We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you write about the perfect vacation?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andros Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andros Beach Club
Private Beach | Kemp's Bay, 3691454, Andros   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty lodging in Andros
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How do you write about the perfect vacation?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

As a long time traveler and a partaker of some fantastic vacations in my sixty-six years, I believe that I know a great one when I experience it...and that is what the Andros Beach Club and Andros gave us. From the cab ride from the airport with Mrs. Lloyd, at the wheel, demanding that I memorize every town or was it county that we drove through on our way to Kemp Bay, to our arrival at the club where we met our perfect hosts Jesse, Chelsea, and their baby, Porter and the un-forgetable Duke (their dog) who became our caretaker, protector, and guide throughout our all too short stay... this was to be the best 3 days in our new definition of paradise. I understand that what is great for some is not so great for others. This was great for the six of us! Un-pretentious, most comfortable, super clean, beautiful and pristine beaches, underwater discoveries, and the perfect getaway for folks like us who are well traveled and experienced in the art of "vacation" in that it allowed us and encouraged us to do exactly what we wanted, when we wanted to enjoy ourselves. Not one of us ever felt any pressure to be more active (or less active) or more involved (or less involved) in any one activity or another. We dedicated our time to relaxation with a capitol "R". I would recommend Andros Beach Club to those who love diving, snorkeling, swimming, fishing, sleeping, eating, breathing, and drinking... on your own time, at your own pace, and in one of the most beautiful beach front settings in the world! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
31
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I'm not even a "beach person," so coming here would seem counterintuitive, but making the trip with some beloved friends and just hanging, chilling, cooking, reading and a little exploring was a perfect getaway. Jesse and Chelsea are gracious, good-natured and accommodating hosts, and the fresh fish every day was a real culinary bonus. Their black Lab Duke is the self-appointed guardian of guests. You just feel safe and protected here. Recommendations: Bring your own, ground coffee. Stop at the liquor and grocery store on your way from the airport and stock up. If you don't have a car, getting supplies is a challenge. Though it's a rustic island, the Andros Beach Club is comfortable and has all the amenities anyone could need, including at least sporadic wifi.

Room Tip: There are only two, plus two single beds on the porch. All are fine. One has a hammock option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A few weeks back my girlfriend and I were visiting the island and had heard ahead of time that Jesse was a licensed scuba instructor. We had looked into getting certified at home in Ontario but the cost was fairly substantial and your training was all done in an indoor pool. When we were told the cost of getting certified with Jesse and that all training was done in the ocean we were sold instantly.
We did two dives on our first day after some training in shallow water, and to say the least it was incredible. We saw a tonne of every fish imaginable, coral, lobster, moray eels, and the opening to a blue hole. Jesse was great in making sure that the both of us were completely comfortable at all times of the dive and explained everything to us great.

Later in the week we got the chance to dive an inland blue hole as well which was something out of this world. I never would have imagined what was below the surface of these had we not gotten this opportunity. With the top 30 feet being freshwater and the below that the ocean salt-water, the 10 or so feet where the water mixes results in a pretty cool descent.

Had we not already have had our lodging planned out as we were visiting relatives staying on the island we both agreed as well that we would have definelty looked to stay at the beach club. The place is beautiful and sits on an incredible stretch of beach which we never saw another person on the whole time we were there.

All-in-all we had an incredible introduction into the world of scuba diving and could not have asked for a better location or instructor to have done this with. We both look forward to being able to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

What about this trip was excellent? Certainly the diving. Jesse Leopold, the owner, is also the dive master and, in our case, dive instructor. My son and I were able to go through our six dives to obtain our Advanced Open Water certificate. We had an excellent patient teacher, who was also a consummate dive master; everything was always well prepared and ready to go. He was the third dive buddy who knew where to go to find the most interesting sites underwater. On the ocean side, The Labyrinth was the best. It was a path under arches of coral that I suspect was about 80-100 yards long, as well as a couple of shorter ones. On the island, the greatest was the Eldorado Blue Hole. Absolutely exceptional. You jump into a freshwater pond, and head down. At about 60', you go through a halocline which separates the cool fresh water from the warmer sea water. Below this you move into the cave which was not confining at all. It soared above and swept below. You could hover near the stalactites and stone flow shine your flashlights on formations that at times had the look of a bearded face. As we moved back up,, we could see transparent fish and a wispy cloudlike boundary that looked like a miniature view of cirrus clouds at 38,000 feet.
What else was excellent? The food! We loved Maggie's dinners of local seafood (conch, lobster, hogfish, grouper, snapper, etc...) cooked in a variety of island styles. Cerviche, fritters, and the modestly named boiled fish. Boiled fish has a tomato and peppers sauce with just a wonderful flavor. Chelsea (Jesse's wife) made breakfasts to order and heavenly baked goods for dinner desserts. As we were diving lunches were necessarily light.
We appreciated the all-inclusive nature, especially as we were off-season. The taxi with Ms. Lloyd was waiting for us, with an island hospitality that came through with everyone we met.
Finally, I know we were off-season, so I suspect this is not typical of high-season, but it was so peaceful. The beach has a clear view 3/4 mile south to the jetty and about 2 miles north to a little point-let on the coast. In the 5 1/2 days we were there, we saw the next door neighbors walking their dog on the crushed coral beach (sugarlike sand), and one day while motoring back from our dive, we saw 5 kids about a mile up the beach. That was it.
Next time, it won't just be my son and diving, but my wife and daughter, too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Was looking for a quiet, peaceful spot to spend Christmas with my husband and three children. Andros Beach Club was exactly what we where looking for! Only saw six people the entire week on the beach, when people say you have the beach to yourself, they mean it. It truly was the most relaxing spot I have ever been to. Jesse was very helpful with advice for our trip and everything was perfect, from dinner the 1st night cooked by Maggie to suggesting spots all over the island to snorkel. My daughter was looking to dive but since that never happened we will be back. The house was perfect for our family and we enjoyed having it all to ourselves. I will say, however, that the amount of trash at the high tide line was sad to see. We did our best and collected and bagged endless amounts which a neighbor carted away. By the end of the week a huge stretch was trash free. I would say please keep this small piece of paradise litter free if possible.The one thing Jesse didn't know was if the spot would be any good for my son to kite board. We are happy to say it was perfect. For anyone who is a beginner/intermediate kite boarder this is the perfect spot. The wind was amazing each day with flat shallow water.
We are looking forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was by far one of my most favorite vacations ever. Jesse was out of town during our trip, but he left the property in the very capable hands of Liz. She was extremely accomidating, fun to hang out with and gave us enough personal space. She introduced us to some of her friends from the island who were some of the nicest most sincere people i've ever met. The property itself is perfect. it has a couple hammocks, long private beach, two awesome dogs, bikes, grocery stores close by. Liz took us snorkeling with local favorite Roggie and we got to catch our own conch & lobsters, discovered a field of giant starfish, swam with sting rays and a nurse shark and saw the most beautiful coral ever. I would highly recommend staying here and going snorkeling with Roggie. I would love to come back. Thanks Liz and Freeman and Jesse for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: rent the whole house and go with a group of quiet friends. sit outside and watch the star show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I went for a couple of days to get away from the kids and stick out head under water a couple of times.
Diving the Blue Holes was quiet an experience and having had Jesse as a dive guide made it easy and fun.
Staying at the house was very peaceful and relaxing. thank you Chelsea and Jesse - we'll be there again.
[----]

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andros Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andros Beach Club

Address: Private Beach | Kemp's Bay, 3691454, Andros
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty lodging in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private oceanfront property on 4 miles of pristine white sand beach. Enjoy the spectacular ocean view from your king size bed. Bicycles, kayaks, sailboat, snorkeling gear and more included with your room. Excellent swimming right off the beach and snorkeling nearby. We offer scuba diving, fishing, snorkeling, nature tours and more. Enjoy fine dining with our all-inclusive service or try local restaurants and prepare your own meals with our vacation rental option. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andros Beach Club Hotel Andros
Andros Beach Club Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andros Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Andros Beach Club to your Saves list