We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous beach setting, lovely rooms, inconsistent food and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocodimama Charming Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cocodimama Charming Resort to your Saves list
Cocodimama Charming Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alabaster Bay's beach | PO Box 122 Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera (Formerly Cocodimama Eleuthera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach setting, lovely rooms, inconsistent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Solo traveler, the week of Christmas, so things were pretty busy. Cocodimama sits on a beautiful beach with great swimming. Room is perfect, good pillows and sheets, but amenities could have been a bit better, given it is right on the beach. For the price (US$300 per night), I would have liked some small bottles of body lotion, sunscreen and insect repellant, all of which were available at an extra charge. Also, the continental breakfast included was very sparse. Food in dining room was inconsistent - sometimes great and sometimes mediocre, but probably because it was busy and crowded during Christmas.

The great: Allison at the front desk watched over me because I was alone and going out snorkeling everyday. She took an interest in where I was going and when I would return, and this made me feel welcomed and cared about. Conversely, upon early morning check-out, staff stood around and watched as I carried my heavy luggage down stairs and to my vehicle, and didn't offer to assist and actually scowled when I asked for help.

Would I stay here again? Not sure given all the other similarly priced accommodations on the island.

Room Tip: Upstairs have best views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hønefoss, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here in November for 7 days of utter tranquillity and calm. If your aim is luxury and 24 hour room service or a loud, noisy around-the-clock party time you've come to the wrong place. If you however, seek a place where you can have a morning dip at the beach directly from your room, relax with a coffee on the veranda with a towel around you and your feet on the sill and then stroll along the beach for breakfast at the main building then this is the place. The day continues, relaxing on the beach savouring Sam's mango daquiris, then lunch at the terrace with a delicious selection of dishes including daily fresh fish prepared by Paolo, the Italian chef. In the evenings just after a beautiful sunset we gathered around the bar for a pre-dinner coctail with Sam as the allways smiling, laughing and entertaining bartender. The meals from Paolo the chef was again delicious. Unfortunately some of the property had been damaged during the hurricane in August but repair works were in progress. Some mosquitos and no-see-ums just after sunset so bring some mosquito repellent. We will be back !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We are a French couple and we stayed 4 days Nov 11_14 at cocodimama. The beach is simply gorgeous, the rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Michael the owner is just very friendly with all his guests and is doing his best to make his guests feel good.
The people working at the bar and restaurant are also extremely kind and helpful.
It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Bahamas on a quiet and untouched island.

We loved it

Hope to come back.
Anne Marie and Richard

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 3-night stay at Cocodimama. Having stayed there a few years ago, I can say that the hotel has only gotten better. Sammy remains as the charismatic bartender, a new chef is turning out the best meals on the island and the entire staff is happy and eager to please.

Tip: Ask the staff how best to access an amazing several miles of "private" beach across the street on the Atlantic side of the island and experience Eleuthera's famous pink sand beaches!

Room Tip: I have stayed in several and they are all consistently good. I prefer the top floor to get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Cocodimama is indeed a little slice of heaven. The rooms are amazing--the view out your window is incredible. Staff was amazing--Allison at the front desk was always helpful, Sammy the bartender was fun, friendly, and always ready with your next drink, and Bianca took great care of us when dining at the restaurant (excellent food by the way). Phoebe and Governor, the two potcakes, were great fun too and often kept us company in the water and when lounging out of the water. Expect to be greeted by both as they seem to be the ambassadors of the hotel. The water was gorgeous; truthfully, it made me feel as if I were living in a beer commercial. We took out the kayak twice and rowed over to the empty beach and island across from Cocodimama. We found tons and tons of sand dollars the size of your palm. It was a relaxing and wonderful stay and I would not hesitate to recommend Cocodimama to anyone. Do, however, heed the advice of most, take bug spray. The bugs are out at night, but once we put on bug spray we were not bothered. Make sure to take in at least one sunset, and I would also recommend a car if you want to explore the island. We went to a new place every day, and yes, Lighthouse Beach is worth the trek and incredibly bumpy road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel has many beautiful features. It embodies the Bahamian life style. The best feature is the spectacular blue green water. It is always calm and inviting on a strip of private beach that one can walk and pick the most beautiful shells. The staff is friendly and helpful. Sammy makes the best drinks ever. I still dream of Mango daiquiris.The owner always made himself available to help us out. We attended a buffet rehearsal dinner and the meal had a good variety and was delicious. Loved that there was a contental breakfast included. The lobby of this hotel and over all experience feels as though you were invited at a good friends house enjoying good wine and friendship. Its very relaxed and easy going.Very romatic as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at Cocodimama while attending a friend's wedding in Eleuthera. The resort itself was immaculately clean and charming in every respect. My sister and I stayed in the pink villa and had a lovely view of the ocean (all villas have an ocean view).

The beach was very clean, and the ocean felt like a giant infinity pool. You could walk for miles and still only be hip deep. The staff at Cocodimama was polite, upbeat and friendly. One of our electrical outlets in our room was not working and they fixed it immediately.

Sammy the bartender felt like an old friend the instant we met him (and he makes the meanest Bahamian drinks in town). The owner, Michael, added a real touch of class to the place. He was regularly on hand to see that his guests felt accommodated. He even drove my sister and I to the local fish fry when we missed our bus. I was really impressed by how kind he was.

A nice place to congregate, guests can lounge in the airy lobby or outside terrace for breakfast, lunch and dinner and be greeted by the friendliest dog in town (who I fell in love with) "Governor". The menu boasts authentic Italian fare, and the food is fresh and tasty.

I couldn't be happier with our stay here. By the end of our short trip, the staff felt like old friends. I definitely recommend Cocodimama and hope to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocodimama Charming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocodimama Charming Resort

Address: Alabaster Bay's beach | PO Box 122 Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera (Formerly Cocodimama Eleuthera)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocodimama Charming Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your search for that special place in the sun and the ultimate Bahamian beach experience has been rewarded with the discovery of Cocodimama, Eleuthera’s most charming beachfront resort.Cocodimama Resort is located just two miles from the airport and seven miles from the quaint historic town of Governor’s Harbour. This Bahamas resort is situated at the center of picture-perfect Alabaster Bay’s spectacular beach — which stretches for a mile along the crystal clear azure waters of the Caribbean Sea. Cocodimama’s location on Eleuthera, a narrow point of the 105-mile long island, presents guests with the opportunity to stroll to the Atlantic Ocean to enjoy the splendor of miles of uninterrupted pink sand beach as they watch the Atlantic’s blue-green waters roll ashore over nearby reefs. The combination of the Caribbean Sea, Atlantic Ocean, rolling green hills, and two extraordinary beaches presents our resort guests with a one of kind “surf and turf” experience.The resort’s colonial main house features our bar, lounge, and award-winning restaurant. The restaurant’s terrace is the perfect place to relax and enjoy an evening cocktail and legendary majestic sunset. Our 12 spacious beachfront guest rooms are located in three Bahamian style cottages with covered verandas, wonderful ocean views, and the beach at your doorstep. Cocodimama Resort offers complimentary use of kayaks and snorkel equipment. The resort will assist in arranging fishing and scuba diving expeditions, as well as boat charters, water sports, horseback riding and car rentals.Getting to Cocodimama is easy. You can fly directly to Eleuthera in less than an hour from Fort Lauderdaleand only fifteen minutes from Nassau. A two-hour fast ferry connects Nassau with Eleuthera seven days a week. So whether you are vacationing as a single, couple, or family; planning a wedding or honeymoon; looking for a place to dive, fish, or boat; seek an island resort for an executive board meeting; or simply want to do nothing at all but enjoy great food and wine and a fabulous beach, come join us in paradise at Eleuthera’s CocodimamaFrom the moment you arrive you will feel like an important member of a private club, not just another guest with a room number. Within 24 hours you will experience a sense of detachment from the pressures of Wall Street and Main Street as you ease into a lifestyle of carefree comfort and total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Cocodimama Charming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocodimama Eleuthera Hotel Eleuthera
Cocodimama Hotel Eleuthera
Cocodimama Charming Resort Eleuthera, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocodimama Charming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.