We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shhhh,don't tell anyone~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of tippy's

tippy's
Banks Rd (Pineapple Fields), Eleuthera
242-332-3331
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“shhhh,don't tell anyone~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Superb dinner, fun bar, and the setting just can't be beat. Enjoy the Atlantic ocean view and the long pink beach and leave your worries behind way up North.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    143
    58
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laverne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Questionable?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Owner is rude, waitresses ruder, Big V is nice, other characters that come in and out are ???, food was good, but over priced, we ordered the same every nite but different $$ each night?
nice beach

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!! Owner is extremely rude and arrogant. Run as far as you can away from this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We went after having our hotel confirm they were available for New Years so we went and the owner literally laughed in our faces and told us there was no way they could seat us and wouldn't even try. It would have been ok of he had been polite and said no, but he literally laughed in our faces and was VERY arrogant and rude!!!! I will never return to this place! You gotta be kidding me, it didn't look that great anyhow. This man needs lessons in how to treat people if he going to have a business! If I treated my patients like that, they might die!!! Dreadful!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Food was OK, not outstanding, not excellent, but good for the Caribbean. It was not cheap. It should be mentioned that Tippy's is connected w the condo place Pineapple Fields. All the owners therefore feel they are owners at Tippy's and act accordingly.
The staff is not well trained, but efficient if not overly friendly. Keeping in mind previous comment about owners I can't say I blame them. They had us in and out w two courses each (for 180.00 plus a tip) in under an hour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Better last time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Back in Eleuthera for New Years, had a wonderful trip overall but can't say Tippy's was a highlight. I've been before, in 2011 and my memory was of better food and certainly better service. The 12 of us made a reservation for noon and we're not pleased to be seated/squeezed into a table for 8 or maybe 10 max. The table for 6 next to us was open as was one for 4 and we asked to split up for comfort. No, fully booked was the reply, we then spent the entire crowded meal looking at the 2 empty tables around us, never filled.
Food quality was lacking as well. One hamburger was so tough it remained untouched after one bite and the order of conch fritters was all dough and very greasy. The shrimp penne in tomato cream sauce was an excellent exception, if you must go order this. The veggie wrap was really uneventful and could have so easily been much better, it showed a real lack of concern for how the food is served: cold spinach tortilla, not roasted veggies, and a really small dollop of guacamole in a cup on the side. Just grilling the wrap and really cooking the veggies could have made a sign infant improvement.
The whole experience felt like a tourist trap on an island where that's hard to come by. I think they are coasting on a reputation earned in the past.
Can't wait to return to Eleuthera but Tippy's won't be revisited.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tippy's also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
 

Been to tippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tippy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.