We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special memories.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocodimama Charming Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocodimama Charming Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocodimama Charming Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alabaster Bay's beach | PO Box 122 Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera (Formerly Cocodimama Eleuthera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Special memories.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband proposed on the beach here over nine years ago, we returned for our wedding five months later and I thought we had found paradise on earth! Sam, the bar man was so special I would have transported him back to Canada. This Cocodimama was then owned and run by a young Italian couple, and truly was a ' very special place',couldn't fault a single thing.
Returned in February of 2012 to celebrate a milestone birthday, and although the place is still magical and we had a great time, it will be our last. Sam was still there, and was as lovely and friendly as ever, the new owners were Americans and it became apparent that this was 'all about the money'. They have closed the resort to build a new family facility, which will totally destroy everything we love about the place, I find it so sad that somewhere so special, were I couldn't fault anything will just be another large hotel. I'm actually mourning its loss.

Room Tip: Don't know what the new ones will be like, but we always stayed in the same upstairs yellow room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The resort and restaurant have recently closed while the property undergoes a planned expansion. I am not sure when they will reopen so best to check before heading out for dinner and a drink. The beach is still a wonderful option to while away an afternoon and is a great place for kids as the water is fairly shallow stretching out to the sea.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

It's a family owned place , at least it was when we were there, well maintained with passion and style. The hotel it's very basic but have everything you need.with it's own charm. Overall if you visit eleuthera you are looking a for a quite place and relax , this is what you can get at cocodimamma. Friendly staff and a great restaurant with a very nice terrace.

I liked the place and i have enjoied the time spent on the beach alone with one of the best view i have experienced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were there at the beginning of August for a week and loved every second! This was pure relaxation filled with sun and a beautiful bay and beach in paradise! It only rained one day, which turned out to be a fun day of exploration! Sammy the bartender made the BEST pina coladas, and is one of the friendliest and most considerate and polite people you will ever meet! His consideration and care of every single person was exceptional and genuine and never overbearing! The room was comfortably chic, and clean, with a comfortable bed and great shower. Also, the service was outstanding from Allison's helpfullness to Collin's dedication! Everyone was outstanding and cared about us having a great experience! The food was just OK for the money with some exceptions (ceviche, lobster ravioli and lasagna), but the outdoor dining and view are a dream. The fish fry on Friday in Govornor's Harbour is a lot of fun and Ten Bay Beach is worth a visit. Bring bug spray for the mosquitoes and sand flees, especially for those still evenings. We hope that the "new" Cocodimama remains approachable for the not so wealthy and doesn't lose its respect for the Eleutherans and their home. We hope we can return to this exceptional place on earth!

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be the same, private and quiet. We were closest to the main building and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

One hour flight from fort lauderdale to governor harbour then 3 min cab ride and you are in paradise! A cozy and intimate property right on an alabaster beach with shallow and ultraclear water. I never go back twice to the same place, but this time I did, it is just perfect the way it is: no tv in the rooms, jus look outside the window..., no pool, just a perfect shallow and warm ocean. The restaurant serves excellent food and people working there is super friendly. The only bad thing are mosquitoes, during sunrise and sunset may bother you on the patio overlooking the ocean....but some repellent will fix it.
Me and my wife have been in several other hotels on Eleuthera and by our taste (we are professional travelers) this is our favorite.

Room Tip: 2 nd floor room have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a weekend here and it was pure relaxation. The silky blue water, the relaxing bar and lounge room which opens out to the perfect view. The secluded beach is perfect. The apartments are simple and stylish. The food was amazing. The staff warm and friendly. Just 2 minutes from the airport. Hard to believe this is only 20 minutes from Nassau by plane, it seems a million miles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was a very last minute birthday trip for my best friends birthday.We flew in from New York to Nassau and took another flight to Governor's Harbor and CoCoDimama was less then 10 mins away. We stayed in the greenhouse (room G1 i think) and the view from the door step was AMAZING. You literally stay on the beach. The island is just STUNNING. The people are the friendliest and are very welcoming. The rooms are clean and are cleaned everyday. The bed is very comfortable. The water is very clear, perfectly cool and clean. The breakfast was really good. The food at the resort I would give a 7 out 10. But you are allowed to go to other resorts and other beaches for new scenery or if you choose to dine out. You can choose to go snorkeling. There is a beautiful trail for running. When you get there, don't forget to stop by the bar and ask for SAMMY'S FAMOUS PINA COLADA. It was a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is the best, so I wouldn't have to worry about making too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocodimama Charming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocodimama Charming Resort

Address: Alabaster Bay's beach | PO Box 122 Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera (Formerly Cocodimama Eleuthera)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocodimama Charming Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for that special place in the sun and the ultimate Bahamian beach experience has been rewarded with the discovery of Cocodimama, Eleuthera’s most charming beachfront resort.Cocodimama Resort is located just two miles from the airport and seven miles from the quaint historic town of Governor’s Harbour. This Bahamas resort is situated at the center of picture-perfect Alabaster Bay’s spectacular beach — which stretches for a mile along the crystal clear azure waters of the Caribbean Sea. Cocodimama’s location on Eleuthera, a narrow point of the 105-mile long island, presents guests with the opportunity to stroll to the Atlantic Ocean to enjoy the splendor of miles of uninterrupted pink sand beach as they watch the Atlantic’s blue-green waters roll ashore over nearby reefs. The combination of the Caribbean Sea, Atlantic Ocean, rolling green hills, and two extraordinary beaches presents our resort guests with a one of kind “surf and turf” experience.The resort’s colonial main house features our bar, lounge, and award-winning restaurant. The restaurant’s terrace is the perfect place to relax and enjoy an evening cocktail and legendary majestic sunset. Our 12 spacious beachfront guest rooms are located in three Bahamian style cottages with covered verandas, wonderful ocean views, and the beach at your doorstep. Cocodimama Resort offers complimentary use of kayaks and snorkel equipment. The resort will assist in arranging fishing and scuba diving expeditions, as well as boat charters, water sports, horseback riding and car rentals.Getting to Cocodimama is easy. You can fly directly to Eleuthera in less than an hour from Fort Lauderdaleand only fifteen minutes from Nassau. A two-hour fast ferry connects Nassau with Eleuthera seven days a week. So whether you are vacationing as a single, couple, or family; planning a wedding or honeymoon; looking for a place to dive, fish, or boat; seek an island resort for an executive board meeting; or simply want to do nothing at all but enjoy great food and wine and a fabulous beach, come join us in paradise at Eleuthera’s CocodimamaFrom the moment you arrive you will feel like an important member of a private club, not just another guest with a room number. Within 24 hours you will experience a sense of detachment from the pressures of Wall Street and Main Street as you ease into a lifestyle of carefree comfort and total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Cocodimama Charming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocodimama Eleuthera Hotel Eleuthera
Cocodimama Hotel Eleuthera
Cocodimama Charming Resort Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocodimama Charming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.