach and sounds of waves wonderful. I stayed with my boyfriend and I have anxiety with large dogs. Rovella was perfect. She was not obtrusive at all! I actually liked her on the first day.

We did not get a lot of one-on-one attention, but the entire island was welcoming and provided information. I would recommend renting a car and doing water activities on the first day it is not to windy.

Keep track of what you spend in the restaurant. They charged other people's meals to our room as a default. Everything is practical. Nothing flashy. Just a great vacation spot!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exuma Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exuma Palms Hotel

Address: Queen's Hwy. George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly The Palms at Three Sisters Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel on Exuma, in the midst of a transition, striving to bring you casual but fine dining, ensuring you have fun, minimizing your impact on the environment and maybe teaching you something along the way. Our on-site marine biologist Nicole will be happy to assist you in your personal discovery of the local flora and fauna. She has also implemented many environmental reforms guiding the resort to a more sustainable and harmonious place without hindering quality nor comfort. Because her passion lies with the ocean, Nicole is very knowledgeable about the marine environment and is willing to help you organize excursions. You can experience the world famous swimming pigs, James Bond's Thunderball Grotto, the world's oldest marine conservation park or discover the life beneath the turquoise, clear water. We want you to have a nice, relaxing holiday, enjoying local customs and activities, but ultimately coming back to the comfort of your ocean view room with private balcony. Here you can enjoy coffee in the morning or Caribbean cocktails as the sun sets. We would love to share our passions and values with you, in a way that will only enhance your vacation, leaving your footprints in the pristine white sand, and not on the environment. We are not a chain hotel, therefore we offer the ultimate personalized experience for every guest, including young adventurers. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you, and your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Exuma Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exuma Palms Hotel Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exuma Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.