We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to explore more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Bay Cave

Hatchet Bay Cave
Eleuthera
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 45 things to do in Eleuthera
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full of bats, this mile-long cave is best visited with a local guide.
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Want to explore more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went here on a whim.....not really prepared for the challenge! Bring bright lights and water gear if you plan to enter the lowest cavern to the crystal. Also go at low tide to prevent being in water up to your chest! Be safe on ladders and always be aware of directions. There are two entrances/exits but the verticals exit is challenging and will leave you in an open field far way for the road entrance so don't take it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't waiste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't make it bcs of the overgrown plants and the access it is completely blocked by that. The street looks good, but after you get in 1/4 of mile, even the most motivated visitor would give up. Very disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“caving Hatchet Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

bring a flashlight and sneakers/keene shoes
wonderful big cavern rooms, explore, climb ladders and
see stalagtites and stalagmites - plan to spend an hour
turn off your lights to experience darkness like never before

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We passed this several times and finally decided to check it out. It is not far off the paved road and you can miss it if you looking at the ocean. It's on your right less than a quarter mile in. It's easily accessible with stairs and ladders. Make sure to bring a flashlight if you go very deep which we did not, but it does go on for a mile and at the end you either walk back or climb a rope to get out. We will try it on our next visit and get a guide to make sure we don't make a wrong turn. It's much more elaborate than Preachers Cave and great if you are a explorer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bring a flashlight”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were unable to tour the whole cave because we did not have flashlights. However, the part we did see was covered with graffiti. Hopefully the rest of the cave is better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatchet Bay Cave also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Rock Sound, Eleuthera
 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Hatchet Bay Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Bay Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.