We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma to your Saves list
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Queens Highway and Garden Road, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We rented out all four cottages for a wedding. We had a few issues like the a/c and what not buy Roslin made sure to fix it ASAP. As you are on an island that isn't the richest place and they are not as efficient as our country so when the wifi isn't 100% that's not the owners fault. If you noticed there isn't some great phone company the town isn't built up and the electronics don't have the best signal as its a small populated island in the middle of the ocean. When the a/c stopped we only had to flip the breaker you can't have too many lights etc on. The people here like to conserve energy as the are a poorer country than ours. So things do not work all the time. The price is good for the Bahamas you want luxury go stay at sandals and pay 700 a night instead of 700 a week like the villas are. And for taxi and transportation no matter where you stay you can't walk to food or stores as they do not have many and the food places are private places not like here with McDonald's and Fridays etc. if you want to experience the island like a true local stay at the villas and see how the other side lives. Mingle with the people as literally everyone there is extra friendly. We saw aroslin everyday and he made it a point to knock on the store to make sure we were fine. Even a guy named Choppy came buy to ask if we needed anything and rented us a scooter even took us in town to get it. The owner of the scooter was not there and would be in an hour so he let us use his scooter until the owner Vencil arrived. You won't find that in the US. Vencil was our go to guy he has scooters and a taxi service and compared to every other taxi he had the best rates an worked with us. The house keeper was very nice an helpful as well. Getting is extra towels and it was very clean. The beach access is a short walk. If you come out the cottages and walk to the left theres a driveway on the right side of the road don't go there walk to the next driveway and cut through there down to the water that lady is nice and doesn't mind you walking between the small houses there. It was like a two or three minute walk. I recommend a scooter as its cheaper than using a taxi to go everywhere and you keep it as long as you want. There is no crime in Exuma people leaves these doors unlocked and open but let's he real if someone robbed or committed a crime where in the world would they go you can get off the island without boat or plane and you can't hide everyone knows everyone and thee I only one main road along the whole island. You have to eat at Shirley's she has excellent food! Like I said staying at the villas isn't sandals and if you wanna experience the island then live like the locals. And the wifi isn't great anywhere on the island and most places do not have a/c. There is not a phone in just one of the cottages but that wasn't an issue we shared. Vencil even stopped by to see if we needed a taxi to go anywhere. We went to Sandals for my cousins wedding an then we paid to come on te next day. It's 180 for a day pass an you can eat for free and all alcohol was free. It was cheaper to stay at the villas an pay to go to sandals everyday then it would be to stay at sandals. The villas have free wifi and Sandals charges guests 15.00 a day so lets not complain about the wifi. I had a better single in the kitchen and certain areas as the modem is in the green cottage but it wasn't that big of a deal I went to relax not check my facebook every five minutes. And as far as what I saw there isn't that many places to stay on the island for very cheap. We all enjoyed it and my boyfriend and I plan on visiting Exuma again as the more populated islands such as Nassau have a crap load of crime and robberies on Americans so Exuma is the place to walk at night and not he scared. Everywhere we went the locals asked I we needed help or info or whatever. FYI Shirley's had better food then Sandals she is a great cook. Oh very important info is that the island pretty much shuts down at 5:40 literally everything closes even the only two has station on the island and every store as for food Shirleys will be the only open after 5:40 an into the late night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After doing quite a bit of research on Hoopers Bay Villas, and reading
some reviews we decided to take our chances and stay here as we were
looking for space, value and location. I must say that we were very
pleased with our decision!
We stayed in the Blue Marlin Cottage. It was clean and spacious. It had
everything we needed, even a George Forman grill, which was so
convenient for preparing quick dinners. Being able to use the bicycles
and kayaks was a huge savings on our limited budget. We have stayed at
other places where we rented equipment and it was very expensive.
The cottage was just across from the most gorgeous beach, with crystal
clear water all in a bay setting. During our week’s stay, we were alone
on the beach most of the time. The lounge chairs on the beach were also
a plus!
The grocery store was well stocked and just minutes away from the
cottage. It is advisable to rent a car, if you want to see the rest of
the island. We only needed the car for 2 days since most of the time we
rode the bikes and relaxed on the beach. We also took the kayaks to the
back of the cottages in the mangroves (Roslin, the care-taker helped
us). We paddled through very narrow channels where there were lots of
different fish. Too bad we did not have any fishing poles (advise to
the owners – provide fishing poles).
We had no problems with internet service. We were able to use Wi-Fi
during our entire stay. Sue, the owner also called us during the week
to check in with us.
Another highlight of our trip was the Cays Tour that we were able to
take. It was a wonderful adventure. The swimming pigs and the nurse
sharks were amazing.
This was a wonderful holiday! I would highly recommend it for families
or couples who are looking for something affordable, clean, spacious
and centrally located. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The idea is brilliant. The cottages are well furnished, they do have everything you need for a vacation. Its close to an amazing beach, everything is so so so nice in the Exuma!!
But its very badly managed.
First, it advertises stuff that is not true.
It says it has internet. And it doesn't. We stayed for 2 weeks in high season, in the cottage that had the internet router for all the others. It did not work ONCE. And on arrrival, on the booklet it says that "the internet is not reliable, you can go to the many hotspots on the island if you need to use it, but after all you are on vacation, and who wants all the techie stuff?" Seriously, reading that made me so angry. Some people do have to fix some last minute things using the internet sometimes while on vacation. Some of us DO NOT HAVE A CHOICE. And the cottages are advertised as they have internet. So its just a lie. To sell the place, then you get there and get the message above. Really? Be real, say there is no internet so people can choose whether they want to be there or not.
We did told the guy that does the repairs (adorable guy, really) and he said he was going to try to fix it but nobody ever came. So no internet for 13 days.

What's more, the pink cottage did not have internet NOT telephone. Nowhere in the ads of the cottages it says that it's FAR from the city and you are better off renting a car a t least for a couple of days or a scooter. So we witnessed a family arriving to the pink cottage (someone mentioned that the phone did not work since october, read the other reviews), finding no way of communicating, they couldnt use the phone nor the internet so they were completly isolated. They couldnt ring for a taxi to take them eat after the long flight. They borrowed our phone when we came back but they left the day after, so dissapointed.
We saw another couple coming to the same pink cottage to find the same situation. They were dissapointed but they couldnt leave. We helped them with the phone to fix taxis so they could go into town to buy groceries. But we were not there all the time.

About the bikes. YAY we did have bikes. But they are in a decadent state. We went on a ride the second day, and noticed that a wheel was deflated. We told housekeeper and he inflated it. OK, we asked, have you patched it? He was like, i inflated it. If you need me to inflate it again, i will need to charge you 20 USD. So...basically the bike has a hole, that was there before we got there, but we would get charged if attempted to get it pumped. So, that was for the bikes for the rest of our stay.

The kayaks were good. But one of the paddles is broken, so there is only 3 good standing kayaks. There are lifevests, which is good. Beware if you come with a small baby, they do have a travel cot but i saw it on the shed with the rest of the equipment completly broken and under a bunch of mess. That shed where the equipment is, its completly messy and some of the promised equipment is in really bad shape.

The appartment itself is great. Everything you can wish for. BUT the bed in the master bedroom is the most horrible thing i have ever slept on. It squeaks like there is no tomorrow. I have travelled a lot and NEVER stayed in luxury places because i dont like them. I have slept in youth hostels all over the world, in matresses on the floor, on boats, on campings, on snow, you get the picture. and this was the WORST BY FAR! I have had trouble with my back for the whole stay, 13 days dreading the nightfall.... its not the matress, its the base of the mattress that should be changed.

BEWARE of things not working on arrival. They do not check the place before people leave, so there are a lot of issues that are not adressed until the next guests arrive and find things non functional. And maybe even you will be "charged" for breaking it (see the bike example).

Advice to the managers: Check people in and out, not just for the guest's comfort but also for you to make sure that the wonderful place you have put together doesnt get ruined slowly by being passive. The reputation will take its toll. Be real, tell people what to expect upfront (no communication for example, how far to places, some people lack mobility, think elderly, small children, pregnant...) and then they can make up their minds and find alternative solutions. If we had only been informed of the issues in advance, we would have no complaints.

And most of all, don't insinuate that we should "relax and leave the techie stuff behind" as if we were some sort of idiotic people. Its mostly due to the need of calling cabs if there is no car (they were sold out for the holidays in the whole island) or go to eat (everything is closed on the 25th and 26th of december, lots of people arriving that day)

Don't let this discourage you from coming to these cottages, they are nice, as long as the expectation setting is correct you will enjoy it. The beach is amazing and this island has proven to be the most beautiful place i have been to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoopersbay, Owner at Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Delfinita,

Thanks for your comments and suggestions. We are pleased that you found the cottages to be well-furnished, well- equipped and close to an amazing beach.
To level set expectations (as advertised on our website), Hoopers Bay Villas are self-service cottages. There is no front desk or concierge service. However, we do have staff that will check in on you to ensure that the cottage is in order and to assist with any of your needs.
Exuma is a small pristine, out-island with no traffic lights or fast-food restaurants. When utility services are down, it is not easy to have them repaired immediately. We advertise internet because we do have internet service, unfortunately, the phone company did not come out to repair the service as quickly as we would have liked, especially since it was the holidays. We accept responsibility for this, even though it was beyond our control. We are happy to report that the internet is now up and running.
Like the internet service, our bikes and kayaks are offered to our guests, free of charge. We rely on the “honour” system and expect guests to take care of these “extras” that we provide for their enjoyment.
We welcome suggestions, as we are always looking for ways to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First of all, I would just like to say that myself and my fiance had an excellent time in Exuma. The people, food, lifestyle, beaches were all amazing and I could go on and on about them.

As for Hoopers Bay Villas, I must say that we were pretty unhappy about a few things. First of all, we WERE traveling in the off-season (during mid-October). Many restaurants and resorts were closed for renovations, which is understandable. We booked the villa the night before and the landlord Sue was very courteous in helping us get situated once there. We were the only people staying in the cottages at the time. Although both landlords were not in the country at the time, they made sure a key was left for us in the cottage and that we had most things we need. The groundskeeper Roslin came the next morning and made sure we were ok and he was very nice. Other than that, we saw him 2 more times during a week stay.

Major Cons: Ok, so we understand that we are on vacation and that it is a getaway from the business of life. But, when we arrived there was no Wi-fi service and the phone line had been disconnected. I had been planning on using the phone service to call around town to see if places are open, etc, since calling from a US phone service is expensive. And we were not planning on spending the whole time in the cottage on the internet, but at the same time, it would have been nice to be able to let our families know that we were alive. I did luckily have my Kindle, which has worldwide 3G service, but it is extremely slow and not always reliable. The next day, Bill the landlord called us via Roslin's phone and said that he was making sure to have both services fixed the next day. There was some hope for us being able to be somewhat connected and exploring what we wanted to do next. Bottom line...we never had either services the entire stay and it was quite obvious the landlords were not wanting to pay for the service during the off-season. This truly ticked me off and was the last time we heard from them or saw Roslin (was our 2nd day there). So basically we had no way of calling a taxi and no way to email for reservations, etc. It was kind of a PITA :/

Roslin did show us the shed with all the equipment inside. The beach chairs were very handy and we ended up using the bikes to get everywhere...I would advise not to trek further than George Town on bicycle, as it can be a little tricky on the roads. The local convenience/liquor store were perfect for what we needed.

Each day, we would usually bike to the beach (Hoopers Bay was a little rough while we were there due to storm in Atlantic, but Jolly Hall was great :)), then to Augusta Bay to "borrow" their pool and eat at their nice little restaurant. We also met some very cool people there. We did an awesome excursion with Bob & Coastline Adventures and saw a lot in a short amount of time. Chat 'n Chill @ Stocking Island is a must as everyone says, and is in no way overrated. Renting a car for a couple of days was great as well. The island is so cool! And peaceful! We drove down to Williams Town and Tropic of Cancer beach which is so worth it!

In the end, I would say that the accommodation itself was perfect for a family and huge for a couple. It had all the amenities of home. The A/C in the master bedroom was awesome, while the one in the living room was off and on. The kitchen area was great...perfect for making meals...fridge, etc all worked well. The master bed itself could use some updating. It was very old and squeaky, although pretty comfortable. I would have given a better rating for the stay, but the fact that I felt we were lied to about the comms service and isolated in general left a bad taste in my mouth. It was really poor by the landlords. Even though we were just one family staying there, we should still have received quality service as they would offer in peak season. We will definitely be returning in the future, but I would never stay here again. Augusta Bay would be much more worth it for the price as I am sure other places would be too. This is truly the first time in our travels that we were unhappy with any facet of our accommodation and we have stayed in hostels/hotels/guesthouses/cottages around the world! We do not expect "hotel" service at a place like this and expected to rough it a little, but it would have been nice for them to ensure we had everything we needed...or as was described in their amenities prior to arrival.

Good luck to anyone traveling in the Exumas...you will not regret it!

Room Tip: The Green Turtle Cottage has the Wi-Fi router in it, so would be best for wireless access (if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Good point for hoopers bay villas:

The cottages are very spacious and clean, there are many air conditioners that make very nice place to relax. The place is very well placed, there is the most beautiful beach in front of the cottages, which allowed bathing every morning after breakfast. Against access by the beach is well hidden so you need to know! The supermarket is 10 minutes away by foot, against George Town is accessible by car in 10 minutes. There are free bikes at the cottage, but attention back to the future guaranteed in the 70s. We say visiting island with bike us good but if you only have a week, it is better to rent a car or scooter as we did. Snorking facilities are also available for free at the cottage.

Bad points at hoopers bay villas:

When we arrived, nobody was waiting for us at the airport whereas a taxi was ordered. When we arrived at the cottage nobody was there to greet us, we had to take the pink cottage but it was not ready, not cleaned. The taxi called the manager who moved us to the yellow cottage. He is larger and was ready. Becareful there are not drinking water available in the cottage, but large water bottle are available at the supermarket. The phone was cut and the internet too. And the heater was broken so we did not have hot water for a week. For the price! $ 129 per day! But we spend à lovely vacacion; beautiful landscapes, water 30 degrees! White sand, the cays was wonderfull, great time to exumas. have a drink in tino's bar and make excursions to see the grotto thanderball with costaline adventure which are very nice.
Hope my post can help you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hoppers bay villas was amazing my boyfriend took me to exuma for our anniversary and it was great could not have asked for a better place to stay. Hoppers bay villas is the place to stay if you are down to earth. It was a 5 min walk to a private beach. We saw a sea turtle and a sea cucumber . Hoppers bay villas met all my excepations and more. I would go back in a heart beat everyone is so friendly. Hoopers bay made my vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just arrived from a 7 day vacation (July 15-22) at Hooper's Bay Cottages. It was very much a Cottage Away from Home! It was very tidy and inviting. The temperature was a bit warm at first but it soon cooled down once we turned on the air conditioner. We had all the amenities we needed: towels, bicycles, kayaks, beach chairs, etc. We appreciated the outdoor shower after a day at the beach and enjoyed the French press for our morning coffee. We bought enough groceries at Smithy’s, the local grocery store, for most of our meals. We made use of the kitchen utensils provided. In the evenings we would often sit back in our Adirondack chairs and relax on our front deck and enjoy the warm breeze. It was quiet and peaceful.
The beach was breathtaking...sheltered bay… aqua blue water...white sand...and better yet, there was barely anyone there! Only a 5 minute walk directly across the street from the cottage. I would suggest bringing along a beach tent so that you can spend a good part of your day at this magnificent beach. It is the best kept secret on the island.
If you are looking for luxury, and services, then this may not be what you are looking for. However, if you are looking for your own self-sufficient Cottage Away From Home, then this is a perfect fit for you! It’s cozy, clean and you love it despite all its little quirks.
One more thing…we even lucked in with 4 cold SANDS beers in the fridge when we arrived. (Thank you to the previous guests!!).

We will return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma

Address: Queens Highway and Garden Road, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma are authentic self-service Bahamian cottages. You will get a true Out-Island experience. You visit Exuma because you want to get away from the noise and crowded beaches. Coming to Exuma for the Disney effect is like going to Vegas for culture and studying the desert ecosystem. Exuma is rustic and pristine. There are no high-risers, traffic lights or fast food restaurants. What you will find is a quiet place to slow down, and reconnect with your inner self. Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma is the perfect place to relax after a day of biking, snorkeling, kayaking or relaxing on one of the nearby beaches. Recreation equipment is provided. You can take the kayaks and explore Hoopers Bay beach or your can explore the Mangroves to the south of the property. Some of our guests go bird watching (binoculars are provided). Each Exuma Cottage has 2 Bedrooms and 2 Bathrooms – one bedroom with a Queen bed and the other with two Twin Beds, great for families or couples. Kitchens are fully equipped and there are outdoor showers for rinsing off the sand, upon your return from the beach. You can enjoy the evening breezes on the front or back porches, grill your catch or just hang out with your neighbors. The property is centrally located and within walking distance to a well stocked food store and liquor store. There are nearby restaurants and downtown is only 5+ minutes away by car. This is a warm and welcoming community, the people are friendly and there is staff on hand to answer your questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma Hotel Great Exuma
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma Great Exuma, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.