We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Paradise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Hope Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Small Hope Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Small Hope Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Buy One Get One!
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Andros
Conneticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small Hope was exactly what we were looking for...a private, all inclusive oasis with fantastic diving, food to die for (thanks to Chef Cindy and her fabulous staff) , a large rustic room so close to the beach with amazing views.
I had the pleasure of dealing with Nicky since July and he is an asset to the office staff as is Linda , Stephano, Bruna and Renauldo... Nothing was a problem for them regarding scheduling , pricing etc. They will give you the best package that suits your needs.
All of the dive masters were top notch and the dives offered were wonderful and diversified. Erin, a dive master and marketing person was a pleasure as was the owner, Jeff and his buddy Mike who makes a mean, delicious "Monkey" drink. We cannot wait to return to Small Hope. Thank you to each and every one of you for an exceptional vacation.

Room Tip: My husband and I actually had two rooms since we made a reservation for 4 nights and stayed for 7. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We really enjoyed having the two of you stay with us and I am so happy you had a great time. I agree with you about our office staff - they are wonderful and will help you in any way they can. I am glad you both got to enjoy some of our great diving while you stayed here (and escape some of that winter up north too!). We look forward to seeing you again and hope you guys come back soon! Next round of Black Monkeys is on me . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    45
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
104
142
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our annual trip to Small Hope Bay Lodge in the Bahamas was better than ever this year because we were able to link up with friends Linda and Dallas from Buffalo, NY and their group. The four of us were on site a couple of days early and left them in charge for a few days after we left.

Our travel plans (and theirs) were incomplete due to the ravages of Hurricane Sandy. It turned out that our AirTran connection through Atlanta was still in place, although theirs through LaGuardia had to be rerouted to Atlanta as well. That made the last leg of the trip from Nassau a breeze because Glen of Glen Air was able to accommodate the various arrival times and we didn't have to miss any connections to Andros on a regularly scheduled airline. That last leg was free as well, thanks to Small Hope Bay Lodge's special arrangement for groups arriving via Nassau.

We were able to make our favorite early morning wall dive every morning at 7 AM. Did I mention yet that the dive staff are willing to make any/all of your diving wishes happen? How about a night dive that starts at 5:30 because it was dark by then? "Sure, mon."

The food was great because of the talent of Chef Cindy - the newest addition to owner Jeff Birch's kitchen staff. She even came out and sat with us for her own dinner. Plus, she prepared separate spaghetti dinners for Peter and The Captain every night because that was their request.

The weather was perfect with little or no wind, calm seas, warm days and cool nights that needed a blanket.

All-in-all it was perfection.

Go there.

Room Tip: You don't need air conditioning because the room's ceiling fans do the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We enjoy having you and your group every year. I know Jeff loves taking the four of you Over the Wall at dawn every morning too. It is such a great way to start the day! I am very happy you all had a great time again. Cindy is a fantastic addition to the staff, isn't she? We very much look forward to your next visit and I look forward to seeing you four even sooner when I go to the dive show in March! Take care . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lets start with the Bad News - we were suppose to stay for 8 days until we go a unwanted visitor by the Name of Sandy so we had to get our vacation short but that is the only Bad news - As for Good - We had a great time while we were there and have already made plans to return next Nov and do not want anymore unexpected visitors.
The staff was really great, the food excellent and our room was comfortable - not the Ritz but just fine.
One of the highlights for us was Bonefishing with a great guide by the Name of Glister. We made two 1/2 trips and caught and released over 40 Bonefish in the two days. Released all but one. As my wife was bringing the fish in - A Cuda in the 30lb plus range decided lunch - Now we had 1/2 a Bonefish - Decided to give the Cuda a try with what was left - Bottom line Cuda 1 Fisherman 0 - You do not stop a 30lb Cuda with 12lb test line and Light Saltwater gear - fun while it lasted ie less than a minute
Another hightlight was my wife's first ever Scuba Dive at a blue hole inland (seas really rough)
She is hooked and will get certified this winter.
Our Thanks to the entire Small Hope Gang - See you next year -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Sandy was an unexpected and unwelcome visitor indeed. We are very thankful that we did not suffer any damages and making the best of a bad situation our beach has actually doubled in size since the storm! I am so glad to hear the two of you will be coming back next November. We really enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again soon. Glister is a great fishing guide and I am glad your wife will be a certified diver soon so she can come explore our beautiful reef when you come back. See you in November!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Think back to summer camp... add a beautiful beach, scuba diving, and tropical drinks, and you have Small Hope!

Let me start by saying the staff at this resort is incredible! They are very friendly and will really make you feel welcome. The all-inclusive meals and drinks are delicious, and the dive shop is very accommodating. You will always find a staff member around to answer questions or just to chat. This is some of the best service I have encountered in all me travels around the world!

Although the service is out of the world, I would have to concur with others' comments that the hotel is very rustic. The rooms are dark and "cabin-like." Our room (#10) smelled a little of sewage and the limited light in the bathroom made night showers a real chore. If you book expecting a charming beach-side villa with full amenities, you might be disappointed. Book knowing it is an "eco-lodge"-- not the typical all-inclusive "resort." Remember: Andros is very remote and upscale accommodations are limited.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the lodge and dive shop so you don't have to walk as far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review (and about your praise of our staff!). I am so happy you enjoyed some of the things we take so much pride in - our dive shop, our great food, and our effort to make all our guests feel happy and at home. While our cabins do have a rustic feel to them, we think part of the lure and beauty of Small Hope is really getting away from it all and enjoying all this beautiful island has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are so glad we chose Small Hope Bay Lodge for our honeymoon get away. We loved the casual feel and "do what you want" attitude. We hope to go back often and soon. My wife received her scuba certification a few months before getting to Andros and we could not get over the beautiful water and reefs around the resort. The meals were great and the accommodations were quaint and rustic. SHB is a great place to go and get away from the daily grind of emails and traffic. Relax in the breeze with an ocean view and sip on a rum drink until you have to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for the great review, Derek. We really enjoyed having the two of you here. Small Hope is a perfect honeymoon spot when you want to get away from it all. I am so happy we could make your honeymoon a happy one and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

On a lark, my 19-year-old daughter and I flew to Andros Island for an extended July 4th weekend of scuba diving at Small Hope Bay Lodge which we found online. It would have been hard to be happier. Simple and fun to get to from Nassau by prop plane, we were warmly greeted upon arrival and, after a light lunch with a member of the staff, were shown to our simple but clean room with a splendid view of the ocean and a comfortable hammock right outside. And, wonderfully, no TV!

We were there for four days of great diving (three tanks a day) (my daughter got her open water certification from a wonderful instructor), great food (though a rather shy of ideal if you are a vegetarian) and, maybe best of all, a really welcoming and friendly atmosphere with guests of all ages and incredibly friendly staff who are fully part of the communal mix. Evening cocktails and conversation around the outdoor bar were a particular highpoint apart from the diving itself.

My only criticism is that SHB could really use to upgrade its sailing offerings. I think there was only one old sailboat to use; a couple of nice HobyCats or something would have been a real plus.

No matter, we hope to return soon with her siblings!

Daniel M from Brooklyn, NY

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Daniel, thanks for the great review. We really enjoyed meeting and diving with you and your beautiful daughter. I am happy you two had such a lovely vacation together and look forward to seeing you both again as well as meeting the rest of the family. P.S. Our culinary team is currently looking into expanding our vegetarian menu ideas so hopefully when we see you again there will be even more options. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful staff who make you feel like family. Food was delicious, we enjoyed meeting our chef for the night as she explained what was on the menu. The family style dining was perfect for the trip. The lodge in the evening was a behive of activity, very comfortable outfitted with beautiful batik fabrics from Andros Island. We felt like it was a throwback to a simpler time where leisure and physical activities plus conversations were paramount to a great vacation. We did not miss TV or internet at all. Even though wi-fi was offered in the lodge, I like that it was turned off in the evening for dinner and socialization. We met people from many different countries with many interesting stories. My only complaint was the rooms could use some updating and more comfortable mattresses, that still would note keep me from returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed the true beauty of Small Hope - really getting away from it all, a little rest, a little recreation and great company. We truly do feel that our guests become like family. I guess that's why we are lucky to see so many of them again and again. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Andros
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Hope Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.