We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eleuthera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buccaneer Club
Save Saved
You added Buccaneer Club to your Saves list
Haynes Avenue | Governor's Harbour, 25051, Eleuthera   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
Seattle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came on Sunday for a late breakfast. The hotel is closed but the restaurant definitely open. The setting is open and very clean, not just the eating area but the rest rooms and kitchen. The staff were enjoyable and attentive. My wife had the Spanish omelette and said wow, even said the coffee was great. I tried the Bahamian corned beef hash -- spicy beef, tomatoes, onions -- and grits. The buccaneer is a few blocks up the hill from the main road but worth finding. We'll be back again later this week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here in 2008, when Lisa had restored the Buccaneer Club to its former splendor. I was disappointed to learn Lisa is no longer associated with the hotel/restaurant.

In fact, the hotel is essentially closed down.

The restaurant is still open, but it is cold. The food is okay, but the service and atmosphere are gone. The current owner is no where to be seen. Very sad.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

1. No one was there when I arrived - totally empty and locked up
2. Breakfast if there was one opend to late to be of any use
3. The rooms are ok but the standard of showers etc are low
4. There was never anybody around if you needed help with taxis or anything
5. The location is terrible, not close to any beach
6. The pool was empty, extremly small and dirty

It does not feel like a hotel as there is no service, it is however walking distance to gov.harbour banks and food store.
Stay at Pinaple fields instead

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We choosed the Buccaneer Club after reading the reviews here and can't do anything but confirm that it's a lovely, peaceful, perfect place to getaway and relax.
Rooms are spacious and very clean. Restaurant, where you will have breakfast which is included in the room rate, is very good and Governor's Harbour is a quite and delightful village with a beautiful beach.
Lisa, the owner of Buccaneer Club, and all staff are very friendly and helpful.
I'm looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I have been a regular coming to Governors Harbour for years. I stayed at the old Buc before new ownership, been to Pineapple Fields for a few nights, actually booked the entire Cigatoo for 3 nights for friends and family, stayed at the Duck Inn and finally spent a few days @ Laughing Bird. If you are looking for a room in Governors walking distance to the beach, walking distance to town, walking distance to Ronnies Bar--The NEW BUC is the place to stay. Flat Screens in the rooms, very nice wood floors, fridge and coffee makers in the room and a very comfortable bed. I am confident in saying as a seasoned visitor this is the nicest spot for SURE. The BUC IS A STRONG recomendation besides accomodations the restaurant is top 3 on the island. Lisa and Jennifer are great hosts and have done wonders to one of my favorite old digs............if you have an option request rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor--the higher up the better the view of town and the Harbour

  • Liked — convenient location, great food, good night life, the owners are good people. Easy to support
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

I stay in Eleuthera quite a lot. The Buccaneer Club was just recently renovated by the new owner, Lisa, and what a fantastic job she has done. The rooms are bright, colourful, and very clean. Each room has a flat screen LCD television with cable and DVD.

The private pool is beautiful. One of the few places with a pool.

The on-site restaurant provides a hearty breakfast included in the room price.

Great value, great people, great Island. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — The friendly owner, Lisa.
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was almost perfect.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

i love it!!! amazing for a beautiful get away, relaxing, peacful,vibrant and tones of fun! beach is gorgous, since the new owners it really changed! i cant wait to come back.

  • Liked — it was beautiful,peaceful,loads of fun,people were amazing, great view, everything was perfect!
  • Disliked — there was nothing i didnt like, every body was so nice and welcoming!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneer Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Club

Address: Haynes Avenue | Governor's Harbour, 25051, Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 150-year-old farmhouse houses the unique Buccaneer Club. Each of the 5 rooms has 2 queen size beds, and separate bathrooms. The outdoor pool has a large patio deck with sun and shade, and a pool bar. There is an on-site, fully licensed restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week from 7:00 a.m. All room rates include breakfast for two. Parking available at the rear of the Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Club Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.