We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capricorn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eleuthera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capricorn House
Eleuthera   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Pristine paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This place is incredible. The beach was all ours, unless we wanted to walk 10 minutes in the soft sand to reach the beachfront bar/restaurant. The private pool was surrounded by palms and fragrant flowers and had a bar area -- perfect for a group of friends who just wanted to lounge about. We brought our pack-n-play and our 1-year-old was so happy to play (and sleep) in the shade of the poolside bar. The rooms were spotless and the large patio overlooking the ocean was a great place to gather with our friends at the end of the day. It was only a few minutes drive to the pub and grocery and Friday night fish fry, but it felt like we had the island to ourselves. What an amazing treat.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We attended a rehearsal dinner at Capricorn House - it was a beautiful sight with the Atlantic Ocean viewed from the patio. A great place to gather 30 people to share the joy of a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Don't miss-out on this Caribbean paradise. Everything on the website is true… and more. Large groups or small… family or friends…young or old… sportsman or bookworm…Capricorn House is fun and relaxing for all. We walked the miles of pink, pristine beaches, snorkeled in the reef-protected, calm ocean waters, sunbathed by the freshwater pool, witnessed the brilliant sunrises and magnificent sunsets, and entertained under the incredible starlit skies. Discover this special place… You'll be back!
Arthur & Karen Pisani
Plymouth, Michigan

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was the vacation to remember, the island is so interesting and Capricorn House was so much more that we imagined. I loved everything and so did all our group. 12 good friends on a weeks sojurn in Eleuthera and we were thrilled with our choice. The beach was so private , no one there but us , had wonderful pink sand and great restaurants nearby, Tippy's, Beach House and Sunset plus the most wonderful CocoDiMama, really delicious fresh food there but a bit of a drive. This house was so much better than the one we rented in Harbor Island, we were amazed at how clean it was and all the baths were new and worked (not the case in the last house we rented.) The help were so nice and always gave us information of where to go and what to see.Large private pool also, we loved the wet bar and bathroom by the beach, sure came in handy.We highly recommend this home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

In my next life i want to live at capricorn House. The beach here is wonderful and the house was all we had hoped for and more. The maid and caretaker could not have been nicer and made us fell right at home.The bathrooms were very new and exceptionaly clean so my sisters were quite pleased (they are difficult to please) at any rate we will return.We also loved the cute little towns and all the interesting places to see on the island. People were so helpful and friendly, showing us all sorts of hidden beaches and coves. Restaurants are not in large supply but there were enough to keep us happy. If you go, take a look at this house, it is NICE!

  • Liked — The pool, beach, kitchen and beds.
  • Disliked — mosquitoes and no seeums
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Our vacation had to be one of the top experiences we have had. The Capricorn House was all that it promised to be. The photos on it's web site proved to be true (a rare experience these days) and the accommodations were great. The house felt like a getaway, but also felt enough like a home that we were able to relax and enjoy all of the benefits of staying in a full service house instead of a hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is remarkable. We had to walk for half an hour to see another person during the day! There are some good reefs for snorkeling, and the water was crystal clear turquoise. We even found a conch shell while snorkeling.

The house staff was polite and helpful, and noninvasive. The rooms were very clean. We highly recommend staying in Kari's cottage if you have first dibs on rooms in your party. There is satellite TV and wireless internet, although we didn't feel the need to connect much with anything. We would rather be in the pool or on the beach!

Tippy's restaurant is about a 20 minute walk down the beach for a great dinner or lunch, but we chose to cook at the house on many of the nights. There are two large barbecues and a full kitchen (pots, pans, utensils, spices, etc.). We highly recommend stopping by the farm to get some produce and pastries from the local bakery.

This would be a great place for families with kids, or family reunions. We happen to be a young couple and found it to be a romantic spot. We bet it would be a great for honeymoon. We would recommend the Capricorn House without exception.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

Our group -- 12 adults and two toddlers -- had the most splendid
week at
Capricorn House. The grounds are large enough to accommodate
everyone (in
separate spaces or together), and the beach is isolated and
gorgeous. The
house is well appointed and well stocked with books, games,
spices, sun tan
lotion and bug spray, making it easy to move right in and feel
at home. It
was a hard place to leave and we're already working on coming back!

>

  • Liked — isolation, cleanliness, oceanfront aand pool, tiki hut and lounges on beach
  • Disliked — mosquitoe on still nights
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capricorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn House

Address: Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Eleuthera
Also Known As:
Capricorn House Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capricorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capricorn House to your Saves list