We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taino Beach Resort & Clubs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Taino Beach Resort & Clubs to your Saves list
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Jolly Roger Drive | P.O. Box F-43819, Freeport 42452, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My brother was married on the beach on March 22. We had a blast! The beach and pool was so wonderful and relaxing. The food was great! Had to get on a ferry to get to the restaurants, loved that! I honestly was taken back a bit with the price of everything. But I was not at all suprised. You should be prepared to spend money on food and drinks. The resort offered us a grocery run. That was the worse thing! We got sandwich meat, bread, cheese, 12 pack of water, half gallon of milk and juice.- over 100 bucks!!!! I honestly would have given it all 3 if it wasn't The wonderful people and the wonderful beach

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    184
    109
    68
    61
See reviews for
105
189
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent one week at the Taino Beach before moving on to Nassau, and have had a wonderful time on both Grand Bahama and Nassau.
Our stay was an RCI exchange, and although we only used a few of our total points,
we got what we “paid” for.
The Ocean rooms, as others have reported are in need of urgent remodelling, as the Americans, would say. They are tired and locked in a time warp, but still very comfortable large airy, well equipped and have lovely balconies.
If we had known, we would have paid extra to get hot water. Is it an optional extra???
It is very much a joke that the hotel professes to be going green, and guests are asked to conserve water.
To get a lukewarm shower, at times one has to run the all the taps in the bathroom and kitchen for up to 10 minutes, (this is not an exaggeration, I timed it…I know I should get out more!) prior to a cool shower. This is crazy and very annoying!
The good points:
The grounds beach and all the facilities are really beautiful, and the pool area is a fabulous place to use.
The staff are more than courteous, and very willing, not as reported by others.
The reception staff are of the highest order, going that extra mile to ensure that you have a great time.
The pricing for drinks is somewhat quirky, 2 cans of Sands beer in the pool bar, are nearly the same as one costs in the beach restaurant, again can this be right???
And yes it is annoying to have 15% gratuity added to every bill, and then have an optional tip on bar slips.
When staying you should try walking along the beach to Tony Macoroni’s conch shack, a really great experience, and he is as he states “the self proclaimed most interesting guy on the island.”
A visit to the fish fry at Smith’s Point is again not to be missed, but do be prepared to queue (get in line) as the service is again somewhat quirky.
Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: Avoid to older rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm really not aware of what the other reviewers here see to warrant the glowing reviews I've read. I just return from a week and I couldn't wait to leave! The only thing this location has going for it is the beach and the pool. Be prepared to spend a LOT of money for everything. The Bahamas doesn't produce anything, so it all has to be imported so it's pricey and that goes for everything at the resort as well. I had the misfortune of coming down with a cold. I finally broke down and bought a bottle of cough/decongestant medicine - $25 for a 5oz bottle, candy bar $2, pringles $5. I echo another reviewers caution about tipping. The resort imposes a mandatory 15% gratuity and as such there is no incentive by the staff to provide good service (frankly they never have anyway). Many of the beach loungers are broken. The thatch beach shelters don't look like they've been rethatched in years (come on Taino, the palm fronds are free for the picking all over the island!). Wo be unto you if you stay in the Ocean or the Coral. They haven't had any renovations that I can determine. Pink floors, pink walls, pink ceiling, mirrored walls everywhere, and a green toilet, thrift store quality kitchen utensils and cookery. I could go on, and on, and on, but just thinking about it makes me angry all over again. I will simply upload my pictures and you can judge for yourself. My one other pet peeve is that they STILL do not have any kind of fitness center and no immediate plans that I'm aware of to add one. Activity wise they offer very little. There's a place next door where you can rent jet skis for $140 an hour I think but that only gives your wallet a workout. I do not recommend the restaurant. The service is very lax and the food is mediocre at best. Your best bet is taking the ferry to Port Lucaya where there are a fair number of restaurants to choose from with better menu options and better (by Bahamian standards) service.

Taxis - while the tourism ministry would like you to believe that they taxis all have meters, they don't. My advice is to try and meet up with another group at the airport while you're waiting for your luggage then when you exit you can all split the cost of the taxi. According to the tourist guide the taxi ride from the airport should cost roughly $16 for the 10 mile trip. Of course I've never once seen a taxi with a meter, and every driver rips you off for $25 flat. So you're better served by grouping up because almost all of the taxi's are 6-9 passenger vans. If the taxi has no meter, I'll pay their $25 but no tip because they've virtually added a $9 tip from the start.

Room Tip: If you do go, make certain that you get a poolside room - they all have balconies. Some channel sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at this resort. This was an RCI exchange for a week but we just stayed for 4 days.

The resort is clean, beautiful and well maintained with a nice pool and well manicured grounds. The resort has 3 bldgs: Marlin (renovated), Coral and Ocean. We stayed at the Marlin in a 1 bedroom unit. The unit was large with a full kitchen, bedroom, good size bathroom with a shower and an L shaped balcony. Our unit was on the 4th floor (elevator to the 3rd and some stairs to the 4th). The resort has a restaurant, couple of bars and the most gorgeous white sand beach with turquoise waters. There are several cabanas and plenty of loungers.

We had lunch at the restaurant once but then went on the grocery run (costs $4.00) and stocked up on drinks and food items. The Ferry to Port Lucaya leaves from the Flamingo (sister property) and costs $3/p/p RT. Port Lucaya marketplace has plenty restaurants, bars and shops, worth a visit.

The Negatives: Taxi costs $25/each way from the airport which is a rip off compared to other caribbean and mexican destinations.
The check in is SLOW and the front desk staff lacks in PR and does not care for the clients. Check in is at 4pm and even the resort was almost empty (15% occupancy when we arrived) they made us wait till 4 telling us that the unit was not ready! We arrived from the US at 10am. There is no maid service during the week so not sure why the rooms are not ready when someone checks out. Dealing with the front desk staff is frustrating because they are very rigid but act like they want to help but in reality they don't. The concierge/bellman/assistant seems very partial to anyone that tips a lot, otherwise does not care! RCI needs to take care of this checkin process delays. People end up waiting till 4-5pm no matter when they arrive and how full or empty the resort is.
Resort charges $145.00 fee + a $100 deposit + $10 per pool towel.

Other than that, once you are in, it is relaxing, beautiful and a great place to be at. We would like to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor in the Marlin bldg unless they renovate the other 2 bldgs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We just got back from a week in the the Coral at Taino Beach Resort and Clubs. We were in a one bedroom/one bath unit that had a really nice balcony overlooking the pool. What can I say about the pool -- touted to be the best one on Grand Bahama island, and I believe it. It had a lazy river, waterslide, swim up bar, shallow area for kids, lounging beds in the water, and a few small caves -- we spent time at the pool every day. The people in Bahama were extremely friendly and we felt safe everywhere we went. Valentine Lewis at the resort was great -- he was even going to play tennis with us and was very helpful. We went kayaking in their National Park through mangrove trees, which was a lot of fun. All in all, a great vacation.

Room Tip: Get a one or two bedroom. The Studios had no balconies and just one window overlooking the parking...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We started off by getting over charged by the taxi cab. Then we go to check into our room where they hold our luggage hostage (b/c the bellman wants his cut) then we can't get our key until we hear about all the amenities and how much they cost and we need to sign up etc. When we are able to get to the counter to check in we are informed there is a security deposit?? So we put down $125.00 and $3.25 fee to do so in which we were told it would be back on my account 4-5 days when we check out( what a lie still not given credit I was there 4/24/14 - 5-1-14. Be careful when you eat out b/c they put the gratuity on it of 15% which is why they don't give a crap if you get good service or not. Our room was a joke we found out that we were on the not renovated yet side. We had a green toilet and sink with pink interior.The bed was on stilts and the hvac leaked from the ceiling. We had not oven but two microwaves?? no view and we had ask for a ocean view. Not going back Destin or Cancun is far better with better service and prices. The only thing that was good was the beach and pool but the pool was dirty.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

While we did stay in the Coral section ,which is a little older, we had a wonderful time! the private little section of beach is heavenly with beautiful blue and green crystal clear water! lots of cabanas and lounge chairs by the beach or pool. The pool's landscaping is a little dated but the huge pool is awesome to float around the lazy river, soak in the shallow area, or swim up to the pool bar. Please note, everything here has a $20 minimum for credit card so cash is a nice thing to always have on hand here and everywhere in Freeport. The rooms are nice and big! Big showers and nice kitchenettes. The ferry to port lucaya was great, quick, and relatively cheap at $6 round trip. The only con is that this hotel is seemingly close to everything, but it really is at least a minimum $15 cab ride for one way to any restaurants in the area. And $27 from the port if arriving by ferry like we did. There are lots of activities available to reserve like snorkeling, kayaking, and jet skiing right from the hotel lobby! Overall, it was a lovely beach vacation resort that wasnt too crowded but still was able to meet some nice people!

Room Tip: If you are looking for newest, book in the marlin section. Coral is a little dated and '90s look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taino Beach Resort & Clubs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taino Beach Resort & Clubs

Address: Jolly Roger Drive | P.O. Box F-43819, Freeport 42452, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taino Beach Resort & Clubs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive Taino Beach Resort & Club offers owners all the comforts of home, but far, far away from any worries of home. With full kitchens, master bedrooms, and spacious patios, the whole family can enjoy their vacation. Views of the beach and pool. Ferry service to Port Lucaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Taino Beach Resort & Clubs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs Hotel Freeport
Taino Beach Resort And Clubs
Ritz Beach Freeport
Ritz Beach Hotel Freeport
Ritz Freeport
Freeport Ritz
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.