We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite resort in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Club & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Green Turtle Club & Marina to your Saves list
Green Turtle Club & Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   North End of White Sound | Green Turtle Cay, Great Abaco Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite resort in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been traveling to this island for about 25 years since I was a little girl. We take our sailboat over from the Fort Lauderdale area. It is a beautiful, very private island and if you want the comfort and amentities of a resort but still want that true island feel it's great for both. The Tipsy Turtle is one of the best rum drinks you'll ever taste if you're a true rum drinker. It is a little fruity but definitely a strong, well put together cocktail. The staff have been working there for over 30 years and are very familiar with the island and happy with their jobs. They provide friendly, sincere and over the top service. Green Turtle Cay is the absolute best!! The restaurant is amazing for casual dining and then fine dining in the evening. It is 5-star quality while at the same time truly authentic Bahamian food. Their lobster and conch dishes are something you have to try. The ferry captains are awesome, too and the service has been prompt every time I've used it for the past 25 years. I am a hotel manager in Ft.Lauderdale and this is a place you have to visit. Just don't tell too many people because one of the best qualities about it is that it's such a private island! At night, you have to go to Sundowners on the other side of the island and ask for Brian's woo woo shot! Cheap and delicious! You'll be dancing to reggae all night on their dock overlooking Black sound

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

One of the most beautiful islands in the Carribean and it feels like your own private island. The Green Turtle Club is comprised of separate Villas that are beautifully furnished and very clean and comfortable. You are always a walk away form either the beach or the pool.The staff are all wonderful and make you feel like family. If traveling by boat, the marina at the Club is also first class in well protected water. You will never run out of things to do, beachcombing fishing, snorkeling, diving, boating, exploring by boat or explore the island by golf cart. Don't be surprised if you are the only one on the beach that run the entire West side of the island with powdery white sand. The food is wonderful both at the club and all aound the island. Don't forget to visit Debbie at the bar for their famous Tipsey Turtle. Debbie is one of the most famous hospitality workers in the entire Bahamas and she typifies the warmth of all on the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on Turtle point are very private and include a dock and large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful, laid back property with all the bells and whistles. Great food, gorgeous views, stylish gift shop and privacy --at the resort and on every beach you find. And who doesn't love driving a golf cart everywhere? Shell shaped soaps? Swimming before breakfast? Comfy beds, flowers everywhere and friendly staff. This place is a steal at the rates they charge. We'll be back for Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As I think back to the number of visits to Green Turtle, the number 5 comes to mind. When you find a wonderful place I guess you keep on going back. It's nice to be on a first name basis with the people who make your stay so enjoyable and to be able to catch up with what is new in their lives. From the moment we boarded the ferry from Treasure Cay to Green Turtle and Joshua greeted us with a smile we were totally relaxed. When we arrived at the Club dock and Molly greeted us we felt at home..When we strolled to the lounge and Debbie greeted us with a Tipsy Turtle we were very comfortable and when we went to our rooms 19 and 21 we knew we were at our favorite vacation spot in the Bahamas.. Rooms 19 and 21 have been freshly painted and new airconditioning has been added. The rooms were absolutely SPOTLESS and maintained that way for our entire 7 day stay. The rooms were out on the point with a wonderful deck on the water overlooking the harbor. They offer the perfect blend of seclusion with all the amenities of the resort ( TV and WI FI ) for those who need them. There is nothing better than sitting on your deck in the morning with your feet up enjoying a good cup of fresh brewed coffee and watching the boats, birds, turtles and fish in the beautiful harbor. We rented a boat for the week to visit the nearby Islands and A golf cart from Giselle ( her office and fleet is on site so you never have a problem) D and P Cart rental and we were set for the week. Renee, the restaurant manager does a wonderful job and all her staff are so pleasant and nice. THEY ARE TRULY PROFESSIONAL AND REMEMBER YOUR NAME AND PREFERENCES WITH A TOTAL COMMAND OF THE MENU. What more can I say ! When our last day came and we were about to board the ferry Renee was there to give us a hug and wish us well..we said " WE WILL SEE YOU SOON" and we meant it

Room Tip: I couldn't say more, rooms 19 and 21 were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel itself offers a range of lodgings, but each one feels like it is a secluded bungalow. We rarely saw neighbors and spent every evening on a small balcony looking out over the small inlet. The rooms are comfortable, quite, and clean.

It's not that you can't find similar accommodations at other resorts and in other places, it is the whole island that sets this place a part. There are 500 inhabitants and only a handful of restaurants and bars, all of which are good. Yet everyone you drive by on your golf cart, cause you need a golf cart, is smiling and waiving. You meet locals at the bar and they are interesting people. You see local politics in action and get a sense that everyone welcomes you.

It is just a relaxing place to be away from it all, surrounded by great beaches, good diving, and even boating. It is really a beautiful place to have a comfortable room to lounge in on warm sunny days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our dive shop's (Wateree Dive Center in Columbia, SC) annual return to Green Turtle Cay for a week of diving at Brendal's Dive Center. Our rooms were on Turtle Point & were comfortable & certainly adequate. The food at the Club is very good. The conch chowder is excellent, only bettered in the Bahamas by the Riding Rock Inn on San Salvador. There is fine dining in the dining room at night with some dress requirements, but not really a problem. Our group ate on the enclosed patio with a somewhat less extensive menu, but certainly good. This is a fine venue, relaxed, with excellent friendly staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I just returned from six wonderful nights at Green Turtle Club & Marina on Green Turtle Cay. We've been to Nassau and Paradise Island several times and thought we "knew" the Bahamas; boy were we wrong! Green Turtle Club is a beautiful resort accessible by ferry from Treasure Cay. From the moment we started chatting with other people on the ferry who were headed there, we knew we had found a winner! Our room was beautifully decorated and just steps away from a serene waterfront that resembled my computer's built-in screen saver. Each person who works for the resort felt like long lost relatives, from Molly in reservations/marketing to Debbie at the bar to Rene, the restaurant manager--they were all warm and wonderful. We were amazed at how thoroughly our room was being scrubbed the morning after we arrived; it was being cleaned as though it hadn't been cleaned in a week after just one night! The food was delicious; from breakfast on the screened-in waterfront deck to "fine dining" in the restaurant, we never had a meal that wasn't delicious. We went off shore fishing with Capt. Rick Sawyer and caught some tuna which the chef kindly cooked for us that night! We rented a golf cart and were amazed at how each person who passed us on the road would wave as though saying, "Hi, glad you're back!" We had beverages and food at Pineapples (a must!) and Harveys (very good). Each day we headed out on our golf cart for a new beach--and were pleasantly surprised to find we were the only ones on whatever beach we chose. Many of the club's guests returned on a regular basis and we can surely see why; my husband and I couldn't find a more perfect place to relax and unwind. We hadn't thought to ask, but the club has beach chairs you can borrow to put on the back of your golf cart as you head out (more comfy than lying on a beach towel!) While I want to shout from the mountaintop (or sand dune) how wonderful this place is, I'm reluctant for everyone to find out because it is truly one of the only laid back, non-commercial beach communities we have ever encountered. If you're looking for some romantic time to get away, look no further. Green Turtle Club offers it all--and more! You can catch a flight to Treasure Cay from Ft. Lauderdale and then grab a ferry over. One warning: customs in Florida took so long when we returned, we missed our connecting flight (along with many others). Give yourself a few hours between flights just to be sure. Thank you, Green Turtle Club, for a full week's worth of smiles and memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, which was close to all and in a great spot. For a few dollars more, splurge fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Turtle Club & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Club & Marina

Address: North End of White Sound | Green Turtle Cay, Great Abaco Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Great Abaco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Great Abaco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Turtle Club & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Turtle Club & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Club And Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina Hotel Great Abaco Island
Green Turtle Hotel Marina
Green Turtle Resort Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina Abaco Islands, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Club & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.