We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it or leave it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy Joes

Daddy Joes
Queen's Highway North 1 mile south of Glass Window Bridge, Eleuthera
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 restaurants in Eleuthera
Price range: $2 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Queen's Highway North, 1 mile south of Glass Window Bridge, 3.5 miles north of Gregory Town. Two Story Building, white trimmed with yellow.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Take it or leave it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Decent enough menu, owner very friendly, staff attentive, food fine, atmosphere lacking, layout awkward, decor very dated, no view, in fact no windows.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    44
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We dropped in here for lunch after seeing the reviews. This is good food for a good price, which is hard to find on Eleuthera. It wasn't fancy, but it was fresh made and tasty. We had a chicken stir fry and it was as good as anything we've had back home. The staff are so lovely and friendly here. We sat at the bar and chatted while we ate. The place was empty of other customers, which unnerved us at first, but the staff are so welcoming it changed our perspective right away. It appears April is a slower month than the winter months, which is sad to see for the local businesses. Maybe dinner time is busier? As we ate we noticed locals coming in for take-out orders. Always a good sign.
I haven't given it five stars just based on the atmosphere/visual look of the room. It is so dark, and gloomy, more like a pub than a restaurant. In such a sunny location it would be great to have a bright sunny eating area with a view. Overall I would recommend Daddy Joes, nice food, nice staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleuthera
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great spot along the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

not much of a view but when you receive great food and service you can walk away 100% satisfied knowing the day is only going to get better! They offer a menu with several options and the food is fresh. You wont always find this kind of service at every stop!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best local food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you come to Eleuthera for a true Bahamian experience, you don't want to miss this place! The owner and staff are as friendly as it gets. They are super helpful with just about anything and make you feel at home from the second you walk through the door. The food is traditional bahamian fare, but it was the atmosphere and the friendly staff that made me really fall in love with this place. Don't miss out on the weekend nights where they have live entertainment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Owner/Operator Tiffany try's hard to please, and it shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have eaten in this establishment many times in the past few years, and I must say that this year it has been the best. Tiffany is trying very hard to run a higher class establishment with many different choices on the menu. I usually stick to the locally supplied dishes, like Grouper or Chicken. The scalloped potatoes are also very good. The coleslaw is very delicious as well. Tiffany is very pleasant to talk to and you should always ask her opinion on what is the freshest food available that day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy Joes also viewed

 
Gregory Town, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Daddy Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy Joes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.