We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shannas Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Save Saved
You added Shannas Cove Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Cat Island
Cheshire, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed late June into July this year and can sum up our experience with that single word, "Outstanding" in all areas.

Agree with all previous reviewers on all subjects from food, beach, drinks, Frank/Gabe, their staff, meeting other guests and the island. If you want to just really unwind and relax, this is it.

One mention I would make that I have not seen on previous reviews, if it is a clear evening take notice of the night sky, it was stunning.

We are returning.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, there are only 5!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just got back from one of the most unforgettable trips of a lifetime. Great food, extremely comfortable accommodations and two of the nicest hosts you will ever meet. But the best part has to be the beauty of it all, the beaches are beyond perfect, because 99.9% of the time, you are the only one on the beach...the clear warm water and deep blue/emerald colors of the water all along beautiful white sand is simply amazing. Thank you Frank and Gabby for a truly amazing 10 days, Connie and I can't wait until next year when we see you again...Shannas Cove will not disappoint you, unless you don't like peace and quiet, beautiful beaches, outstanding food and wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were at Shannas Cove at the beginning of March. This was our first time there. We loved the accommodations, the peacefulness of our surroundings and the quality of the food. It was definitely the best food we have had during our numerous trips to the Caribbean.

Only one negative point: due to their enormous popularity, it's a lot more difficult to get a reservation here. We only had 4 nights instead of the 7 we wanted, and when we tried to make a reservation for the same period next year, they were already booked...

Guess we'll be going to another out island next year...

A note to the introvert traveler: Shannas is very quiet during the day but dinner is served after hotel guests have had a few drinks at the bar, and the noise level at that time can become a bit loud. If you like to mingle, it's perfect. If you don't...

Room Tip: The largest and priciest bungalow, Dolphin, is in the middle of the configuration of five bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were at Shannas Cove in the middle of March. This was our second time there. Everything was excellent. We went with family and friends and everyone is still talking about Shannas cove. We rented a car for a couple days which Frank arranged for us. We drove around the island and stopped at most of the local watering holes. Everyone on the island is awesome. Of course we took a trip to Da Smoke Pot(a must every time). Frank and Gabi are amazing people!! All of the Food is unbelievable. Gabi knows what she is doing!!! We have been to quite a few places Riu, Sandals, ect. The food there doesn't even compare to what Gabi makes The beach is something you have to be on to believe it, rarely any other people, no vendors trying to sell you junk, no jet skis, Nothing but sand, water and an occasional crab. When we come back in February of 2015 we will try not to keep you up so late at night or should i say morning, time never matters when we are there. Frank, I still haven't found Alice, maybe next time!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, the Dolphin room is the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'm not sure there's anything more I can add to the other reviews-all true! Reviews, pictures and niceties can't do Shannas Cove justice. Just wanted to pinch myself each day as Shannas seems surreal with its beauty and peacefulness. Deserted beaches for miles! I've never seen more beautiful water. The food was out of this world and Frank and Gabi's desire to make sure everything about your stay is perfect is unsurpassed! Fun, fun times when we all headed out to Da' Smoke Pot and the Hotspot for Karaoke. Going with the other guests at the resort was just a ton of fun. Gabi drove our crew-I don't think I've laughed that hard in years. We rented a car (arranged through Frank) for a day, highly recommend. We headed to church, explored the Hermitage and the rest of the island. We're planning on returning next year to rent a house on Cat as we'll be bringing family. Can't wait to visit Frank and Gabi for meals at Shannas when we return! Thanks so much Frank and Gabi for our best vacation EVER!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dolphin, furthest from beach and with the least privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just returned from our vacation at Shanna’s Cove, and I have to say that we had the time of our lives! First, there is no need to worry about finding a taxi. Frank will pick you up from the airport and take you directly to the resort. Along the way, Frank will explain a little about the resort, and point out interesting aspects of the island. When you arrive at the resort, you are taken to your cottage, and either he or Gabi will explain the features of your room. We stayed in the Dolphin cottage, and we felt it was well appointed with a TV (never turned it on), a small coffee maker with a supply of freshly ground coffee; a mini-fridge stocked with soda, water, tonic water, Kalik Beer, and some juices - all items were reasonably priced. In the restroom was a small hair dryer, hand soap, body wash that doubles as shampoo, and fresh towels for both bathing and the beach.

If you read the previous reviews, you will find that the majority of them mention how great the food was. Each dinner consists of three courses; however, I won’t get into the meals because I will just repeat what others have said – the meals are amazing! Not only that, if you happen to order drinks from the bar, you will not be disappointed. Frank pours a mean drink! He does not skimp.

If you are adventurous, and you plan to hike to Man O’ War beach, you would do well to bring your hiking/tennis shoes – no sandals - the trail can be very rocky at times. The trail is a little over one mile long, and during the summer months can be hot. While we hiked the trail we could hear the crabs scurrying away from the trail, so be prepared for noises all around you. Once you make it to the end of the trail, you will not be disappointed! An amazingly beautiful and secluded beach that goes on for miles, and you are the only one on it. It is definitely worth the hike.

As the other reviewers have stated, Frank and Gabi may take you to Da Smoke Pot (it’s not mandatory if you don’t want to go), and I must say that the food was excellent – as well as the entertainment. Be prepared to participate on the saw – it was a lot of fun.

I know some of the previous reviews also mention that they were Gabi and Frank’s favorite guests. This is what is so great about Shannas Cove, Gabi and Frank make EVERYONE feel like they were the favored guests. We have already planned our next trip for June of next year, and we can hardly wait.

Misc. info: We stayed from 6/14-6/20. According to the temperature display on the bar, it was approximately 85°F with humidity of approximately 75%.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I travelled from Ireland and stayed in Shannas Cove from the 14th to 21st June 2014 on our honeymoon. Following on from the reviews below I would say that the stunning views, beautiful beaches and superb local home cooked food are a given and come as standard.
Don’t be fooled by Gabi and Franks German exterior, they are well able to have the ‘craic’ and they are genuinely two of the nicest hosts we have ever come across. It took us a while to adjust to Gabi’s sense of humour in particular, especially when she pointed out to us the local Police Station that had come under heavy machine-gun fire recently (Turns out it was just a dodgy plastering job!). It was playing on my mind for about 4 hrs. until Frank put me straight (Thanks Frank).
Frank and Gabi could not have been more helpful to us during our stay there and when I informed Gabi the day before we left that I sleep better on planes when I am ‘hungover’ they duly obliged and brought us out again to a local karaoke bar and I am glad to say that I did not fully recover for about three days after it! (Thanks again Frank and Gabi).
If ever Frank and Gabi decide to return to Ireland again on their holidays, Ciara and I would be only too happy to return the hospitality that we received (minus the food and accommodation of course, we will buy you both 1no. pint of Guinness, 2no. max.).
We would love dearly to visit Shannas Cove again especially since, after watching France hammer Switzerland 5-2 in the World Cup, Gabi announced that she would immediately purchase a set of Swiss Army steak knives at a knockdown price for use in the restaurant. I can’t wait to use one of these!
My only regret with our trip was that I was unable to hang around Shannas Cove long enough to see Germany get knocked out of the World Cup (At the time of writing they are still in it, but it’s only a matter of time). That surely will be a memorable night in Shannas Cove!
PS: Response to Janice’s review below: Sorry Darlin’, WE were their favourite guests!!

Paul & Ciara

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shannas Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.