We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Rock Beach

Gold Rock Beach
Lucayan National Park, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is as pretty as a postcard, with smooth white sands and clear blue waters.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is truly one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever visited in the world. It's secluded, and the setting is beautiful. The beach is lined by vegetation and trees, so make sure you bring mosquito spray when walking through this to get to the beach. When you first glimpse the beach through the forest life . . . . . oh my! It's surely a treat to see the big expanse of beautiful ocean and different shades of the blue water! You can easily walk up and down the shoreline for miles in either direction without encountering another soul!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    13
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful powder soft beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of the most beautiful beaches on the Island. Usually less than 30 people at the beach at any given time. The beach is 3/4 of a mile in each direction. It is narrow at high tide, however, stunning the rest of the time. A beautiful 10 minute stroll on a raised walkway through the Mangroves to get to the beach. Don't forget to stop and look at the large variety of fish below the walkway as you cross the river. You may also be greeted by curious Racoons along the way as well. There is a Bathroom available at the parking area. Be aware, however,there are no Bathroom facilities at the beach. Check out the caves at the Park while you are there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beach Walkers Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the longest and loneliest beach on the Island. Miles of beautiful sugar sand and crystal clear water. No developments or people. If you are tempted to swim the canals to extend your beach walk, be aware of tidal currents.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are looking for the most spectacular and secluded beach in Grand Bahama, look no further. Gold Rock Beach in Lucayan National Park is worth the 25 drive from Port Lucaya, Freeport. Visit during low tide and experience the endless sand and clear blue waters of the caribbean! We spent 4 hours running along the beach, exploring the tide pools and enjoying an uninterrupted picnic along a breathtaking back drop! Well worth the drive, we rented a car. We also enjoyed Lucayan National Park with the underground caves and wildlife.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent several hours at Gold Rock Beach as part of our cruise ship excursion to Lucayan National Park. I had no idea what to expect, and was blown away. I didn't want to leave, and certainly plan on going back one day.

The boardwalk through the mangrove forest is beautiful. We even encountered a family of curious racoons, and countless fish, along the way. The entrance to the beach is unassuming, almost unkept... You climb over a hill, and all of a sudden, you find yourself on a seemingly endless stretch of pinkish sand and turquoise water that looks like it's out of a travel brochure (or a movie - in fact, according to our tour guide, this is where the beach scenes from Pirates of the Caribbean 1 and 2 were filmed).

Save for our small tour group, the beach was empty. It felt like we'd landed on a desert island. There were no pushy sales people, no overpriced, commercialized facilities. The sand was so soft if felt like flour, and we walked out a good 75 yards or more with water barely above our knees. It's not a great beachcombing place - nary a seashell to be found - but the kids built some great sandcastles, and the calm waters were perfect for young children to swim in.

Gold Rock Beach is, by far, the nicest I've ever seen.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rock Beach also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Gold Rock Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Rock Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.