We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamalame Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kamalame Cay to your Saves list
Kamalame Cay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Staniard Creek, Andros   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Andros
Florida
1 review
“Perfect Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Recently returned from our wedding/ honeymoon visit to Kamalame Cay. We were married there in July. Can't say enough about wonderfully we were looked after. Staff is so friendly! Everyone there makes you feel welcome!! Special thanks to everyone, Margaret, Collette,Leah, and the entire Hew family. They made us so comfortable and looked after everything!
Dining in the Great House is just incredible! The Cracked Conch Salad is a favorite of mine. We also sampled a new menu item, Stone Crab Dumplings.. they are so delicious! We really enjoyed Samson's special cocktail as well.
We stayed in Wild Dilly, very private, with an amazing ocean view. The sunrises are spectacular!
My husband is an avid fisherman and caught several Bone Fish on the flats
Love this place, Kamalame Cay is the best!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    13
    6
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed and all the staff were so friendly. the grounds are all natural and beautiful. the food was all phenomenal. Samson in the Great House was the best and always around to help make a drink or tend to your every need. we stayed in a cottage suite and it was very private and the hammock and kayak right behind the cottage is a nice addition. took the golf cart to the north end of the island to a private beach for a swim. the bonefishing on the flats out back are loaded with tailing fish in the morning and evening. cant say enough wonderful things about our stay. we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: if you want privacy choose one of the 3 Cottage suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our second time visiting Kamalame Cay and it was just as great if not better the second time. We were so happy that we were able to go back as a part of our honeymoon. The staff is amazing and always greet you with a smile. The food is incredible along with the drinks! Kamalame is a great place to relax and to just enjoy every moment as newlyweds. A big thank you to the owners and the hosts for making our honeymoon so unforgettable. We can't wait to get back to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I had the priviledge of spending our honeymoon at this wonderful resort! Kamalame Cay just takes your breath away. The hosts David and Michael were so welcoming and made sure that our trip was unforgettable. The staff at this gem of an Island were also incredibly friendly and we were greeted by smiles all through our 8 night stay!
Big thank you to Deedee, Leah, Samson, Patty and all the rest of the wonderful people there!
We will most certainly be returning!
Well done guys, KC is magic!
All our love Bern & Melchior

Room Tip: Villa on the beach is unbelievable! ENJOY
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Kamalame was so great the first time we had to go back! Our 2nd trip to Kamalame Cay was as great as the first! I don't believe there is a better place for a wife and her avid fly fishing husband. Even in the wind my husband did great fishing for bone fish with Lavado the guide and behind the island on the flats on his own. It is the perfect place to disconnect and relax. This visit there was a wine tasting event that was beyond wonderful. The staff is amazing and they go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. If you can you must see Avon for a message in their over the water spa. She is amazing! You get around the island by golf cart or bike. There is no TV and you never even miss it, actually it is one of the things I love the most. Samson the bartender makes a wonderful tropical drink that is his special drink and by far my favorite. We use the pool everyday..the water was like silk. When my husband is fishing for the day I feel completely safe walking, riding a bike or on the beach alone for me that is huge! I could go on and on about how really special this place is...we will return again.

There were only two things I wish was available. 1 - A long board to rent or use. They have the perfect waters around their island for that activity. 2 - half n half for coffee. They have milk, canned milk or heavy cream but was unable to get half n half. As a hardcore coffee drinker I had a really hard time without my half n half.

If you want the perfect tropical island feel without the distractions of life this place is perfect! All I can say if GO and Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went to Kamalame with a group of friends for a week in March and I could not have been more impressed. It was so nice to get away from the trappings of technology and spend time on the gorgeous island. The staff were very friendly and the accommodations were outstanding. The owners are a great couple and if you have the chance to meet them, it's a real treat. They were so generous and enhanced our stay.
I would recommend Kamalame to anyone in need of a vacation. It is private and secluded but you can still interact with other guests. The barbecue was delightful complete with bonfire and live music.
The beach is gorgeous and at high tide, you can kayak and paddleboard around the whole island. There are plenty of activities for just about anyone and the natural beauty of the island is worth the trip. The lack of outside distractions help one really appreciate all Kamalame has to offer--if you have the chance, GO!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at this magnificent property and stayed in a Beach Suite. My husband went for the fly-fishing and I went to relax…and Kamalame Cay is one of the only places where fly-fishing and luxury will exceed your expectations. There aren't enough superlatives to describe it. After a 20 minute car transfer from Andros Airport, you aboard a small ferry and glide across the water for 5 minutes and arrive on Kamalame Cay. You don't feel like you're checking into a resort. Instead,entering an intimate community of individual cottages with tree lined paths,and beautiful landscapes and ocean breezes. Kamalame Cay is a great balance of high end service (but at a slower pace because you are on island time) yet relaxed atmosphere.
The barbecue on Saturday night ended up being our favorite night. Great people, phenomenal food, upbeat band and the candlelit dinner table on the beach created a romantic atmosphere.
Samsun, the bartender certainly knows how to make cocktails and even suggested his own "Samsun Special" which was one of my favorite cocktails to date.
The beach suites and cottages are laid out so you have a lot of privacy and waking up every morning to your own path to the beach is what made this property exceed our expectations. This is the perfect place to get away when you really want to slow things down and just enjoy the beauty and relaxation of a private island.

Room Tip: Beach Suites and cottages are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamalame Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalame Cay

Address: Staniard Creek, Andros
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Andros
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Andros
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamalame Cay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the northeast coast of Andros, and accessible only by private ferry or seaplane, the secluded family-owned Bahamian island of Kamalame Cay caters to a comfortable group of guests at any given time. Idyllic and isolated, this oasis of breathtaking natural beauty wraps ocean adventure and island romance in the luxury of a private island experience.A quick flight from major hubs such as New York, Toronto and Miami, yet worlds away from Nassau’s trendy, resort-lined beaches, Kamalame’s utterly private accommodations are tucked into 96-acres of swaying palms and flowering tropical foliage. A lush oasis ringed by three miles of deserted, white-sand beach and colourful coral gardens, the warm, turquoise waters just off shore teem with manta ray, parrotfish and blue tangs.Kamalame Cay is an idyllic escape for those whose idea of paradise is a tropical hideaway where a sarong is all that’s required to be ‘dressed’ for dinner.Modern interpretations of classic Bahamian cuisine combined with sophisticated wines and spirits, comfortable elegant island décor, and one of the only overwater spas in the Caribbean underscore Kamalame’s gracious 'barefoot chic’ character.Traced by white sand pathways, the island’s beautifully landscaped jungle of sea grapes, palms and coco plums is banked by pristine mangrove fields and a pristine coast scattered with conch shells and starfish; the wide variety of birdlife ranges from sandpipers, herons and cranes to finches, pink ibis and pelicans.Sliced into the Silver Palms that embrace the island, the Great House serves as a welcoming social hub for dining and cocktails and is just a few steps from the heated, freshwater pool, sweeping ocean views and al fresco beach bar.With myriad diversions – from spa programs to world-class diving, snorkelling, fishing and sporting excursions – Kamalame takes pleasure in tailoring every guest’s experience to individual tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kamalame Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalame Cay Andros, Bahamas
Kamalame Cay Hotel Andros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamalame Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.