We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic, Class & Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamalame Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kamalame Cay to your Saves list
Kamalame Cay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Staniard Creek, Andros   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Andros
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Magic, Class & Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The moment I stepped off the ferry on to the island dock I knew this would be an experience of a lifetime!! There was a flowery crisp island smell and an almost instant feeling of paradise at my finger tips. From the champagne greeting to the tiki club by the pool to the amazing fresh seafood and organic salad bar lunch served on the beach I couldn't have imagined anything more could be possible. We were visiting the island for my best friends wedding and I knew it would be spectacular mostly because she is :) but I had no idea what was in store. Our private villa Coco Nut was something out of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous. The wedding dinner was spectacular and the service was beyond anything I have ever experienced. Most of all the love, care and generosity of the owners David and Michale and their amazing staff made this a 5 star plus experience!! Thank you thank you thank you, from the bottom of our hearts we WILL be back!! Tom & Christie

Room Tip: They are all incredible...If you are travelling with a group Coco Nut was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    13
    6
    9
    6
See reviews for
33
118
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My life is travel. I have stayed in 1 star dives and 5 star palaces. I have known some of the world's best butlers and even more of the world's most surly desk attendants. As with most things in life, I find it important to know what you are getting into before you commit your time and money to any endeavor. So if you are looking for a lavish week with your best guy or girl friends cruising the clubs and casinos, Kamalame is not for you. Go to Nassau and enjoy yourself at Atlantis or Sandals. If you are looking to really getaway, digitally detox, and enjoy an atmosphere where your needs are either known or predicted with a clarity that sometimes borders on clairvoyant, then Kamalame is for you.

The houses are owned by either the island owners or independent parties. They are all situated on the beach and they all offer the standard in luxury appointments. While a kitchen is provided, they function as snacking spaces and communal areas to chat in the event you have several people over. Not that you have to have several people over. The greatest benefit of Kamalame is the reclusive nature you can enjoy on this cay.

The dining at the Great House was always unique and excellent. Staff among the best I have seen in the Caribbean.

Travel to and from the island is best done by seaplane or helicopter, this allows curbside service to the resort. Otherwise, Fresh Creek airfield is a 15 minute plane ride from Nassau and an additional 30 minute taxi ride to Kamalame.

The spa is located on a peer and offers the standard massage, nail, and wrap services.

As a reminder, the purpose of Kamalame is to escape to a place where you can enjoy the ocean and the sun without the distractions of every day life! Go there, escape, relax, ponder a life where you aren't tethered to the digital world!

Room Tip: The Magnolia house has three bedrooms and abundant ocean access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We just had our wedding on Kamalame Cay and to say it was a dream come true would be an understatement. I could go on for days about how magical the whole thing was but what I really want to do here is communicate how unbelievable the WHOLE Kamalame Cay crew were - from the housekeeping, to the dining staff, to the administrative staff...the owners...the wedding planner. Literally everyone! We had 36 guests take over the island and the staff and team became like family. The accommodations were beyond perfect and we rented the entire island so I can vouch for ALL of the rooms. The food was 5 star - we are still reeling from how they managed to deliver such high quality dishes meal after meal to such a large group of people. We were SO impressed as were all of our guests. If you are reading through the reviews wondering if this is the right place for you all I can say is YES IT IS! We will be back time and time again. I can't wait to read what you say after your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Difficult to describe in words how amazing our time at Kamalame Cay was......even more difficult to get on the plane to leave. The island is a truly beautiful setting, the rooms very (very) chic, the food absolutely delicious but best of all were the staff who made us feel like royalty and family all at the same time!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Ferry ride over delightful, had a lovely drink and were warmly welcomed. Stayed in the cottages, very secluded, beautiful grounds, very nice beach. Cottages are open air, with multiple doors open to the beach which is 25 yards away. They are beach chic, meaning casually elegant, very nicely done, with wood, limestone and white linens. The beds are delightful. Bathtub, has a great view and is perfect. Food is limited in selection, but very, very good by Caribbean standards. The Great House, where all meals are served is wonderful. You have your own personal kayak, pink golf cart, hammock and sun shelter with palm fronds. Stocked with lovely Mouton Brown shampoo and conditioner.

The pool and the tiki hut (the bar), were deserted the entire time we were there, there's no bartender (there is a very well-stocked help-yourself honor bar), so there was no socializing except at the Great House over meals which was fine with us. The owner is very pleasant and has two great dogs, (hi Romulus!) The front office people are very buttoned up and helpful.

I can see though why some people argue this is not a luxury experience. First, the staff is very friendly and willing to help, but inexperienced in luxury living. The attention to detail just isn't there. You run out of shampoo, it isn't replaced and no one answers the phone, so you hop in your cart and go get it, Turn-down (night) service only happened the first two days. Discarded towels are not replaced, nor dishes rinsed, or toiletries replenished, meaning no morning showers. They could could easily make the turn-down service into a romantic, luxury experience for no additional cost and little effort.

The rooms are minimally provisioned. There are 2 small dishes, 2 glasses, 2 forks, 2 knives and no napkins (paper towel does not count) in the cottage making the breakfast in the room a bit difficult. You can't have water and a drink from the well stocked room bar at the same time, so you are constantly washing glasses in the tiny bathroom sink. This matters because you spend most of the day in front of your room on the beach. The breakfast baskets are stingy, one day it was two rolls, four pieces of fruit, OJ and some jam. We were told we could request additions and tried, but nothing changed. We requested them from the front desk the next day, still no luck. So the next day we hopped in the cart and went to the great house for additions, which was not greeted with great enthusiasm from the cook. This is another area that easily be turned into a luxury experience by letting you order from a selection and stocking the basket with dishes, napkins, salt, butter etc. There was initially one beach towel, and two bath towels but we got a second one by the next day. The sheets were never changed, no one offered. I recognize the making a private island eco-sustainable is a challenge, so the lack of towels and sheets may be well justified.

So what it seems... you have the location of your dreams, a delightful room, cool toys, good food, pleasant willing staff but the bare minimum of actual luxury in terms of what is provided. It would be so easy to turn this into THE luxury destination, but they need to take that one more step, if thats what they want.

If you want a relaxed experience in a tropical paradise and don't care about the little stuff, definitely go... if you stress over the details, attention, and live for luxury you may be unhappy. If you like hermetically sealed rooms with beige upholstery and carpet, do not even think about it. Me, I am going back.

PS Although we saw almost zero bugs even the the doors wide open during the day, mosquito netting would be nice at night (like the Caves and Jade Mountains) so you can keep the doors all open all night.

PS2 They did not nickel and dime us AT all. We did not do all inclusive, which was fine. There were no extra charges, or hidden costs (very nice).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Arrived 17 Jan 2014 for weekend getaway. Beautiful Island with friendly staff. Loved the landscaping, oceanfront accommodations and professional staff. The food was wonderful (fresh fish/stuffed lobster) and the atmosphere was intimate and casual. The beach is clean, wide and very private. The water is blue-green and clear. This is a special place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I don’t generally trust Trip Advisor reviews if only because personal taste in food, style, décor and what one considers “luxury” varies so vastly. Someone may deem a resort “perfection” and by that description alone, the first question one should ask is “according to whom and by what standards?”

But Kamalame Cay deserves a write-up for something else far more substantial than what guests normally rate.

One of the things one expects when booking a holiday at a remote, private island where the reservation staff gently makes it clear that “there is minimal technology” is… there will be NO technology (read: contact with the outside world is purposely limited). And while this admittedly takes some getting used to, it's not a bad thing.

At Kamalame Cay, we stayed in a lovely, secluded cottage and our children had a smaller one, blessedly, on the other side of the island. I won’t go into the amenities except to say that our room appointments were charming, comfortable and stylish in a “Jonathan Adler meets the Caribbean” kind of way.

Each staff member at Kamalame Cay was not only genuinely kind but the service impeccable and indeed something to write home about – had we been inclined to write to the outside world.

But our biggest take-away was something intangible. While we expect to disconnect with the world and ultimately re-engage again with our families (or whomever we choose to holiday with), we forget what a gift that time together is. Sitting there actually talking to our children over meals, on the resort's private beach or after a snorkelling expedition-- instead of pondering whether they might need surgery to have their iPhones removed from their person, was the best part of our stay at Kamalame Cay.

Kamalame’s role? Every person and aspect of this resort-- its location, setting, amenities, staff, owners and fabulous managers, facilitated this "gift". It’s actually done on purpose. It's a resort where all the distractions of the outside world are stripped away so that one is made to feel beyond privileged and not just in the obvious and expected material way.

We liked it. Very much -- enough to recommend that others try it, if only to write their own “unbiased” review.

p.s. Kamalame Cay kindly provides insect repellant in every room to ward off insidious sand flies who WILL bite. Word to the wise —use it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamalame Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalame Cay

Address: Staniard Creek, Andros
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Andros
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamalame Cay 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the northeast coast of Andros, and accessible only by private ferry or seaplane, the secluded family-owned Bahamian island of Kamalame Cay caters to a comfortable group of guests at any given time. Idyllic and isolated, this oasis of breathtaking natural beauty wraps ocean adventure and island romance in the luxury of a private island experience.A quick flight from major hubs such as New York, Toronto and Miami, yet worlds away from Nassau’s trendy, resort-lined beaches, Kamalame’s utterly private accommodations are tucked into 96-acres of swaying palms and flowering tropical foliage. A lush oasis ringed by three miles of deserted, white-sand beach and colourful coral gardens, the warm, turquoise waters just off shore teem with manta ray, parrotfish and blue tangs.Kamalame Cay is an idyllic escape for those whose idea of paradise is a tropical hideaway where a sarong is all that’s required to be ‘dressed’ for dinner.Modern interpretations of classic Bahamian cuisine combined with sophisticated wines and spirits, comfortable elegant island décor, and one of the only overwater spas in the Caribbean underscore Kamalame’s gracious 'barefoot chic’ character.Traced by white sand pathways, the island’s beautifully landscaped jungle of sea grapes, palms and coco plums is banked by pristine mangrove fields and a pristine coast scattered with conch shells and starfish; the wide variety of birdlife ranges from sandpipers, herons and cranes to finches, pink ibis and pelicans.Sliced into the Silver Palms that embrace the island, the Great House serves as a welcoming social hub for dining and cocktails and is just a few steps from the heated, freshwater pool, sweeping ocean views and al fresco beach bar.With myriad diversions – from spa programs to world-class diving, snorkelling, fishing and sporting excursions – Kamalame takes pleasure in tailoring every guest’s experience to individual tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kamalame Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalame Cay Andros, Bahamas
Kamalame Cay Hotel Andros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamalame Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.