We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in a hidden paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Inn, Andros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seascape Inn, Andros
Save
You added Seascape Inn, Andros to your Saves list
Mangrove Cay, Andros   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Andros B&B and Inns
Morgantown, WV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxation in a hidden paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose this place based on the reviews of TripAdvisor along with the seclusion it provided and we were not disappointed. We have stayed at the big box resorts and were looking for something a bit more quiet and secluded. The Seascape Inn fits the quiet peacefulness one likes from a vacation. After our stay, we were not looking for a 'vacation' from our vacation when we arrived back in the States. Our stay was for five nights over the 2013 Memorial Day Weekend. A summary of items is provided below:

Food: Breakfast, lunch and dinner can all be eaten on location. The continental breakfast is included with the price. There is plenty of food provided at the continental breakfast that features fresh baked breads, muffins, pastries, fruit and beverage. I'm a big guy at 6'3" and the portions were enough that we never ate lunch, except once. Dinner was fabulous every evening and good sized portions. Definitely suggest the ribs, pork, chicken and salads. All was fabulous as Mickey and Joan are great in the kitchen. All food is fresh and made from scratch, even the bbq sauce. General prices for the meals are listed on the website and are very reasonable and inline with what they have posted.

Outside Eating: We did eat a very late lunch at the recommended Four Kids Bakery that was absolutely delicious and filling. The meal resulted in a light dinner (huge Chicken Salad) prepared by Joan and Mickey. There are other small eateries which Joan and Mickey will help you locate, make phone calls to see what they are serving, etc... Definitely suggest asking for recommendations.

Beverages: Wide selection of foreign and domestic alcohol (including mix drinks) and non-alcohol are provided.

Equipment: We utilized the kayaks and the bikes. All equipment is in good working condition and Mickey takes pride in taking care of his equipment. Bring your own snorkel gear as it cannot be rented anywhere on the island.

Locals: All friendly and willing to help. One day we were walking along the main road (basically one road on the island) and were offered a ride back to Seascape Inn. The locals are happy that you are visiting the island and it shows. The entire island can easily be biked and would suggest exploring in such manner.

Nightlife: Every night we ate dinner, hung-out in the bar and shared stories with Mickey and Joan well after sunset. It was great, quiet (outside of laughing) and relaxing.

Rooms: clean and well kept. All rooms have an ocean view and are located about 150 yards from the water. No AC which didn't matter as we were grabbing the extra blanket on the first night. No TV which doesn't matter as we were so tired from the day's activities that we did some light reading before turning off the lights. We stayed in the room with the extra sitting area and liked it. It provides a nice separate area for relaxing and storing any gear to keep it away from the beds. Very nice when stuff gets sandy and wet. They also provide a clothesline and each cabin has an outside water spigot with hose for washing and cleaning prior to entering the room. A small deck with sitting chairs provides great views of the ocean for each cabin. The rooms are throughly cleaned every day with a nice touch of fresh flowers being provided. Two beach towels are also provided. We used our own beach towels along with the ones provided.

Blue Holes: There are five nearby blue holes. 3 can be reached by foot in low tide (kayak in high tide) while the other 2 can be reached via kayak. Mickey draws a very accurate map of the locations. We easily found the first three in both high and low tide. We attempted to fine the other 2 but it was during high tide and the water level (6') was starting to get outside our comfort level. It was windy on that day and the ocean was a bit more choppy and felt it was better to be safe than sorry. There is little doubt we would have found both of them on a calmer day. There are some inland blue holes but did not explorer.

Beach: One word, secluded. In high tide, the water is easily managed for those that are not strong swimmers. During low tide, one can walk/wade out to the nearby island (~1/4 mile). There are plenty of chairs, loungers, tables and hammocks to be utilized. If the wind is blowing, strategically placing a lounger behind some natural windbreaks eliminates the wind without blocking the great views. If needed, there is also plenty of shade that still provides great views. We saw one local pass on the beach during our stay. The beach can be walked in miles in any direction and very rare if you encounter more than a few people. The water was warm and comfortable. At one point while relaxing on the beach, it reminded me of the Corona Beer commercials where the couple are sitting on the beach, listening to the ocean without a soul in site. Nobody to bother you, nobody trying to sell you an excursion. Absolute peace.

Dogs: Wonderful and friendly. If you don't like dogs, then this really isn't the place for you. Mickey and Joan will accomodate if you want them 'out of view' during meals. However, we have dogs and requested that they be out. It gives a sense of 'home'. They all have great stories and be sure to ask about them all. Magoo and Dot were more social/out than Bernie and Bebe. All are great dogs with great stories. I will note that not once did the dogs ever beg for food. They are well trained and no the limits.

Wireless: It worked in our room. We used it a few minutes every evening to re-connect with the outside world but far from any center-point of our vacation needs. In my opinion, if you are really worried about wireless and tv, then you probably should not be on vacation.

Airport/Flights: Straightforward. Two airlines fly to Mangrove Cay and are within minutes of each other. Typically on-time but make sure to schedule enough time for arriving and departing flights on Nassau. Also, there is one taxi on the island. They are there when you arrive and Mickey/Joan will call for pick-up on your departure day.

Things To Know: There is a page on the Seascape Inn website called: "Things You Should Know". Highly suggest reading and sending them an email if there are more questions. We did this and there were no surprises.

Cost: There were no surprises with our final bill. The cost is very reasonable when compared to other places in The Bahamas.

Mickey and Joan: Great hosts. They are friendly and warm. They have a lot of pride in the Seascape Inn and want each person to enjoy the stay. If you have questions or issues, then let them know. They are there to help. They also have great stories which really makes for an enjoyable stay. They have provide a great atmosphere that facilitates the sharing, connecting and experiences of other guest, couples and themselves.

Overall: Highly recommend. Everything was great and was exactly what we were looking for in a secluded vacation. If you are looking for sales pitches, noise, party/dance atmosphere, crowded beaches, crowded pools and processed foods and over-pricing, then the Seascape Inn is not for you. If you are looking for ultimate relaxation, fresh baked food, good conversation, free use of equipment, good prices all in a intimate/private environment, then visit the Seascape Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Seascape looks very cute and charming in pictures. In person, it is a little run down. Note- There is no air conditioning and the screen windows will not keep the bugs out.

Cleanliness was non-existent in the kitchen.
Joan welcomed us as she kindly prepared our cocktails. She mentioned Mickey (the other owner) was not feeling very well. A few minutes later, Mickey stumbled in hacking, coughing, and sneezing. We felt bad for Mickey until Joan announced he would be preparing dinner. We were shocked. Since restaurant options were limited, we reluctantly ate Mickey's ribs.

2 other important notes about dinner:

1. They let their 2 dogs walk around the kitchen and dining area. This means when you go to wipe your bbq hands in your napkin, one of the dogs is also there under the table attempting to lick them. We were particularly disgusted when Joan noticed this and simply told the dogs to "shoo".

2. Mickey will stare. Mickey's non-conversational stare throughout dinner made us feel so uncomfortable that we cut short our meal and went back to the room.

Beware: My boyfriend read countless fabulous reviews. We were mildly disappointed when we arrived to see the accommodations, but the uncleanliness and uncomfortable stare throughout dinner were the primary reasons why we were looking to escape from Seascape as soon as possible. We left the next day, but still were required to pay for the remaining nights on our reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swainsdog, Owner at Seascape Inn, Andros, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Well, this review certainly is a surprise. First we have no record of your being here. Second if you were here and were that unhappy one wonders why you would not have told us at the time. Why wait six months to submit a review to Trip Advisor. Again, it makes this review seem a bit suspect.

As for our dogs, there are many photos of them on our web site. Anyone who did extensive research and looked at our web site couldn’t possibly have missed that. If you don’t like dogs then this is not the place for you.

As for A/C we specifically state on our web site that we have ceiling fans and do not mention air conditioning. In the winter months most guests ask for extra blankets. Once again extensive research would have revealed that.

As for the “stare” - we have been at this for 16 years. Some guests want to interact with us and our staff to learn about local culture and some interact with the other guests to learn about their experiences. Some guests want to be left alone to enjoy their companion. We are pretty good at reading this and know when to converse and when to step away. We do not stare our guests down or in any way try to make them uncomfortable.

As for the state of the kitchen, what actually goes on there and the chef, you are once again mistaken. We have inspections by the department of Environmental Health on a regular basis and had and do currently have a valid certificate of sanitation.

Joan & Mickey
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from ‘our honeymoon’ at Seascape Inn. We had a charming little cabana/cabin with a never ending view of the ocean. We enjoyed a quiet four days as there were no other guests and we had the entire place to ourselves. We were able to walk the beach, snorkel in some blue holes, ride funky, but fun bicycles, do a little sea kayaking as well as lounge on chairs sipping cool drinks in the ocean breeze. Joan and Mickey were enjoyable hosts and the food Joan prepared was delicious (hoping for a cookbook someday). They were both quite helpful with taxis, travel issues, locals who made baskets and hats as well as finding a wonderful woman to ‘braid’ my hair, island style. The Seascape Inn is not a classy over-priced resort, but a quaint and rustic get-away where hermit crabs busy themselves under the coconut trees and afternoon thunderstorms bring color changes to the sky and water. The whole time I was there I felt as though Jimmy Buffet would appear ... and he does once in awhile at the Mangrove Cay Club. Bring lots of sunscreen and/or aloe/lavendar oil for sunburn as the sun is powerful; bring some OFF as there are mosquitoes and no see’ums; and I suggest riding a bike daily to the nearby pharmacy for bottled water as the tap water has a very strong mineral, bitter taste. They do offer internet though for us it was intermittent on the beach or in our cabin. The best reception was in the dining area, but internet ‘conversations’ were discouraged (even though our children were home dealing with the results of nearby tornados/flooding). Overall, the Seascape Inn was a unique destination experience that offered us exactly what we were looking for as an ‘out island’ vacation with privacy, beauty, activities, and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swainsdog, Owner at Seascape Inn, Andros, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay as we certainly enjoyed meeting you both. I’m sure that everyone at home loved your braids and the handmade gifts you brought home.

As for the internet we’re sorry you were having trouble connecting. We do ask that wireless devices not be used in the dining room/bar area as we use range extenders so that internet access is available throughout the property including in the cabanas. The majority of our guests have applauded that decision as it provides a more relaxing experience. Having said that, we did not know that you were unable to connect. If we had known we would have done everything possible to resolve the issue. It could have been a weather related problem (as sometimes happens), a problem with our service provider or even your service provider but please know that we would never deny our guests the option of using our phone to call home – no matter the reason. As you had mentioned speaking with your family, receiving e-mail from your daughter, uploading pictures to Facebook and even being friended by the person who did your braids we thought everything was fine.

We hope you enjoyed your few hours in Nassau prior to heading back home & that your no more bad weather comes your way.

All the best to you both -

Joan
Co-Owner
Seascape Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Seascape is a lovely inn right on the crystal clear ocean, surrounded by swaying coconut palms, fuchsia bougainvillea and a host of other tropical plantings. Our cabana was just steps from the ocean and was just perfect. It had everything we needed, including a nice selection of paper backs. It was absolutely spotless and the attention to detail even in making the bed is beyond compare. Mickey and Joan saw to our every need and helped accommodate our special requests, including a bone fishing guide, snorkeling the reef, a special bourbon and wine, finding local crafts, conch, taxi, etc. We enjoyed their hospitality and can't wait to go back some time soon. Seascape is also a great value; their room, food and beverage prices are very fair. We loved the rugged, natural feel of Andros and enjoyed being off the beaten path. We are still dreaming of Joan's banana daiquiris and all of the delicious meals . . .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I had never been to the Bahamas and this seemed like an authentic experience. It was in spades. If you need fancy there are other options.. If you're looking for comfort, kindness, great food, quiet, and relaxation - this is the place. Joan and Mickey are exactly as others describe , and we quickly felt like part of the gang. They fixed me up with a wonderful fishing guide, and I checked bonefish on a fly off my bucket list. Didn't have as much luck with fish wading out front, but I have lots to learn, and perhaps more fish a bit later (we were there first week of March). Loved the funky bikes and easy touring. Loved the lunches Joan packed for fishing days. Loved the gin and tonics and Kaliks in the evening. Fun other guests. Nothing fancy. Just great. We absolutely can't wait to go back - with family and/or friends to share this magic place. I dream a lot about wading the flats... :)

Room Tip: We had deluxe room with sitting area in front. Didn't really need that but liked the queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

yes and I mean this.....staying with Joan and Mickey at the Seascape INN in Andros put me back to a time of growing up with grandma and grandpa next door and living in an intact family....the feeling of staying there was truly family....from the lovely flowers tucked into washcloths and curtains by Portia to the friendly nudge that dinner was of your choosing.....whether it be Mickey's wonderful BBQ ribs or outstanding crab cakes.....his specialty dessert Grand Marnier Chocolate Cloud or his ever delicious homemade ice cream and by all means insist he make lots of the white chocolate coconut....yum yum.....and of course Joan is the most gracious hostess of all and now may I add a lifelong friend....she is more accommodating than most anyone I have ever met and the smile upon her face will warm even a bit chilly morn....all this said the Inn itself is great....the small compact cottage to the excellent trips arranged by Joan and Mickey...very laid back and no push about anything...even their 4 dogs take up the same attitude...the entire island of Andros is wonderful and engaging....so much to be said for family, friends and fun...a lifestyle we should all emulate....at least for a fraction of our lives....I highly recommend this Inn, this island and this experience to bring you back to what is important in life and believe me YOU will figure that out once you are back home......love you Joan and Mickey....Magoo, Dot, Bernie and BB

Room Tip: far south room (where I stayed) had backdrop of palms, birds and nature....excellent choice for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Seascape Inn may not be right for everyone, but for my husband and I, it was very close to perfect! The first morning of our stay (7 nights) we asked about walking on the beach. Mickey said we could walk about 1 1/2 miles in one direction; 2 1/2 miles in the other direction. Over the course of our week's stay (12/8-12/15) we did both walks and never encountered another person. We honestly felt as if we had 4 miles of white sand, clear water and blue sky all to ourselves. It doesn't get much better than this.
The accommodations were comfortable, the food was great, the drinks were reasonable. We took the kayaks out one morning (didn't find a blue hole, but did enjoy the exercise); took the bikes out 3 or 4 times. We walked/waded to 3 other blue holes and enjoyed snorkling over them a couple of times. Most of all, we sat on the beach reading and relaxing.
As others have stated, there is not much of a night life on the island, but that isn't what we were looking for. We had only one meal away from Seascape and it was a disappointment. Joan's breakfasts were amazing, Mickey's dinners were great (especially the fresh grouper and the chicken schnitzel). One morning we were out riding bikes and saw Mickey returning to the inn on his bike. He held up a bag and told us he had fresh grouper from the dock for our dinner. Our final bill was less than we expected, so we felt we got a lot for our money.
The personal attention was exceptional. I had a luggage problem (wrong bag picked up in Nassau/brought to Mangrove Cay). Joan was extremely helpful by making phone calls, etc. and got everything sorted out within 24 hrs. Considering my bag had to be shipped from Nassau, the wrong bag returned via Flamingo Air, etc. there were a lot of places where things could have gotten messed up. Fortunately, Joan knew the right people to contact at the Mangrove Cay Airport, so things were resolved without incident. When Mickey heard I liked a particular brand of whiskey, he made sure to go to the island liquor store and get an extra bottle on hand.
The week we spent was the most relaxing and casual vacation we have ever taken. I think Mickey and Joan have perfected the art of "inn keeping".

Room Tip: We had the deluxe (?) room with the extra sitting room space. It was right in the middle, and seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Inn, Andros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Inn, Andros

Address: Mangrove Cay, Andros
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beachfront cabanas with decks and private bath. Full service restaurant and bar. Activities include snorkeling, biking and kayaking. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seascape Inn, Andros Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Inn, Andros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.