We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights is too short!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island HoppInn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island HoppInn
Save
You added Island HoppInn to your Saves list
Fernandez Bay, Cat Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 nights is too short!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We needed at least a week here, even better a month! The bay is absolutely stunning. Breakfast outside every morning with that view....heaven! What an amazing location!

I was pleasantly surprised at the good quality snorkeling along the rocks wrapping around the bay. Healthy coral, pretty tropical fish, outstanding visibility and very warm water. The mangrove marsh on the left side of the bay is incredible. Lots of baby fish and baby nurse sharks (harmless), sandbars where you can laze in 95ish degree water. Good hiking along the hillside and rocks at the mouth of the bay, gorgeous untouched beaches just around the corner outside the bay that you can have all to yourself. A short hike up a rocky hill on the right side of the bay is a perfect sunset viewing spot.

Cathleen is a gracious and generous hostess. She obviously loves the island and seems to genuinely enjoy sharing it with guests. She gave us a nice intro tour on the first morning. She is an amazing cook and went out of her way to accommodate some specific food requests. Impressive, since resources are limited on this beautiful, rustic island.

The Cat Island residents are lovely. Always sweet, smiling, welcoming, helpful. I drove a rental car and went snorkeling on a very remote beach by myself and felt completely safe.

The Inn is a little paradise. Very comfortable. The outdoor shower is great for rinsing out beach clothes and snorkel gear, lots of towel rack space to hang dry your clothes. The honor bar system is very convenient...just grab what you want from the outdoor kitchen refrigerator and add it to your tab. Although it is so nice to unplug, there is wireless internet if you must. Plenty of beach toys available. We kayaked every day. One evening we paddled out to watch sunset offshore. And the night stars....wow.

If you appreciate peaceful, pristine natural beauty with minimal human foot print and do not require a pool or a cruise director, this is perfect for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe suite. The roominess was nice, but we would have been equally happy in eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I spent the first week of May on Cat Island at the Island Hopp Inn. What a great place to unwind and experience the best of island life. We stayed in the deluxe suite which was very spacious and just steps from the fantastic Fernandez Bay beach. Cathleen and Alyssa were such perfect hostesses, and we loved the pups, Sweetie and Tippy, who greeted us every morning while we had coffee on our porch overlooking the sea.

Cathleen is a terrific cook and made some really special meals for us. As we had a rental car for most of the week, we were able to dine at other local eateries too. Ask Cathleen to recommend the best places for conch and other island specialties.

Cat Island is the ultimate place to relax. I would not hesitate to recommend Island Hopp Inn to everyone.....except maybe the cruise-ship crowd that might not "get it". If you like hordes of tourists, casinos and nightlife, I would recommend you stay in Nassau. But, if you enjoy peace and quiet, natural settings, unspoiled beaches, and wonderful people, you should head for Cat Island and the Island Hopp Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your high recommendation! We loved preparing tasty meals and catering to you! ;-) The Rake 'n Scrape dinner night was so fun - you were a great saw scraper!! It was wonderful that you had lots of warm experiences to share, while exploring Cat Island's uniquely remote and friendly bit of tropical paradise. Looking forward to your return! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at Island HoppInn! Beautiful, beautiful beaches and water. Very remote, quaint island. If you are casual beach types this is a great place to spend a week or so. Rented a car for 2 days to see the island. Hermitage is a must see! Beaches on the other side of the island are amazing. People you meet on the road are very friendly. Feel very safe on this island. Cathleen was a great hostess! She and daughter, Alyssa, were so friendly and accommodating. Really made our stay enjoyable. Cathleen is a fantastic cook so be prepared to eat very well here. Thanks again to Cathleen and Alyssa for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at Island HoppInn in beautiful Cat Island!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for experiencing and enjoying Island HoppInn and friendly Cat Island, as much as we enjoyed meeting and spending time with you! Greatly appreciate your great review and sharing your experience! Look forward to your return! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family stayed here for 4 days and truely enjoyed the entire time we were there. The accomodations were beyond what we expected and the beach was beautiful. We spent most of our time snorkling, walking the beach, kayaking, paddleboarding and napping. We did take one day and rent a car to explore the island which was a lot of fun. Our daughters had a great time hanging out with Alyssa and Cathy was a great help to us making sure we had everything we needed. Cathy and Alyssa had to leave on personnal buisness and left Dan and James to take care of our needs. They were beyond helpful and both very nice guys. We were supposed to stay at another resort that closed but Cathy and Alyssa took us in and saved our trip. We cannot thank them enough and we look forward to returning to Cat Island again and to staying at Island Hoppinn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Suite. It had plenty of room for 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Very happy Island HoppInn was able to accommodate your family on short notice, while aiding a recently closed resort. Very glad we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for writing this complimentary review! Look forward to your planned visit to Island HoppInn next time ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Met Cathleen on airplane coming back from a business trip. Cathleen shared with me about the Island Hoppinn. Never had been there and took a chance from her recommendation. It was better than I could have expected. Total relaxation and never checked email or phone. Just relaxed, went snorkling, took canoe up mangroves, sat on porch and read, took beach walks. So peacful and calm that you could let go of busy life back home. Cathleen and daughter Alyssa went overboard to make our stay the best it could be. The evening meal that Cathleen prepared each night could not be beat. My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much that I even left a deposit for next years stay, and it will be more than a week. If you want layed back and total relaxation, THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE.

Room Tip: Loved the end room. Had wicker chair to sit at morning and steps right to the beach that were thirt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
What an awesome surprise anniversary trip, and birthday you planned for your wife! Amazing that it started when we met on a flight! Loved catering to and celebrating with you! Look forward to your next visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I had never been out of the country and decided to venture to the Bahamas, we had the most amazing experience at Island Hoppinn with Cathleen and Alyssa as our hostess's. Beautiful location with snorkeling opportunities, we went to the mangroves twice, once you enter if you stay to the far right you will end up on the other side of the bay and their is a private beach. We saw stingrays in the mangroves and they're too shallow for sharks. Safe place for kids, you can literally float our 30-50 yards and only be chest high in the water. I will never forget it and once you've been to Cat Island you will find ways to keep going back. Already planning our next adventure. We went during spring break and still pretty much had the place to ourselves.

Room Tip: Bug spray, don't be afraid to rent a car or ask Cathleen if there is time for an excursion, she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your great review, and all the great pictures! We all had so much fun! Looking very forward to your return visit - hopefully soon!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our family stayed at the Island Hoppinn for eight days. It was truly a wonderful unique experience. Cathy and Alyssa were great hosts. Alyssa is a great paddle board teacher. The inn is small and charming. It was a great find!
The beach was the most beautiful serene place we have ever been.We kayaked,snorkeled and paddle boarded in the cove.It felt like it was our own private beach. Rented a car and explored the island end to end. The local people were very friendly.I would highly recommend the Island Hoppinn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen P, Manager at Island HoppInn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your high recommendation and great review! We greatly appreciate it, and your family visit! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island HoppInn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island HoppInn

Address: Fernandez Bay, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island HoppIn is thrilled to be named in Frommer's "World's 10 Best Beachfront Resorts" article in 2011! Relax in a cozy, private suite on the white sand of Fernandez Bay, embracing the crystal clear ocean. Island HoppInn is a small, intimate resort with lots of warmth and charm. Escape your daily routine on our secluded beach. Enjoy thrilling fishing charters, or napping in an Oceanside hammock - the activity level is your choice. Enjoy modern conveniences: Satellite TV, wireless internet, Island HoppInn's exclusive weather reports and live beach cam! Island HoppInn enjoys catering to your desires to ensure a wonderful Island experience. Arrive as new guests, and quickly feel the comforting warmth of friendship as you visit your new tropical “home away from home”! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island HoppInn Cat Island, Bahamas
Island Hoppinn Hotel Cat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island HoppInn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.