We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing, Romantic Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiamo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tiamo Resort to your Saves list
Tiamo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Tiamo Beach | South Andros Islan, 33309, Andros   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Amazing, Romantic Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon at Tiamo. We were looking for a quiet place that was secluded and isolated where we could kick back on the beach and do very, very little. We got all that and then some.

Location:
The location on Andros is really unique. Andros is one of the largest islands in the Bahamas but also one of the least populated. Getting to Tiamo sounds painful. From New York, you fly into Nassau, then take a 15 min ride on a puddle jumper to one of two airports on Andros, then take a 10 minute cab to the doc, and then Tiamo picks you up at the doc for a 10 minute ferry to the resort. If you add the total travel time up though, it is pretty short (our 3 hour layover in the less than wonderful Nassau airport would have been nice to avoid though). But there is a reason you have to jump through these hoops to get to Tiamo. The resort is totally isolated, and with no roads going to the resort, boat is the only way to get there.

The other amazing thing about the location is the nature around you. Not only do you see a ton of wild life (lizards, fish, sharks, sting rays), but you also get the sense that that wild life really is wild. You are coming across animals that have likely never interacted with people. I had never felt that way about a hotel.

Amenities:
We originally booked a "Cool Villa" (although I think this is the new name, as we were told upon booking that these did not have A/C, but that it would be added later this year). Because it was the off season, only 3 of the 10 main villas were occupied when we got there, and thus they were nice enough to upgrade us to a "Pool Villa." The Villa was perfect, and given the humidity outside, we were really grateful for the A/C upgrade! Our villa was exactly what we needed: small living area with a large, comfy king bed (do you really need that much indoor space here???), an awesome deck with our own private pool, a nice bathroom with a quasi-open air shower (there are walls, but the walls of the shower are open at the top), and relative seclusion. Although you can see the parts of the 2 villas on either side of you, there is enough forest between you that you do feel very secluded.

The beach itself is wonderful and extends as far as the eye can see in either direction, and it is totally private. Because of the geography of the island, the water is very shallow in what is called the "bite" between South Andros and Mangrove Kay, which is what the beach faces. This is a plus and a minus. It means that the wildlife, including anemoneas, rocks, coral and urchins, extend pretty close to the waters edge. So swimming can be challenging.

The dining area/bar is mostly outdoors (wonderful), and it surrounds a bigger outdoor pool. Everything is simply and tastefully done and meant to accentuate the beautiful setting around you. There is also a small gym and a room with a TV. We didn't use either, and were happy not to.

Wifi extends around the entire property. It is strong enough to get emails on an iPhone, but don't expect too much more out of it. Again, you are on vacation. Do you really need fast upload speeds?

Service:
Here is where Tiamo really shines. This is a tiny resort where every staff member will introduce you by name, and tell you theirs as well. Numerous times, a staff member went out of their way to make our stay a little more special. If something is not perfect, there will be multiple staff members there to make it so. One night we were upgraded on a bottle of wine, without telling us, at no extra charge. Another night, we were given a side of lion fish that had been caught that day by staff (a delicacy that also happens to be a destructive pest around the Bahamas). Another night, we were serenaded at dinner by a staff member with an amazing voice. Kudos to the management for not only hiring people with a service mentality, but also for letting them express their personalities and interact with guests the way they do.

Food:
Here is the one place where I will leave some minor negative feedback. The food, soft drinks and juice are all included in the cost of the room. To me, when I see that, I lower my expectations a bit. However, when we got there, the food was fantastic. Chef Keith not only seems to be a really talented and creative chef, but he is also a local and when we met him one evening, I overheard him talking to another table about something they were asking for that he knew he could get from a friend's bakery on Nassau. We later learned that he gets a lot of the fish from guys he know who catch them live near the resort. For the first 2 nights, the food massively exceeded our expectations.

However, after that, Chef Keith took a short vacation. When he left, we noticed a decline in the creativity and quality of the cooking. It went from massively exceeding expectations to just being good. There were some inconsistencies in simple things like the doneness of eggs and pasta, and some of the other dishes were overcooked.

Activities:
Other reviews will probably have more to say on this subject than we did, because as I said, we didn't do much. What we did do was awesome though. We took a short snorkel trip in the afternoon, and the guides that took us out were really friendly and knowledgeable and great at spotting things (sharks, barracudas, sting rays, even a 6 foot eagle ray on one trip!). On shore, my wife and I went kayaking and paddle boarding a bunch. The scenery made those short kayak and paddle boarding trips amazing.

All in, we had an amazing time. We like to experience different places when we travel, but Tiamo was so wonderful and unique that we will be coming back the next time we need some relaxation. This is a truly special place, and it was exactly what we were hoping to get from our honeymoon!

Room Tip: The air conditioned rooms are worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General Manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello rj10000!
Thanks so much for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here! We're so happy to hear that you loved your stay and particularly the staff and Tiamo service, your villa, and the food! Thank you for choosing Tiamo resort and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    15
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent six nights in May 2014 and loved every minute of it. It was our anniversary and we both needed to escape from the world of traffic jams and people in a hurry . We wanted to walk along the beach and see nothing except the beauty of the blue waters.

The staff was first rate and the accommodations superb. Every meal was a new adventure and the food was exceptional.

If you are looking for a place to escape and rejuvenate while surrounded by nature at its best and fine dining, Tiamo is a short plane ride away......

Room Tip: Pool villa with air conditioning and plunge pool. We stayed in unit #2 which was private and seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear dutchman1,
Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay at Tiamo resort.
We are delighted to read that you had a fantactic stay with usand you enjoyed your villa and the food.
We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Tiamo Resort for a long weekend in April with our daughter.
The property is beautiful, the staff warm and welcoming and Julien and Vincent perfect hosts.
The Pool Villa is nicely furnished, bed is very comfortable and mosquito nets are around the perimeter to protect from annoying insects.
The food was very well prepared and eating around the pool at night was an emotional experience.... not to mention the colors of the sky at sunset.
We had the time to try most activities : paddle board, kayaks, sailing boat and snorkeling at a blue hole, etc etc. It all added up to make it a wonderful stay.
Only negative point was the continuos presence of mosquitos and horseflies : insect repellant sprays are given complimentary in the room, but the insect don't always seem to be bothered by them.

Room Tip: no need for shoes.... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Andrea 690...
Hello and thank you for sharing you experience we really appreciate it. It’s fabulous to hear that you were blown away and that you found the grounds lovely, service amazing and food wonderful! Thank you for choosing Tiamo resort and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Tiamo without doubt may be the most beautiful property on Andros but...
If you are coming to Andros purely to fish I would recommend Mangrove Cay Club where we stayed before coming to Tiamo for a few days. If your agenda is a little fishing and a little beaching then Tiamo may be a better option. We thought the accommodations were top notch, I don't understand why some reviewers mention an open air walk to the bathroom...crazy, there is all the privacy you could ever want. The pool outside the room is really nice, good ambience and good fun after a day wading the flats. Yes, the bonefishing wading the flats in front of the lodge was fantastic. My wife and I hiked miles of flats and even found a blue hole we heard about and found after searching on a long hike (had to dive in when we found it!). We were perplexed by some of the small things however such as the old/dirty cushions in the common area of the property...the daily rack rate is such that everything should be in top notch condition. I have to also report that the place was a little up tight. At least for my wife and I we like to yuk it up with the locals when we stay at a place so we can learn about the place. The ownership here kept too tight control of their staff to the point where it was a little bit uncomfortable. The vibe at night didn't fit a high end (fishing) lodge in the Carribean. You can do both high end and a tad Jimmy Buffet...loosen up a little and go see Liz over at Mangrove Cay for some lessons on creating a warm, friendly and inviting atmosphere. The ethos of Tiamo is more European than American if you will. I wanted to jump in the main pool at night during dinner to liven the place up but didn't only because it probable would have made things hard for the local staff who we became friendly with. Would I go back?... Maybe? Would I go back if all I wanted to do was fish..no.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with the luxury accommodations and environments they know and expect from Tiamo resort and regret that this was not your experience. We serve many types of travelers including anglers, honeymooners and families and we want to ensure a superior level of service is provided in all areas of our hotel. We hope we can invite you back to demonstrate our true hospitality and offer you the personalized experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 6 day vacation at Tiamo. It was a surprise anniversary/birthday trip and my wife was completely unaware of where we were going to end up. I could not have found a more wonderful destination. The water was unbelievable, the accommodations were top notch, the service was incredible and the food was excellent. I knew from the photos and reviews that it would be great, but everything exceeded my expectations. I loved every bit of it.
The place is secluded and so quiet at night. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Pool Villa is a must. I didn't think we would use it a lot, but we were in it every night f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General Manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Chab B,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at Tiamo resort!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you, we are known for ‘good reason’.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated our staff service, the food and your villa .
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went for 6 nights early April, only great things to say about the resort:
- great location
- amazing staff
- excellent food
- full range of water activities
- nice wine list
- clean
- very quiet
We would recommend & come back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi PeggyVdP - we’re so happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and thank you for sharing your experience here! We're thrilled to know that you particularly enjoyed our Tiamo service and the delicious food, our wine selection and activities. Thank you again for choosing Tiamo resort and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My Son and I took a weeklong trip to Tiamo last month over his spring break. We found the resort to be wonderful in many ways. From the initial introduction, to the meals, activities, and beautiful beach, it exceeded our expectations in many ways. This was a very memorable, Father/Son trip for us and we enjoyed bonefishing with a guide for 4 of the days we stayed. The housekeeping services were impeccable, including a turn down service at night. The kitchen staff did everything to make us feel comfortable. I really enjoyed to small size of the resort too. We'd love to come back and visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello Kris A - thanks so much for the lovely review. We're so pleased that you had such a great stay with your son. We're very happy to know that you particularly enjoyed your villa with our nice housekepping service, the food and your fishing days. We also appreciate your input on dining variety - we're always striving to do more!
Looking so forward to having you back with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tiamo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiamo Resort

Address: Tiamo Beach | South Andros Islan, 33309, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Andros
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiamo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No so long ago, the Bahamas were a destination for privateers, pirates and freebooters. The name Bahamas come from the Spanish expression, Baja Mar, which means low sea and if you have ever flown in a plane over Andros, where our lovely resort is located, you will understand why the name was given. Apart from the beautiful beaches, the ocean and the nature Bahamas still surprise each visitor, did you know that Alexander Selkirki, the real Robinson Crusoe, actually was in the Bahamas and survived on of our 700 islands till he was rescued 5 years later? Came On the island of South Andros Island, a small corner of paradise in the middle of the Caribbean, in the heart of lush tropical vegetation Imagine you are Robinson Crusoe...............a Luxury Adventure at Tiamo Resort Tiamo resort consists of ten exclusives houses. Staying at Tiamo means being close to the nature and adopting to the easy way of living in uncompromised exclusive house. . The hotel blends into the décor of white sand and turquoise crystal clear water and the desire to respect the environment and ecotourism is felt. These villas are built in a style Bahamian, they retain all the spirit of the Bahamas and environmentally friendly, you can even contemplate many animals who take refuge in the heart of the property. The villas are hidden in the Mangroves which stretches along our natural beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tiamo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiamo Hotel Andros
Tiamo Resort Andros, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiamo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.