We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar

The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar
Banks Road, Eleuthera
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 50 restaurants in Eleuthera
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great views and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011 via mobile

By far my favorite restaurant on the island. Huge portions for tapas. All of the shrimp dishes are very good and the bread is homemade. Great drink menu and the owner is very kind.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    61
    59
    17
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dining experiences ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Had an amazing dining experience at The Beach House. Everything was perfect from the wine to the food to the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kept going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Visited the Beach House for the week of 1/1/2011. Not crowded. Very extensive cocktail and food menu, vegan included. Yes, pricey, but most meals are on the islands. Order more than you need and use as leftovers and it stretches into 2 or 3 meals (if you are lucky). Large portions for the tapas. Try the stuffed mushrooms and the prosciutto wrapped shrimp! Welcoming beach access and good gift shop. Free WiFi. Live music some nights. Thought service was friendlier than Tippy's and more attentive. Go to the Friday night Fish-Fry in Governor's Harbor and you may recognize your bartender "Big Perm" who makes a mean Bahama Mama.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loved This Place ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

This place is a real find , particularly in an area which has a limited number of dependably open dining establishments (at least during the off season).
And the food ...
there is someone lurking in this kitchen that does enjoy preparing great meals; perfect with a flare, and from a menu that I wish I could have had enough time to completly explore.
If you find yourself nearby, do not miss this place. You will be glad you stopped by.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Any closer and I would be in Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband & I have been to Beach House many times and have enjoyed it immensely every time. The laid-back, casual atmosphere is very relaxing. We have always found the staff to be receptive, amiable and interesting to talk to. The menu is very intriguing, and while maybe not classic tapas, everything we have tried has been excellent. (Ask what's fresh & best that day!) The beer is cold, the wines are good and the margaritas are superb! Our most recent visit included a fantastic evening with a great band & a huge crowd of Bahamians, Americans, Europeans - adults and children alike. (The insects were not invited, but crashed the party anyway - no beautiful tropical island is without bugs.) As the sign over the bar says, "Any closer and I would be in Heaven!"

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.