We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Location, Restaurant, Accommodations, and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Beach Club to your Saves list
Sky Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Highway | Governors Harbour, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DCA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Superior Location, Restaurant, Accommodations, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

The resort is located in Governor’s Harbour, about 10-15 minutes south of the airport. It is on the main road (Queens Highway) and is very easy to locate. A taxi is currently $20 each way, but you’ll want a rental car to enjoy all of Eleuthera. If you’re new to the island, Governor’s Harbour is a good starting point to access the best of the island. The local grocery store and liquor store are less than 10 minutes South. The resort is on the Atlantic side of the island and when the tide is low you can see the pink sand hidden beneath the water. The Atlantic side gets more wind than the Caribbean and the water can be rougher, but if necessary, you can reach many beaches on the other side in minutes by car.

The resort has two choices in accommodations: 1 bedroom bungalows and 4 bedroom homes. The bungalows are located near the pool and restaurant, and a very short walk to the beach. The rooms have DirecTV, ipod dock, flat screen TV, a king size bed, high ceilings, a refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The bathroom has a huge walk in shower with two shower heads, a separate bath tub with remote control heat, his and hers sinks, and a separate room with a toilet. The bungalows do not have phone or internet.
The homes have 4 bedrooms with 4 bathrooms. One bathroom has doors to both a bedroom and the common area. The master bedroom has a separate shower and tub with large windows facing the water, another bathroom has a multi-head shower. It also has its own TV. The kitchen features Viking appliances and has dishes, silverware, pots and pans. There is a wet bar and desk area as you walk into the living room. The living room is spacious and has a TV, DVD player, ipod dock, and speaker system. The dining room has a large round table. There is a washer and dryer in the laundry room. The homes have phone and high-speed internet. Each has an infinity pool with controls for lights and water jets.

The accommodations are top notch and far superior to what you will find nearby at Pineapple Fields, and even better than Powell Pointe at the Southern end of the island. Daily maid service was done by a team that was in and out of the rooms quickly.
The restaurant is called “The Bistro.” The chef Curtis is phenomenal and everyone was delighted with each dish they ordered. Prices are comparable with other well-known restaurants on the island such as Tippy’s. The dining room is island elegant, and the servers and bartenders are very friendly. The bar has multiple TVs, and has a swim up counter. The heated pool is great for a swim when the ocean is rough, and it has lighting for a nighttime swim.

We held our wedding and reception at Sky Beach Club so we spent a lot of time dealing with the owner Michael and the manager Perry. They were very quick to respond and did all they could to meet our requests for the event. The resort has not been open very long, but things went smoothly and I imagine that future events will be even easier to arrange.
As with some of the other resorts on the island that have not been completed, there are unfinished building sites, however, at Sky Beach, they blend into the landscaping of the resort. The resort is quiet enough for a romantic getaway in a bungalow, but also spacious enough for a fun trip with friends, family, or couples in a home. Overall, it’s a great value and after staying at many other hotels in Eleuthera, I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when I return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    50
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
138
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We were very disappointed with our stay at Sky Beach Club.

The resort is far from finished and as a result much of what you see as you enter the resort and from any of the bungalows or homes on the property is the landscape of a construction zone. It is obvious that the developers of this property have no regard for the environment as they have literally stripped the entire property of all of its natural landscaping.

With the exception of a couple of the Bahamian staff and the head chef, the service was poor. In some cases, the staff was even rude and had no concept of customer service. Given that the resort is so small, it is challenging to avoid surly staff.

If you book a bungalow, know that your room is right by the pool and restaurant - both of which are open to the public.

Although it is advertised that Sky Beach has wi-fi, the bungalows do not have wi-fi. It is only available at the pool and is not reliable.

The upside is that the restaurant serves quality meals, but you can eat there without having to stay at the resort. That's my suggestion.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I visited Sky Beach Club resort during Thanksgiving. I finally found the perfect mix of luxury accomodation, service, beauty, amenities, & convenience.

The food at Bistro is excellent. The chef (Curtis) is extremely personable and is of 5-star quality. The entire menu delivered quality and taste at an affordable price. Not to mention the beachfront view of an amazing pink-sand Atlantic side beach.

The accomodations in the 4 bedrooom Residence was luxurious. We even had our own private infinity pool that overlooked the beautiful Atlantic ocean. I've attached a few photos showing our view to the beach/ocean. The interior of the upgraded 3,200 SF villa was amazing. There is a stunning view from every room at every angle.

The beach at Sky Beach Club is one of the most beautiful in the world. The water is crystal clear and the white sand is soft and perfect for lounging. I can't wait to schedule my next vacation at this resort!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We extended our week stay at a vacation rental for an additional 2 nights just to experience the Sky Beach Club in Eleuthera. Needless to say, we were certainly glad about that decision. The Bungalows are actually quite spacious with beautiful high-end furnishings and a shower room that is unbelievable! There is literally a wall of large windows overlooking the infinity pool and ocean. In addition, there is satellite TV, a pretty decent sized refrigerator, a coffee maker with glasses etc. The beach directly in front of Sky Beach club is gorgeous, pink sand with no rocks in your way to the water. The sand is firm and perfect for walking miles upon miles. The only downside (for some) is that there is no kitchen in the Bungalow units, but there is a restaurant on the grounds and Governor's Harbor is only minutes away by vehicle. The pictures really do not do justice to this place, the Bungalows and grounds are really spectacular in person.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The staff is incredible, they got this place right. All the amenities of a seven start hotel and villa retreat, on a remote laying low island with impeccable quality of food and atmosphere.
They recruited the best chef's from around the world and the general manager has an impressive list of previous accomplishments. But here, the attitude suits the surroundings, warm, friendly and juts incredible..LOVED THIS PLACE. Seconds after you land at the airport you here and ready to chill. For Best Results at this place Chill

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We had lunch and dinner on several occasions at the Sky Beach Bistro and were delighted with our delicious meals at a not so sky high price! I have been going to the island for ten years and this tropical treat. We were thrilled to have great service and the management aims to please.
I can't wait to return. Add this experience to the top of your list when visiting Eleuthera!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I was so impressed with the facilites....beautiful, all the amenities of a five star resort.
And Perry is a gem....he makes you feel so special...the service there cannot be found anywhere else...and I have travelled alot..The food at the BRISTO is scrumptious...I wanted to take the chef home with me. I throughly enjoyed my stay at Sky Beach Club, Eleuthera.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Beach Club

Address: Queens Highway | Governors Harbour, Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eleuthera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put your feet up, relax and enjoy a book on our lovely pink sand beach. Or you can find food, solace and the beverage of your choice at the Bistro, with a full-service swim-up cocktail bar. Sky Beach Club offers FLY FREE Specials and seamlessly blends modern amenities with the splendor of unmatched natural beauty and excellent service. Accommodations range from luxury poolside bungalows to 3200-square-foot, four-bedroom, four-bath villas with private pools. Sky Beach Club Resort Amenities Include: • Amazing views of the Atlantic and the Caribbean. • Secluded pink-sand beach. • Contemporary dining in the Bistro. • Infinity edge beachfront pool with swim-up cocktail bar. • Gated resort community with 24/7 security. • Energy efficient green construction. • Located 7 minutes south of the Governor's Harbour airport. The Bistro: The Bistro is Sky Beach Club’s exclusive fine dining experience that combines international cuisine with daily specials inspired by local Grouper, Hog Fish Snapper and Lobster. Not to mention traditional dishes with a twist that will keep your palate wanting more. Concierge: Let our Concierge Services take care of your desires. At Sky Beach Club, your vacation will be as exciting or as tranquil as you want it to be. Pre-arrival your personal concierge will arrange for all your requested groceries to be stocked in your pantry and your choice beverages awaiting you on ice. Throughout your stay we will see to all your personal needs from planning your day’s activities, to helping you unwind with dinner reservations or a private chef to prepare that special meal in your home. Oceanview Pool & Spa with Swim-up Bar: Pristine waters sparkle as far as the eye can see from our amazing oceanfront amenity area. Comfortably relax in one of our pool-side cabanas and enjoy a light lunch – or swim over to the pool bar and have them throw another local pineapple in your favorite drink! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sky Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Beach Club Hotel Eleuthera
Sky Beach Club Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.