We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to do very little” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halvorson House Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halvorson House Villa Resort
Save
You added Halvorson House Villa Resort to your Saves list
Bennett's Harbor | General Delivery, Cat Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
“A great place to do very little”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you like to relax and are able to handle a vacation with little activity, then this is the place for you. Cat Island has no resort features but the Halvorson House has great hosts in Matt and Sooner and two active little girls. It is a great place to read, write, meditate, walk, jog, visit beaches, sleep, and enjoy some of the best blue clear water I have seen. You won't be elbow to elbow with anybody and can get a feel for what it is like to live on a small somewhat isolated island. Accommodations are roomy and very comfortable and thankfully air conditioned. But be sure to take plenty of bug spray and use it because those little "no seeums" like to "lunch" almost all day. You won't regret a vacation at the Halvorson House - unless you like to go, go, go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your review. We would like to address the comment about having no resort features. It is absolutely slow paced - but we do offer free kayaks, paddle boards, bicycles, fishing gear and snorkeling gear. We also offer boating tours where you can go turtle spotting, coral head snorkeling, or fishing. You can hire a local land tour guide or go scuba diving near by with a guide. There are a few great restaurants nearby where you can see live authentic rake n' scape music performed or go to locals karaoke. We have a kids club with a large big screen tv and DVD player as well a large selection of books and games. There is a library nearby as well. We have a restaurant dining hall that serves 3 meals a day, regular housekeeping and free bath amenities. Most of the time we will take our guests out ourselves for a shelling excursion. we also provide round trip transportation to and from the airport. As our name says "resort" we hope it is not misleading. It's not a typical large all-inclusive resort but we do provide a great deal for our guests who are active if they choose to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Five of us stayed at Halverson House in Febuary this year. Matt & Sooner and their daughters Stella& Maddie were great, they took us around the area and too the local hangouts. The beach is awesome and the local people are treasures. They are so caring and friendly, one has a hard time beleiving a place like this still exists. Were were scheduled to stay at a rental house down the beach but the reservations got mixed up so the owner of the house recomended the Halversons. That mistake turned out to be a blessing for us, otherwise we would not have gotten to meet them..I can't say enough about how kind and involved Matt & Sooner are with the island people. This is a very fragile place and needs to be kept the way it is . Sooner was getting a recycle center set up and is involved in the local youth soccer programs. Will try to get back if life allows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review! We are so thankful we got to have you for the day and night and really can't wait for you to hopefully make it back! Thank you for the encouragement for the programs and we'll keep you posted! Thanks for letting us be a part of your adventures on Cat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Halvorson House and would definitely go back. It was a treat to be hosted be the Halvorson Family and the Bahamians on the staff were friendly and helpful. The beach could not be more beautiful and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We were so happy to have you stay with us and let us share with you both our adventure! Thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As much as I'd like to keep this amazing place "my secret getaway," I have to share:

If you want a comfortable place on a beautiful beach, with peace and solitude, this is it.

If you want a place that serves 3 home-cooked meals a day so you don't have to leave, this is it.

If you want a homebase on with snorkels and bikes for exploring, this is it.

If you want to become part of a warm, fun and loving family, this is it.

Thanks you, Matt, Sooner, Stella, Maddie and the menagerie for a perfect vacation. We can't wait to come back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner H, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We kind of would like to keep it our own little secret too but then we wouldn't get to meet all the amazing people who find us in this hidden eutopia called Cat Island. We so enjoyed having you as a part of our family and we can't wait for your return. thank you for the thoughtful review and sharing your secret!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had the opportunity recently to go to Cat Island and fortunately for me, I as at Halvorson House Villa Resort. First Matt and Sooner is at the airport to pick you up and Welcome you; this is never seen by a hotel owner. As I arrived at the resort I was AMAZED and SPEECHLESS!!! This hidden treasure (resort) is unlike any I have ever seen. The villas are phenomenal with everything you need, they are clean and spacious, and two steps from the villa is the most astonishing beach I have ever seen. All I wanted to do is Eat, Swim and Sleep, and let me say I at this resort you can do these and be happy. Swimming in the warm incredible beach or sleeping on powder sand on the beach was worth the trip. Halvorson Resort is quiet and you get personal attention from this family. I spoke with another family that I met at the resort and they concurred that this is the BEST RESORT they have ever stayed at. Matt and Sooner treats everyone like you are a part of their family! ANYTHING that you need they will assist you with. They even take you on tours of the island while teaching you the history of the island. I had one regret about my experience while at Halvorson House and that was, I had to go back home. I WISH I COULD STAY THERE FOREVER! It’s hard to explain how wonderful this experience was; this is one of those things you must experience for yourself. Matt and Sooner you will definitely see me again and your beautiful resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner H, Manager at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
couldn't have said it better myself! Your excitement is contagious. After reading your review We stepped outside and took a deep breath and went "this place IS Totally awesome!" We hope you will make many more trips to Cat Island and spend some time enjoying! All our best to you And thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Every other hotel we stayed at during our trip I gave a 3 star review to. I am not a person who puts 5 stars unless I really mean it.

The houses are huge. Ours had two bedrooms and two living areas (these can be split to separate families but they upgraded us for free since it was not reserved). The quality of the beds and bedding is very, very comfortable, and all the furniture and decorations really make you feel at home. The bathrooms and showers are very comfortable. The water temperature was great throughout our stay.

They have many playthings which are free to use, including kayaks. The Halvorsons have set this place up so that it’s more like you’re a guest in their family home than at a hotel. Dinner is served in the main house. The house itself included a coffee pot with mugs and sugars, and coffee was provided as well. There were plenty of towels. There were inflatable life vests for the kids which made me feel safer about them kayaking. Cat Island is completely desolate and remote. There was nowhere to go and I LOVED it. There is a kids club where guests kids and the Halvorsons' kids mingle and play with plenty of art, dvds, and toys.

The restaurant has a wonderful cook who is from Jamaica and very friendly. The one place that seemed walking distance was a restaurant called Yardie's. I would highly recommend it. Also, the Halvorsons took everyone on a trip to a local restaurant with a live band one night at no extra charge. They have clearly made friends with the locals and worked hard to become involved in their community.

The only down side to visiting the Bahamas in general was sand flies. They’re called sand flies, but they seem more like fleas to me in their size and appearance. Apparently people who live near these become immune to them, but bug spray has no effect on the little fellas and we were getting pretty covered in itchy bites by our fifth day. If I go back I will definitely be looking into what kind of spray might repel them. However we were not really affected until about our third night.

This place was an unbelievable value for the money. If you ate every meal at the main house, food would be about $50 per person per day, room tax was 16% so if you had two people, with all meals it would be under $200 a day for a nice house on the most beautiful remote beach you have ever seen--even half the house we had would have been worth more than that. I would definitely consider going back and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner H, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow right back at cha! What a thoughtful review! We really enjoyed having your delightful family stay with us. All of the conversation was amazing and we really enjoyed all the time we spent with you. Take care and our family sends all our best to yours! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best beach vacation....ever. Wonderful location, great hosts, great food, very kid-friendly. All the activities you would want. If you are looking for a laid back beach vacation in a great location you should check this place out.

Room Tip: All the cottages are in the same area, and right on the water. There are no "bad' choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner H, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We had such a great time with you all! We are looking forward to seeing you again! Thanks for the very kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halvorson House Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halvorson House Villa Resort

Address: Bennett's Harbor | General Delivery, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are alot of changes coming to HHVR in 2014. We are slowly "leaking" information about the exciting changes including "all inclusive," kitchens in the bungalows and even a new name! Our property is 10 acres on 3 secluded beaches, one of which is Bennetts' Harbor - possibly one of the most beautiful white sand and calm water beaches in the Bahamas. Our 6 sea side bungalows are rustic, nothing fancy but beatuifully unique and spacious. As a 2013 and 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Award Wimmer we are humbled by the honor. We are excited to tell everyone about what is to come for this gem of a propoerty in April 2014 - hint: private resiort rentals for wedding and speical events!! Rent out your own Bahamas resort for a week! All inclusive 5 night/6 day packages for 8 people stating at $13,500 including all wedding legal fees, ceremony, reception daily brunch and open bar!! Extra exclusive 2 bedroom romance bungalow with private beach, private chef and indescribable views (20 feet from the water!) Love is in the air at HHVR property and the new Blue Starfish Beach & Bungalow all inclusive resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halvorson House Villa Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halvorson House Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.