We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Creek Inn to your Saves list
Orange Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Highway | Orange Creek, Cat Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Getaway 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The getaway in Orange Creek 2014 was one of the vacation I"ve had for years. I am encouraging all my family and friends to give Orange Creek Cat Island a try. Orange Creek Inn is the place to stay. On the spot you have yhe food store, the laundrymat, and across the road you have the beautiful beaches. The airport Arthur's Town Airport is just 6 minutes away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Orange Creek Inn has always been delighted in providing the perfect getaway for its guest with the convenience that makes a difference. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and will continue to provide a service second to none.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange Bay, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had the privilege to spend four beautiful nights at the Orange Creek Inn. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation spot. You will definitely find it here. The rooms have air conditioning, running hot and cold water, they are equipped with a mini refrigerator as well as a two burner stove. Adjacent to the hotel is a grocery store and laundromat.

Across from the hotel is a scenic view of the Atlantic Ocean. Here you find crystal clear waters with an aquamarine tint of blue. The landscaping of the inn is quite vivid as it is bursting with tropical flora.

An added bonus is the professionalism displayed by the staff. This is my second year here and I impatiently await my return next year. I come to spend time with family and to explore my ancestral home, the Orange Creek Inn provides me with the comfort of home while being on the sunny island of Cat Island!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Its our pleasure to have you stay at our home, away from home. Our doors are always open to all who would come for an unforgetable experience with us in our beautiful tropical paradise. Thank you for returning to us as we look forward to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Darren and Margaret were very helpful and friendly folks. Rented bikes every day,cheap, and car rental only 80$. Nice little beach 100 yes from the inn with some colorful little Fisk and nice shells and conchs. Food market very handy. Bring your own cigarets though. Had a Great peaceful vacation. Visit Stubbs down the road for some cold Kalicks beer. Super nice island native as they all are.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are always happy to make your stay with us a pleasurable one and an unforgettable experience in our bahamian paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Absolutely perfect beach across the creek. Spacious, clean rooms for a great price. Fabulous hosts that are "locales" and very helpful. We loved it here and will come back. Super shelling. Warm water that was nice and calm for swimming.

Room Tip: Great store on site. But you will want a car for more exploring. We had a ocean side room and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are always delighted in sharing"Our Bahamas" with you and yours. It was a wonderful experience to have made your stay most pleasurable and accommodating. We're happy to know that we have made "Our Bahamas" your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Orange Creek Inn takes you back to a simpler time when all you needed was the sun on your face and a drink in your hand. The owner Margaret and her son Darren are extremely helpful and accommodating. Not only did they help have something special set up for our anniversary and they will pick you up from the airport and show you around the Island. One of the greatest things about the Inn is the kitchenette and grocery store run by the owners of the Inn. The food on the island in general is pretty pricey but with the grocery store right below you, breakfast and lunch are easy to take care of yourself. The view from the inn is perfect, white sandy beach and plan trees. When you get to the hotel remember to ask for a coconut fresh from one of the trees in the front yard! They also have a banana tree that you will have to try! Price is great but make sure you call the office and ask about the price otherwise you will over pay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get air conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing us and for your cordial and wonderful words of kindness. We have enjoyed the time you've spent with us, and certainly it was our delight to make your visit a memorable one.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights recently. The room was large, with 2 beds, a kitchenette, and an en-suite shower room. The room and bathroom were clean. The aircon, although noisy, worked well. The hotel has no restaurant at all so don't expect breakfast! The owners were delightful and suggested several 'local' eating places, of which we tried Da Smoke Pot and were suitably impressed. The hotel is situated across the road from a nice beach. Be warned - bring mosquito repellent for the evenings!

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the island interior or the sea - take your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, as well as having rated our ministration. We have given immediate attention to the indicated air conditioning unit, that none of our prospective guest would have this occurrence. We are more than thankful for your helpful review.

Also, on our site, we have posted that we do not have a restaurant on our premises, however, we are more than happy to have our local restaurants that are within a 5 minute drive, cater to all of our guest dinning request. We have partnered with our local business/owner affiliates ( 5 local bahamian restaurants) upon bookings, of our commitment of making their establishments readily available for all our guest to enjoy the Bahamian cuisine.

We welcome you and thank you for having chosen us and for experiencing our bahamian paradise.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglemont, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Orange Creek Inn Review
This is a wonderful, friendly island with beautiful white sandy beaches , warm ocean,and very quiet atmosphere . You can relax at the beach or rent a car and explore the island, which we did. . The locals are amazingly friendly and helpful.
Orange creek Inn is clean, and quiet.
The Cleare family and staff will do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. There is a well stocked store on the premises, you will not need to go anywhere for your daily needs,
So when visiting Cat Island; come stay at the Orange Creek Inn and experience the beauty and serenity of the Island, the friendly people and the most beautiful ocean scenery you can imagine!
My husband and I did and are very pleased with our holiday choice.
We were very sad to leave but plan on keeping in touch with a few of the residents, because we hope to come back and repeat this awesome experience.
We are giving it 5 stars, if we could give more we would.
Thank yous go out to the Cleare family and everyone we met and connected with while there.

James and Suzanne Reynolds BC Canada

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclewis40, Manager at Orange Creek Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for it was a pleasure making your vacation a fantastic experience with us. We do appreciate your review and most of all, your sincerity. We have greeting you at the airport as first time guest, and returned you as family.

We are advocates for making everyone who comes through our establishment as comfortable, pleasant, and as home like within our powers. We have enjoyed your visit to our paradise, and are extremely thankful for the time spent and treasured moments generated.

You are eternally welcome and thank you always.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Creek Inn

Address: Queens Highway | Orange Creek, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to a Spectacular 5+ mile Deserted Beach and some of the Best Bonefishing Flats on Cat Island.Clean, Comfortable and Affordable. It's almost cheaper than staying home! Found in the heart of a rich historical island, Orange Creek Inn is a self catering hotel with rooms outfitted with all the comforts of the average budget hotel. The building comprises of two-story levels and a grocery store at the ground floor to supply all of your self-catering and exploration needs. This oceanfront property is a single building that is surrounded by landscaping of forest at its rear and sides. At the front, however, lies the endless beauty of unchartered ocean filled with life. With wildlife preserves, this hotel destination is visited be the average do-it-yourselfer, backpacker, historian and naturalist from all over the world seeking to explore the untouched beauty od the island, and research Cat Island's rich history od Arawak Indians, Lucayans and Loyalists from America's British and Spanish Revolutions. It is also a great place to relax on a peaceful island retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orange Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Creek Inn Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.