We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bateman's Big Easy

Bateman's Big Easy
Port Lucaya Marketplace, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 98 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Bahamian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mississauga
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Satisfactory seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Randomly dropped into this restaurant and sat out on the patio. We ordered the lobster fritter, shrimp cocktail, and seafood salad. Lobster fritter was great, but there wasn’t enough lobster. Shrimp cocktail was pretty standard. Seafood salad was very ‘mayo’ish. Not a bad place to hang.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    12
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“1.5 Hours Later, We Just Left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I stopped in here after a day on the beach to grab some lunch. The menu looked decent, and we ordered Pina Coladas and lunch. We travel fairly often, and understand the pace is typically more relaxed in foreign restaurants (we're American), but the service here was absurdly slow. The drinks took maybe 20 minutes, which wasn't so bad, we were there to relax after all. But we waited over an hour and a half and our meals never showed up. They didn't forget about us, because every so often someone would say "your food is almost ready." We saw people come in after us, eat, and leave. We eventually gave up, left enough on the table to cover our drinks, and left. At which point we grabbed some Pizza Hut, which only took about 15 minutes total. It worked out better overall; we ordered better Pina Coladas at the bar in Count Basie square, and had a view of the marina while we ate. It was Sunday, so the locals were all dressed in their best. Anyway, I can not recommend a place which has such poor service, especially in a location that has so many other options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weird decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After overeating on the Bahamas Celebration, we just wanted a light dinner. The conch chowder was great but expected a bowl, not a cup for the price. I had a house salad and my friend decided on a seafood salad. The sevice time was a bit lengthy considering our order was simple.
The walls were painted with a mermaid, a merman and Mardi Gras masks, all totally poorly done and out of proportion. Gross. I would not revisit on my next trip to Freeport.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wrapped it up at Bateman's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stopped in at Bateman's Big Easy for lunch one day and I thought it was really good. The server was friendly and accommodating and the food delish. I had the shrimp and avocado wrap and would recommend it to anyone. The shrimp was not over-cooked! My husband had the conch chowder and a burger and thought both were good. I'd go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fritters and drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Try the banana fritters here! We stopped here first to try our conch fritters (which everyone recommends trying when you get to the Bahamas). They were sold out so we tried banana fritters which were AMAZING. Paired with the most delicious pina coloadas we've ever had...very pleased for a drop-in snack!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bateman's Big Easy also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Bateman's Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bateman's Big Easy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.