We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you cringe at the thought of spending time at a beach resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pigeon Cay Beach Club to your Saves list
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arhurs Town, Cat Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“if you cringe at the thought of spending time at a beach resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

then this is the place for you - it is a non-resort resort at a truly unique and remote destination - such as you would not think to find so close to the US mainland.
Only 25 min from Nassau - but you might as well be at the south pacific. There are very few people here - the beaches are wild and incredibly beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broussard, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from an amazing Cat Island Vacation with Leslie and Ned at the Pigeon Cay Beach Club. The first thing I have to say is that the pictures you will find of this place do not capture how great this place is. Each room is an individual hut with it's own style, and includes everything you need for a great trip. It's about as laid back as it gets with an honor bar on the beach, unbelievable meals when you are up for it, and two hosts who have been on the island for 18 years and couldn't be more informed, helpful, and totally laid back. You can be as connected or disconnected as you wish (we just told everyone at home we had no phone or internet, but it's all there if you need it). If you do want to socialize, the other guests will probably be more like you than not, and we met some great people. It has all the beach toys you would need, with plenty of lounge chairs on the beach as well. It's on a beautiful stretch of beach in a great location on the island, with easy access to the North and South.

We checked out most of the other resorts and we do believe that we picked the right spot.

Please do your homework on Cat Island as a destination. This isn't Nassau (Thank God), and your entertainment is provided by adventure and not much more, this is a place to truly relax, slow down a little and reconnect with yourself or a spouse. However, the locals are super friendly, the grocery stores are well-stocked with everything you need, and we found nothing missing. It was our first outing to an island like this (Late 30's couple), and we were a little nervous, but we didn't regret it for a minute. (I will never look at a crowded beach in the same way)

You can't go wrong with Pigeon Cay Beach club.

Room Tip: They are all right on the beach and very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is the second time we've been to the Pigeon Cay area and there is a reason we keep coming back. The beach and water are amazing and so very very quiet - truly the most spectacular beach we have ever been too. At times, there may only be one or two people on the beach, and even then it's still like you are the only one around.

Accommodation is warm and inviting - perfect for rest and relaxation. Ned and Leslie are great hosts and give you the freedom and privacy you need to escape it all. If you ever need anything, they are close at hand to help you out.

If you are looking for a party and action, this is not the place. Pigeon Cay is for the independent traveller who is looking to escape it all. It's all about peace, quiet, tranquility and one of the most fabulous beach areas on the planet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

No, its Pigeon Cay Beach Club. This is an incredible place to unwind and relax. We only had 4 nights, it may as well have been two weeks. Time stops here. The beach is two miles long! and deserted. Another guest and I hit golf balls up and down the beach for hours stopping along the way at the well stocked tiki bar for ice cold drinks. Our bungalow was very clean, spacious, private, and with a comfortable bed, with the beach just outside the door. The tiki bar and dinning area are beach side and have the feel of sitting right on the water. Leslie and Ned are accommodating and gracious host, providing personal, family style service that wont leave you wanting. The staff is never seen, yet the place is immaculate. I love food. We loved the food here. The beach and water are post card beautiful, with sunrises and sunsets that will leave you slack jawed. I' ve been fortunate to travel the world and have returned to many a beautiful place. I can honestly say we'll be back to Pigeon Cay BC. Oh, and did I mention its an incredible value!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

For most of my career I traveled, and I had more than my share of staying at resorts all over this planet. I was a bit apprehensive about actually staying at one for pleasure, but I had waited too long to find a beach rental and from the internet view this looked good. Oh, it is so much better than I had imagined!

We spent 8 days in this paradise at the Winston Cottage. There are just a few, 7, I think cottages here, so privacy is guaranteed. Each has private steps to the beach just below. The cottage was wonderful. Amazing architecture. I am still trying to figure out how it was built, but I hear that it nicely withstood 180 mph/ 290 kph winds from Hurricane Irene in 2011. The tile work, the artifacts, and furnishings were all unique and not at all kitschy in any way. The bed was great. I loved the shower. Screens worked as they should to keep the bugs out.

The beach was perfect. We are not snorkelers, so we appreciated the lack of reefs and enjoyed the soft sand bottom. We did see schools of jack fish and their predators on a couple of occasions. We were there before, during, and after the full moon so we got to see the gin clear water both dead calm and with a surf. The beach, like the grounds is spotless from the efforts of the grounds crew here. The sand on the beach is a little softer than baby powder.

Our hosts have obviously been here for a long time, 18 years to be exact, long enough to be as laid back on island time as humanly possible, yet still savvy enough to make sure that the important things work like clockwork.

We had the opportunity to meet some very nice, unusual people outside of our normal circle of friends at the honor bar and for dinner. They only serve dinner on days when new arrivals come. Their cook is really good and some fine meals were served. Ned and Leslie somehow manage to create a pleasant camaraderie among their guests while still allowing for privacy. One night they ran out of rum so I brought a bottle from our room. Another night I brought a pitcher of "sky juice." There is a real "no problem" atmosphere about this place and there never was a problem.

The bar/dining area is a central meeting place at Pigeon Cay. Not only did we find refreshments, but also a serviceable wi-fi connection for email, bug repellent (bugs seems to get everyone but me), sunscreen (absolutely necessary) and pleasant conversations.

My wife and I love exploring and rented a "jeep" for our entire stay. We enjoyed many local restaurants all over the island and had easy access to some very nicely stocked stores. Our hosts do let guests borrow their car to get to the stores for groceries and supplies if one doesn't rent a vehicle, but I would recommend renting one. Again, Leslie will take care of that for you.

Animal lovers will enjoy their two potcakes, Daisy and Hopper. Their cats, delight in catching lizards and snakes in the bush. We did not see any of the snakes, but we did see many lizards without tails.

There is no television, no radio unless Ned brings his Sirius/XM antenna to the bar, email only, no bartender (except me, or the next eccentric who takes the role,) no noise, no crowds, no problems, no volleyball, and no limbo on the beach. If the prospect of that on a beautiful beach with lovely hosts and cottages entices you, then this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, RI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Well, almost. Cat Island is one of the Bahamas' out islands, but only a 20 minute flight from Nassau. Just about anywhere you go on Cat Island you can feel like your at one the earth's remote spots. As soon as your arrive and are situated, preferably here at the Ned and Leslie's place, time slo-o-o-w-w-ws right down. You come here to get away, to relax, to think, to gaze, to romance. Want night life? Not here. Want a uniformed waiter bringing you a drink at the pool? Not here. Want luxury? Not here. Want resort bells and whistles? Not here. The cottages are perfect (we stayed in the Little House, pictured above). Rustic, comfortable, quirky, and clean. Maybe the drain in a sink won't close, but, hey, you're in the Bahamas, mon. Got a kitchenette too, which is mighty handy. Beach is great, great great, water terrific. Sorry, no bartender. You're it, so help yourself at the honor bar and record your usage or BYOB. Food is tricky. Ned and Leslie will prepare for you, even bring your meals to your cottage. They're excellent cooks, and do very well with the limited selection and availability of supplies on the island, but relying on them for your meals can get pricey if your on a budget. (Tip: Ned makes a great omelet). A good thing to do is to bring a cooler of food and a few staples with you (instant coffee from Starbucks....very important) and/or have the driver stop at grocery on your trip from the airport. Not much of a selection, but it'll do. Takeout available at Yardee's in nearby Bennett Harbor, good and generous. A great conch salad. There's wi-fi, so you're connected. Take a bike, turn left, and pedal laboriously (4 miles) thru sandy and rocky road to the end, walk over the bombed out road, to a couple of the most glorious, remote beaches you've ever been on. Ned and Leslie maybe a bit eccentric, but they are lovely, lovely people. They're there when you need them, and leave you be when you don't. We were in paradise here, and we'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Pigeon Cay was fabulously quiet, very well served by modern conveniences in each cottage, and generously hosted by Leslie and Ned, the owners. It is the ideal place to stay, away from busy "battleship" style resorts on some other islands. The beach is magical, with very fine white sand. The water is shallow, turquoise and warm. Cat Island is fascinating and largely un-touristy and undeveloped. This place is low-stress, beautiful and wild, but with all useful comforts and a nice intimacy with owners and guests (who are few, it's a small resort!).

Room Tip: Any cottage will be delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pigeon Cay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Address: Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arhurs Town, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Cay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pigeon Cay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Hotel Cat Island
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Cay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.