We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Bahamian craftsmanship” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Androsia Batik Works Factory

Androsia Batik Works Factory
Andros Town, Andros
242-368-2080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Andros
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the premesis and learn how the colorful fabric called 'batik' is made.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Real Bahamian craftsmanship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had the opportunity to tour the batik factory and to meet the gentleman who has crafted all the designs and the ladies who dyed, cut and sewed all the garments. This is genuine local industry at its best. The quality is very high and the price reasonable. Many of the "Bahamian" souvenirs for sale in Nassau were made in China or India--the Androsian batik is made by Bahamians and worn by Bahamians. I enjoyed seeing the processes and bringing home a tablecloth and clothes we will use with pride.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Craft time for adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I had a lot of fun here! It felt like we were doing crafts in kindegarten again, and our Batik actually turned out much better then we thought it would. I would do this again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Clothing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you want some unique tropical clothing or just the fabric you need to stop at the factory in Fresh Creek. They usually have stuff on the sale racks with all kinds of different designs. You won't find this unique clothing anywhere else. They do have a website also but if you are near you should stop by. By bigger sizes as the stuff does shrink! Love there stuff!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of batik for shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Opportunity to do a batik class and create a batik, check out the factory and do some shopping--perfect for a rainy afternoon.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot to pick up a souvenir and a memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Fun to see the process of producing the batik fabric and having an opportunity to purchase locally produced items as souvenirs. A must-see in the Fresh Creek area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Androsia Batik Works Factory also viewed

Andros, Out Islands
 

Been to Androsia Batik Works Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Androsia Batik Works Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.