We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place, friendly people, at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfers Haven Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eleuthera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfers Haven Guesthouse
Surfer's Beach, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Peaceful place, friendly people, at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On our first family trip to Eleuthera in March 2012, we spent a lot of time in Gregory Town, and at Surfer's Beach, which is a short walk from Surfer's Haven. When we returned in December, on a surf trip for my teenage son and his friend, my son insisted Surfer's Haven was the place to be. No need to drive to the beach - they were first in the water, surfed 6 of 7 days, often having the waves to themselves. But you don't have to be a surfer to enjoy Surfer's Haven. Tom and Liz know the island well, and offer adventure trips too - surfing, snorkeling, kayaking, cave exploring...and, if peace and quiet is what you want, at a great price too, look no further. Spend your days walking on secluded beaches, or lounging in a hammock, reading one of the many books in their library. If you want to explore the island yourself, Tom and Liz can recommend reliable places to rent a car. But be aware that cars are difficult to maintain, particularly on the out islands, so car problems are not uncommon. But, what's the rush? There are several good restaurants just minutes away, or you can buy your own groceries and dine in at Surfer's Haven. Tom and Liz are great hosts, and we felt very welcome in a relaxing home environment, and Liz makes great pizza. The kitchen and common areas in the main house are a great place to chat with other world travelers looking for a peaceful escape, and we met a wonderful mix of friendly people. So, enjoy your next trip to Eleuthera at Surfer's Haven, and tell Tom and Liz we said hello.
Bill, Daniel and Chris

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
17
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

this is by far the best place to spend time when visiting eluthera , the rooms are perfect and clean the kitchen and common area is always well kept ! and tom in lyse are a wealth of information when it comes to to island , always helpfull and always very freindly if the beautifull accomadations dont make your stay , or the amazing ocean views dont do it for you then tom and lyse will defintly make your stay , and the rest of the peopel on the island i have never been somwere were the poepel are so nice !!!! not to mention some of the best waves and empty lineups i have ever seen , if you dont surf then surfers haven is the place to learn , if you do surf then it is the place to stay , and if your just there to hang , then defintly go out on one of toms out island adventur tours !!!!!!!!! thank you for making my trip !

Room Tip: any of the rooms are perfect !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langnau am Albis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

There is everything for relaxing or an advanture. We had a very great snorkling trip with tom in a current, just amazing!
Great adventure options, quiet relaxin options on empty beaches and full internet access in all rooms. What do we like more?
Just one thing, the taxi on the island is to expensive. As an option you can go through the island as a tramper, every second car will stop an offers you a drive to the next village without expecting a large amount of money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I traveled to the island of Eleuthera during Thanksgiving of 2012. We found Surfers Haven online, and it seemed like a good place to get to do surfing, and it was affordable and nice looking. We were in touch with the owner Tom who gave us some tips and helped us rent a car. Renting a car is DEFINITELY a good option, as it’s hard to get around otherwise – Tom made this clear to us well in advance.

The guest house is lovely, walking distance to the beach, has almost everything you need, and you can choose a price range that fits your budget. Everything from fully equipped room with fridge, kitchenette with utensils, and a warm shower, to staying in a tent and paying less (and use the common areas to cook & shower). We think that was a great thing. We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms that had all you need, and we enjoyed it very much. You can hang out in the common area in the house at night, and we were able to buy pizza one night when we weren’t sure where to get dinner (it could sometimes be a bit challenging on the island as it wasn’t peak season), which Tom’s partner Liz made for us. It was very tasty.

Tom & Liz invited us along to a Thanksgiving party at their friends’ place, which ended up being fun although at first we felt a little lost there. Tom also organizes additional tours, and one day we decided to go on a snorkeling + cliff jumping half-day tour – that was fun.

All in all, you get what you pay for at Surfers Haven. Tom and Liz are not the chattiest ones, and I would not expect to hang out at the guest house all the time, or for lengthy periods. Also, grocery stores are quite limited and not walking distance. Hitch hiking, however, is acceptable and common.

It’s a good place, they’re nice people, and as long as you’re aware and set your expectations accordingly, you’ll have a great time!

Justin & Annika

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Surfer's Haven is as simple as any backpackers place is, a bit dusty, but the view from my room at deck level was absolutely beautiful. It was peaceful and the ambiance was soothing - you can hear the crickets, birds and the waves crashing in the distance. Not much reason to stay indoors for long periods, anyway. The forest was beautiful, the beach was amazing and the people, more so. Tom & Liz were friendly and I love having Diesel around. I met a few of the neighbours and they were great. The overall scenery of Eleuthera is quite different from parts of the Bahamas that I have seen so far. And there is no problem renting a car or hitch-hiking to get into town. Definitely a place I will go back to when I visit Eleuthera again next. I need to remember to bring more food next time!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Atlantic. Mine had an extra fan that I needed one out of the two nights I was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A paradisiac location, on a wonderful island, with wonderful inhabitants, we adored our stay on the island of Eleuthera because it is one of rare islands where we can find an almost intact nature.
We are lovers of journeys, and meetings. We fell under the spell of the kindness of the inhabitants of this island.

By arriving at haven surfer, The shock: a house such as we appreciated it, in front of the sea, of which we see no neighbor, really charming and who gives some heat, we really thought of spending excellent week.


It would have been it if we had had ceaselessly no sensation to disturb. A single common room in which we had the good connection has internet, Tom and Lyse who increased the sound of the television when we were in conversation with our parents or our friends (that we left for one year), they even asked us to speak outside (if only we had internet outside). A lack of politeness shocking, the music remained switched on even when they were not in the house, and you should not allow to put switch off it if you wanted to make another activity, we never had the right has one "good night" and in the morning it was necessary to extract the words of the mouth for one "hello". They did not even move to say to us goodbye the day of our departure.

We had more the feeling to be intruders in their house that customers in an inn.

We are happy to see that they were able to be pleasant and to interested in the other persons, we they did not even try to know us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom and Liz H, Manager at Surfers Haven Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Manon!
Gee, we were a bit surprised to hear this in your review.
We had fun having you along for the Halloween party, your biker costumes were well improvised and thanks for helping Liz with her costume!
I tried to give you a "Bonjour" every morning and most nights I am last up so don't give a 'good night' when I just go to my room.
We enjoyed teaching Dimitri poker and helping him surf and giving him some first aid when he found the rocks at Surfer's Beach.
Customer service has become something we are KEENLY aware of these days as tripadvisor members keep us on our toes. But we found your review to be unfair.
You dwelled on the fact we asked you to take your phone calls out on the decks (most machines pick up WiFi on all the decks). The common area has a library, stereo, tv and game room and we did give you a couple days to make some Skype calls - but you were on the phone for hours every day and took over our communal room. We should have asked first, before trying to give you a subtle hint by turning up the music. But Manon you were on Skype for hours every day, talking loudly. (it is meant for the aforementioned acitivities) We put on a very good face and Liz politely asked you to take the calls outside on our nice oceanview decks! For $25/nite campsite you could not expect to take over the entire house.
We are live-in managers and should be entitled to share the space with you, but hour after hour of listening to your phone calls was not what we call sharing the space.
Other hostel guests would have got up and left the room.
Customer service offered:
1. Quick accommodation when you showed up unannounced. We made sure you knew the options. And gave you the primo campsite! I tried my best at conversational French. C'est la vie!
2. Offer of sleeping bag your first morning. As self-equipped campers we are not obliged to offer such but wanted to make sure our chilly 70 degree nights were okay for you.
3. Taught Dimitri some poker games (no charge!)
4. First aid offered for Dimitri's banged up elbow
5. guidance on the map of Eleuthera and showing you some 'elusive' spots
6. all our usual services! great deal for you guys.

Sorry about the no goodbye! we were on our way to do yoga and did not realize you would be gone when we returned. There was a language barrier there and maybe some misunderstandings. Thank you for the kind rating in cleanliness and sleep quality!
Au revoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in Surfers Haven for 10 days, was a great experience with a lot of fun.
The house is really close to the beach and got an amazing view, which is awesome.
The bedrooms, are good and comfortable, and the kitchen is also good,, enough stuff to make your own dinner.

Tom and Liz are really nice people, and you can arrange some really cool trips, and take surfing lessons from them. I've done a surfing lesson and a snorkeling / cliff jumping trip, which where really nice and fun.

Overall, i had a really nice stay for a very good price. I can recommend this guesthouse for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom and Liz H, Manager at Surfers Haven Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks so much Milan. We really enjoyed having you and always love our Dutch guests. Go Orange! Noticed you gave us a 3/5 for cleanliness. That is something we are always working to improve/maintain and appreciate your honest rating.
And for those reading through - please do take advantage of some of our awesome surf trips and adventure tours. We did Current Cut with Milanr28 and picked the perfect day! These trips are great deals (discounted if you stay at Surfer's Haven) and a lot of fun for everyone.
Once again thanks for staying and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfers Haven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Haven Guesthouse

Address: Surfer's Beach, Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel-type, backpacker, rustic...whatever phraseology you want to use. This is it! Simple accommodations, all rooms have access to kitchen and the apt. room has its own private facilities. Managers live on property and are happy to assist. They also run the popular Bahamas Out Island Adventure tour company. Haven guests enjoy discounted tour rates as well as very reasonable equipment rental rates on: surfboards, mtn bikes, snorkel gear and kayaks. We're all about VALUE! Please respect our beautiful ocean. Sunscreen on always 30 minutes before you get in the water. Save the coral! Please starfish are not to be taken or handled out of the water. Fishermen be aware of our seasons and regulations. We love our island; please respect it. We can help inform you on local happenings and on the above too. Surfer's Haven is pleased to offer guests complimentary drinking water and coffee (a.m. only). Please do not buy a bunch of plastic bottles. Please consider taking (some) of your trash out with you to a recycling depot in the U.S. for instance. Garbage disposal is a big problem here! ALSO budget travelers ask about the 'Opt To Share option and also the Surf Shack rental . Budget-minded only! We we we can save save...I mean save you money! =) 7 minute walk up the ridge from Surfer's Beach. What a backyard! Eco-tourism is a conscious choice; be aware how your touring impacts your destination. Peace Love and Respect ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfers Haven Guesthouse Hotel Eleuthera
Surfers Haven Guesthouse Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Haven Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Surfers Haven Guesthouse to your Saves list