We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mission Trip 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halvorson House Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halvorson House Villa Resort
Save
You added Halvorson House Villa Resort to your Saves list
Bennett's Harbor | General Delivery, Cat Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mission Trip 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Loved what Matt & Sooner did to the place!!! Would go back and stay their again. Their hospitality is out of this world!!! The accomdations are in great shape and everything you need for a very relaxing vacation right on the beach with the ocean right at your finger tips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for the kind review! The beach is getting even better! We have done some awesome landscaping - moved some of the big pine trees, built some fun activities like a "Bahamas Balance Beam" (a 40 foot cassarina stretched from one tree to the next a few feet off the ground - the kids love it!) I can't wait until you all come next year. We miss you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First and most importantly, do you want to stay on Cat Island? This isn't Pleasure Island. It is a rustic, rough and beautiful island with almost no real conveniences or shopping of any kind. ALL the "resorts" on the island, like the island itself, are rustic. Halvorson House is no different. If that's cool with you, then you are going to love Halvorson house and, more importantly, you are going to love Cat Island. Some things that set Halvorson House apart. Matt and Soonner are great people. They will personally make sure you are happy with your stay, and that you get the most out of it. It sits on the most beautiful little beach in the world. It is isolated. The villas are very beautifully and uniquely decorated. The combination of those things make Halvorson a home run. If you are looking for a rustic, isolated tropical getaway don't even think twice. If you are looking for umbrella drinks amongst a herd of overly sunburned tourists, please don't come to Cat Island in the first place, it's just not for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I adore your review - it gave me a big smile, so full of truth. Your mission group was such a blessing not only to us but also to Cat Island. The bus your group so generously donated for the islands use is being housed here at the resort and we love seeing it each day; reminding us of the overwhelming generosity of Remote Island Ministries. Bless you and we can't wait until next year. God Willing! Say hello to civilization for us:) Love, The Halvorson's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you want to experience the real Bahamas, this is your place. This spot is perfect for a larger group. Owners Matt and Sooner are the best. You will not regret your time on Cat Island. Get ready for the authentic Bahamian experience. By the way - most incredible beach you will ever see... ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We were so very blessed to have you stay with us this year. Thank you for everything you did not only for us but for Cat Island. We can't wait for next year - God willing! All our best to your family from ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We are already making plans to go back to the amazing Halvorson House! I can’t even believe we found this place. It had just opened when we stayed there in March 2012; we were among the very first guests. The deal we got was too good to be true for a beachfront vacation in high season –but it WAS true! My husband, my then 9 year-old-son and I spent a wonderfully relaxing week there last March, in one of the “villas”—more like a comfy cottage--overlooking the prettiest beach – quiet, deserted, with the softest white sand, the bluest Caribbean sea, with the calmest surf and the gentlest breeze. . I’m a real beach snob (just ask my husband) and this one was just about PERFECT.
You can book a half or a whole villa. We took one entire villa, which consisted of two connecting halves—so we had two bedrooms, two full baths and two living rooms.. We had everything we needed— lots of space, nice beds and sheets, plenty of towels, a stocked fridge, screens, fans and even AC in both the bedrooms. The villas are clean, breezy and just make you want to relax and have a rum drink while you play reggae on your IPOD and watch the sun set from your villa porch.
Matt, Sooner and their chef, Tim, couldn’t have been nicer. They really make you feel at home; they were so much fun to hang out with. One night they built a bonfire on the beach for us , and another, they drove us to dinner at a local restaurant where the fish was delicious and a local band played “rake and scrape” --the music of Cat Island. Their two adorable daughters, Mattie and Stella (6 and 9) were great playmates for our son. Tim will cook you three meals a day –if you want—you just confer every morning at breakfast about your plans for the day—if you have any!
For people looking for a quiet, affordable beach vacation – Halvorson House is quite a find--the Bahamas' best kept secret. We all loved it! Shhhhh…don’t tell TOO many people!

Room Tip: All villas face the beach - no bad views! For the most privacy, book a whole villa rather than a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Please come back so soon! The girls miss you all terribly and we all miss the boys beautiful singing! Thank you so much for the lovely review and all of your kindness and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our stay at Halvorson House Villa Resort was absolutely perfect. Matt and Sooner went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were in town the same weekend as the Rake n' Scrape festival. We didn't rent a car in time for the weekend, but Matt and Sooner generously gave us rides and made sure we didn't miss any of the fun. Our room was gorgeous and meticulously clean. We spent hours reading and relaxing on the most amazing beach I've ever seen. We had the beach to ourselves our entire visit. We ate at a few different places on the island, but Tim's food was the absolute best. The Halvorson House Villa Resort is a unique place run by caring, special people who I hope to remain friends with and visit again very soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
What can we say? Having you here for Rake N' Scape was so fantastic. We had soooo much fun with you hanging at Grammy's, burning stuff on the beach and all of the wonderful, deep heartfelt conversations. We can't wait for your return - it will be just a memorable - promise:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Halverson House Villa Resort is a hidden gem on Cat Island. The location is truly breathtaking. Our bedroom window looked out onto one of the most pristine sandy beaches we had ever seen. The accommodation is clean and well appointed with all mod-cons (fridge, AC, hot water and even a microwave). Our nine month old was able to go for a swim in the sea and then cool off inside the room before getting too hot. Tim, the resort's chef, is talented. He blends local cuisine (e.g. cracked conch or grouper) with international (e.g. jerk chicken, cajun spice, pastas) to create great lunches and dinners on site. Finally, Matt and Sooner are charming hosts. They have created a relaxed family vibe and nothing is too much trouble for them. The only downside was that we should have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We loved having your family here with us! The girls miss you all. I haven't taken those scuba diving lessons yet but I know I will be able to get past my fears now since you told me how beautiful it is under the water on Cat! Can't wait for you to come back and hopefully I'll be able to take a day to the drop off with you - a girls day and a boys day! Thanks so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very basic accommodations that, with a lot of money, care and attention to detail, could become a little slice of heaven. The beach was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalvorsonHouse, Owner at Halvorson House Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do sincerely appreciate you sharing with us, and others, what we can do to improve our resort and we take your suggestions to heart. We would like to address a few of your concerns as your ratings and views of Halvorson House may concern potential guests. In "Value" Mrs....... rented a 2 bedroom (1 queen, 1 king), 2 bathroom, and grand living room private villa on the beach with 5 guests in their party for $125.00/night. We had charged them half price because we were aware that we would not be delivering a final product on the presentation of the villa. We opened in February (2 months prior) and have done all of the renovations to an inoperable reverse osmosis water system, 6 house and a 2-story main house that were all damaged by Hurricane Irene in September 2012. We aren’t a development or corporate entity. We are a husband and wife with 2 children and our close friend Tim (the super chef) and we undertook this as a dream of ours – to move to and restore a resort in the Bahamas and open a safe, peaceful, authentically Bahamian vacation destination. Since this reviewers visit in early April 2012 we have continued with renovations, decorating, and minor repairs that we believe have taken her recommendation to add care and attention to detail. We surely understand the reviewer’s observations and share her sentiment. In "cleanliness" we would truly appreciate further suggestions as to what we may do to provide a cleaner environment. We currently provide daily housekeeping, which includes making beds and replacing bed linens every 3 days. The bedding in this villa was brand new, just brought out of the packing and was bright white 1,500 thread count Egyptian cotton. We bleach soak and lauder all of our linens in a washing machine that completes the wash with a steam sanitizing cycle. We clean the bathrooms with a low chemical cleaning solution, and replace linens if the guest leaves them on the floor (we ask guests to hang bath towels etc. that they would be willing to use more than once in an effort to conserve on resources that are less accessible and affordable on a remote island). We do understand the concern that the cleanliness of the rooms is of utmost importance to guests and that we did not fulfill this guests expectations. Some obstacles that have presented themselves for our cleaning for the reference of potential future guests: Sand from the beach - it gets everywhere when you are staying at a beach house. We are from Colorado and at the time of their stay were starting to learn how to best manage sand in a house. We have been working with locals who are teaching us new (to us) and effective ways to remove sand from floors and bedding. Tropical bugs (such as mosquito, moths, ants, bees and sometimes cockroaches) as well as lizards and frogs are a constant on Cat Island. We do our best to manage their presence - we are aware that this may be of concern for guests who are not familiar with traveling to remote destinations and staying in a "local type" resort or hotel. We don't want to be misleading to future guests so we believe addressing this here gives us the opportunity to let others know there may be presence of bugs in and around the villas. We truly understand that if not expecting this it can be disappointing and we understand why a guest would not feel a level of cleanliness that should be expected at a vacation resort. "Service." As with cleanliness we would greatly welcome any suggestion you may have to help us improve our service. We strive to provide the best possible service to our guests, doing everything that we can to assist our guests with their needs. This was disheartening to see in your review. We are sad that we were unable to meet your expectations. For future potential guests we welcome and encourage you to let us know prior to making a decision where to stay to call or email us with any requests, needs, or concerns and allow us the opportunity to see if what we offer is a good fit for what you are seeking in your vacation. As we continue to invest in this "slice of heaven" and put the best we've got into it, we believe it will very soon be everything this reviewer imagines for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halvorson House Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halvorson House Villa Resort

Address: Bennett's Harbor | General Delivery, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are alot of changes coming to HHVR in 2014. We are slowly "leaking" information about the exciting changes including "all inclusive," kitchens in the bungalows and even a new name! Our property is 10 acres on 3 secluded beaches, one of which is Bennetts' Harbor - possibly one of the most beautiful white sand and calm water beaches in the Bahamas. Our 6 sea side bungalows are rustic, nothing fancy but beatuifully unique and spacious. As a 2013 and 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Award Wimmer we are humbled by the honor. We are excited to tell everyone about what is to come for this gem of a propoerty in April 2014 - hint: private resiort rentals for wedding and speical events!! Rent out your own Bahamas resort for a week! All inclusive 5 night/6 day packages for 8 people stating at $13,500 including all wedding legal fees, ceremony, reception daily brunch and open bar!! Extra exclusive 2 bedroom romance bungalow with private beach, private chef and indescribable views (20 feet from the water!) Love is in the air at HHVR property and the new Blue Starfish Beach & Bungalow all inclusive resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halvorson House Villa Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halvorson House Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.