We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our own private island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Inn And Orchid Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Duck Inn And Orchid Garden to your Saves list
Duck Inn And Orchid Garden
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Queen's Highway | Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“our own private island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2005

We had a wonderful time at the Duck Inn. Our room was really clean and comfortable. The view from our deck was beautiful. Our hosts we really helpful in letting us know where to go and what to do for fun. The best part of our trip was renting a car and driving to Lighthouse point - stunning. So private (perfect for skinny dipping!) and breathtaking. In fact, most beaches we went to we were the only ones there. If you're looking for an escape from everything the Duck Inn is the place to go. The only downfall to the island (not the Inn) is litter left over from past hurricanes (and locals) that takes a bit away from the beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Duck Inn for the week of March 19th, 2005. While the three room inn and the small town might not be what most vactioners are seeking, it was exactly what we had hoped for. Our room was charming, with a full kitchen and great view of the harbor, and John and Katy were most gracious hosts. The town itself was quaint and friendly, with several resturants, two reasonably well stocked groceries, and even the only movie theater on Eleuthera. Fresh fish was available daily at the boat dock a few yards from our room. You can fish in the harbor or walk over the hill to the old Club Med beach. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2004

We stayed at the Duck Inn in February 2004 and had one of our best vacations ever. The room was lovely with a view of the harbor. The proprietor and his staff are friendly and the place has a very homey feel to it. It is an excellent value, especially when you compare the prices of rooms in some of the more densely touristed areas of the Bahamas. Governor's Harbor may not be the town for you if you need a lot of night life, but it is a very welcoming community. The library out on Cupid's Cay is a real pleasure if you want a spot to read for a couple of hours, check your email, or write some letters. A beautiful pink sand beach is about a half mile away on the Atlantic side of the island. You can also take a swim in in the bay right in front of the inn, or walk 10-20 minutes for some snorkeling in Anchor Bay, on the other side of the Cay. We were very sorry to leave after a six day stay. I don't think we were the ony ones; there seemed to be a fair amount of folks in town from colder regions who come back each year for a holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2003

I stayed here in September 2003 in Honeypot studio. It is a large homey room with wooden floors and is furnished with some antiques. It has a private deck with a view of Governor's Harbour. The owners (who live on-site in an historic house) were very hospitable and fun to talk with. The garden is lovely, with wonderful orchids and tropical fruit trees (the owners place home-grown fruit in your room each day). You can swim in the harbour which has a nice sand beach (just steps from the inn) in the shallow calm waters, or walk about 20 minutes to a beautiful beach on the Atlantic. If you go in the off-season be prepared to cook your own meals (2 stores nearby), nothing much is open in this small, quiet village. Wake up to roosters crowing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck Inn And Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn And Orchid Garden

Address: Queen's Highway | Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Eleuthera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duck Inn And Orchid Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Duck Inn And Orchid Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Inn And Orchid Garden Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Inn And Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.