We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Disconnect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernandez Bay Village

Save Saved
You added Fernandez Bay Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cat Island
Boulder, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Disconnect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was lucky enough to go to this family run hotel with my own family. It is a little slice of heaven. The staff is incredibly friendly and people are there to help you if you need it, otherwise, you are left alone to enjoy paradise. The food is delicious. I am a relatively picky eater and found ways to accommodate. There is a great morning and evening buffet and a menu for lunch.

We did some day excursions: we rode bikes to a vantage point. It was an easy ride, but bring water, it is easy to get dehydrated. We also kayaked to the "blue hole". I think the kayak there was as beautiful as the hole (not a ton to see in the hole, but really pretty, and there is large contrast between water temperatures). The owners of the hotel packed us a lunch in coolers. It was awesome. The kayak up was the bluest water I have seen in years and it was great to just float with a nice breeze in a pristine environment.

The resort has kayaks you can take out (included in your price), and you can reasonably hire a boat to do some beautiful snorkeling. The owners are a wealth of knowledge and will do anything and everything to accommodate. We celebrated two birthdays while we were there and they made it very special - even baked us a yummy cake.

They have Wi-Fi in the main lounging area for iPads and cel phones (although phone plans for the Bahamas are expensive). This is truly a place to disconnect and enjoy the people around you. Bring lots of sunscreen!

The rooms are incredible! They offer privacy and each room has an outdoor shower. At night you can see the frogs hopping around! The rooms are air conditioned and have small refrigerators and sinks. There is daily maid service to clean and make the beds. Truly first class in presentation.

GO, Relax! You'll have a great time.

PS
1. We went in June, only one day with some overcast, and that was still great.

2. The Bahamian airport "misplaced" our luggage and put it on a different carousel than stated (we've heard this is NOT uncommon). We missed our connecting puddle jumper and missed the first day on Cat Island. I recommend leaving a few hours between your flight from the mainland and the puddle jumper.

3. At the time we went, the owners of the resort told us about a special offer where the Bahamian government was offering of the puddle jumper ticket when you booked in at the resort. Ask about this when you book your hotel. We got our money back on that plane ticket at the end of our stay. How cool is that?!

Room Tip: They were all great!!! We had eight people in our party in different rooms. At the time we went, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    23
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
89
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have been going to FBV for many years and absolutely love it. I almost don't want to mention this special jewel to anyone because if it becomes to discovered, we will have to find another place! The resort is "rustic elegant." The rooms are super clean and very comfortable. The staff is "family," truly. They open their arms and make you feel welcome. The food is plentiful, varied and well presented. We never leave the property except to see our favorite local landsites. No need to go out for meals anywhere else. The tiki bar is so much fun and we really love FBV for the like-minded, well-traveled people we meet. I really love it here. When you land at the airport, it is a 2 minute ride to the resort. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Royal Palm is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is, by far, the best of the Bahamas-- not luxury resorts stealing the show, but an enhancement of the natural beauty and rhythm and friendliness that is unique to the Bahamas. There were other guests at the Bay, but Jason, Tameron, Tony, and Pam made us feel like we were the only people on the island. Honor system at the bar, all-you-can-eat buffets, and endless snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboarding, and sunbathing. If we get a chance to go back to the Bahamas, we will go back to Fernandez Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our second trip to Cat Island and Fernandez Bay Village. I just booked for our third visit. I can't imagine vacationing anywhere else now that we've found this place. FBV and the people of Cat Island treat us like family. The resort is beautiful, the people that work there are amazing, and it's easier to get to than you might think. All you need to do is relax and let them take care of you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west creek,nj
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon, most perfect place. I am at a loss for words for how great this place is. Beautiful beach, the best food you'll ever eat! and the friendliest of people. I can't wait to go back!
If you have a free day rent a car and go explore the island,its a lot of fun just to drive around and see everything. Make sure you get over to the hermitage it is a really beautiful site. After that we went to shannas cove for pizza at the north end, and the we just drove around. The locals are nice, make sure you wave to everybody.
FBV was the best thing going, you could just sit back relax, go snorkeling, climb to the jumping rocks,kayak, they really have a lot to offer. If your looking for something to do go ask the front desk they have plenty of ideas to peak your interest.
Thank you FBV you guys were the best and so welcoming! We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Shane's Shack <3 wake up and the first thing you see is the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've been to Cat several times as it has some of the best beaches in the world (no exaggeration) and we've stayed at various locations.
FBV is just minutes away from New Bight airport and FBV will pick you up so it's very convenient.
There's a reason why generations of families keep coming back to FBV.
If you want to stay on Fernandez Bay this is the place to do so. Don't be fooled by other hotels on the same beach. FBV is CLEAN -- clean sheets, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, clean Tiki bar -- everything is very well maintained and beautiful. If you book here, you will not be disappointed! Rest assured that you get exactly what you see on the photos - no bad surprises - it's wonderful!! Love the outdoor showers!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

FBV is one of the most friendly, relaxing and beautiful places we have experience (and we travel a lot!)

We have already booked for next year and we are so looking forward to be back and maybe organize a special event in the future!

Thank you again for making our vacation special!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cat Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernandez Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.