We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were completely satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lucayan, Bahamas to your Saves list
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We were completely satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After 15 years visiting Sarasota, we decided it was time for a change, and I booked the Grand Lucayan in October 2012, for a stay in February 2013. Consequently, as the months passed and I read the reviews, I was increasingly uneasy as to what we would find when we arrived. The situation wasn't helped by the fact that there is no clear explanation on any site I could find, including the Grand Lucayan's, that really provides a good description of the resort e.g what's the difference between Breakers Cay, and the Lanai Suites, or the Reef Village for the matter. A map would be great.

Bottom line, things turned out much better then I expected, and we were completely satisfied. I certainly believe we received full value for our money. As to specifics:

Fabric - look hard enough and you'll find issues at any resort, the Grand Lucayan is no exception, however, it is a big piece of real estate, and a lot of infrastructure right on the sea, in a warm climate. There's going to be rust, some wear and tear, some frayed carpet etc etc etc. There was also a very nice oceanfront room on the 9th floor with a great balcony - the furniture was fine, nice TV and the bathroom was clean and well equipped.

Spa - Absolutely, a bit of a hike from Breakers Cay, but also a nice walk in the morning, lots of equipment, nice staff.

Housekeeping - Room was well serviced, housekeeping staff were very pleasant and very accomodating, No complaints here.

Reception - No wait on arrival or departure, very pleasant, helpful, bell staff were very good as well. Sunday 10th and Monday 11th when two 747's worth of Italian telecommunications types arrived, the reception area in the Manor House was quite simply a mad house. Sometimes things don't work out the way you'd like - patience people, you're in the Bahamas.

Staff - Generally, no complaints, polite, accomodating, interesting to talk to. As with everything, there were a couple of superstars, and a few not so much - certainly nothing out of the ordinary.

Food - won't lie, we strolled over to the Marketplace most of the time. Having said that, we did sample the China Grill - perfectly fine, Willy Broadleafs for breakfast - nothing wrong, just liked sampling the various spots in the Marketplace for breakfast - called room service twice and liked what we got. Really liked the treats at Starbucks - we'd have dinner, walk back and grab a tea and a piece of cake to eat on the balcony, and watch the cruise ships sailing away in the distance.

On that note, clearly the Grand Lucayan makes a mint off the cruise ship day trippers. All I'll say is that they were a mixed bag - some were fine, others were people you wouldn't want as houseguests - bottom line, if you're staying at the Grand Lucayan, the cruise ship day visitors arrive early morning, and start to disappear in the early afternoon to get back to their ships, or head over to the Market for 2 Sands for 5$ at Rum Runners.

So, we enjoyed ourselves, were completely satisfied and would return again. Spent a lot of money, including some at the Casino (don't think Vegas, it ain't) and thought I got good value. Sandals? The Ritz? no, it was the Grand Lucayan and it was just fine.

Room Tip: High floor, oceanfront - very sunny in the morning, but a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello ILikewhatILike,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and thanks for all the kind words. It's so great to hear that we were able to deliver in a number of areas and still provide a great value. And even though you ate at the marketplace for the majority of your stay, I won't hold that against you. :0). Also, thanks for the feedback regarding the confusion you experienced when booking your stay and not fully understanding which building you were staying in. I will absolutely take that into consideration and see if we can't remedy that.

Once again, thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to provide feedback.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    625
    240
    114
    69
See reviews for
457
690
53
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had the great pleasure of booking a trip with Kathy Duvall of Beach Bum vacation on the Carnival Fantasy to Nassau and Freeport, Bahamas. It was a friend's wedding and oh boy did we have a great time! The cruise was lovely and the service was phenomenal and the resort was simply beautiful with breath taking views.

I found Kathy's customer service to be great and helpful and she was wonderful at answering my questions. I would recommend her for all of your travel booking needs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Nequan B,

So glad you enjoyed your trip.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had been here 15 years ago when it was "Our Lucaya" and have always thought of it as just that. After reading it had changed hands/flags several times I was apprehensive it would not live up to our first visit. No need to worry. It was better than ever. Even with 1200 Italians in town for a convention. My husband and I and our 14 year old daughter enjoyed a lovely suite with plenty of room for everyone to have their "own" space, and still be together. Loved the lanai with our own table and chairs and lounge chairs. Even the two days it rained we sat outside and counted our blessings for being where we were. I had a great massage at the spa. We enjoyed the sailing right outside our door, and of course, the shopping and conch salad. (We were not on the all inclusive plan.) Our taxi driver from the airport gave us some local recommendations and drove us to them two of the nights. The Fish Fry at Smith Pointe was good, and local, but we were starving after traveling all day and had not yet adapted to the Bahamian "minute" (think Football minutes). We will definitely not let another 15 years go by before returning to "Our Lucaya!"

Room Tip: We paid a little extra on arrival for the upgrade to a suite and it was well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello ccexecsearch,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate all of the kind words. I agree, 15 years is far too long to stay away from this beautiful island. Don't stay away that long again!! :0) Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The big picture: The hotel is lovely with a beautiful beach and lovely grounds; the pools are long and snake through the grounds parallel to the beach with plenty of space and chairs to soy and enjoy the view. The ocean view rooms- on the higher floors- are lovely and picturesque. The hotel is walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. There are a few options on the hotel grounds though quite pricey. Breakfast buffet is reasonable but stops serving at 10 AM.

NY angle: None of the restaurants are fabulous and are pricey. The area is quiet at night aside from the Casino.
Most of the guests are American and Canadian. Try and book through a vendor (Cheap Caribbean) to take advantage of wholesale discounts.

Bahamian angle: We found everyone lovely, welcoming and very helpful. It's an easy ($22) ride to the airport. If you want to see some of the island go on a day trip. We were here during a "cold front" so the weather was not so warm. The pools are not heated (management told us the lap pool used to be but a coil broke). The airport is small and quick so you can probably allot arriving only an hour and a half (or even an hour, though they have US immigration officials in the Bahamas) prior to the flight.

Enjoy its a lovely island!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello NYCTravelPal,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful island as well as the lovely view and the grounds. I thank you for the kind words.

We hope to see you again some day soon,

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Long winded reivew - sorry!

I could sit here and re-cap, in detail, the entire horror of our stay at the so-called 4 Star "Resort" - but then I would just be wasting more time on this place than my time is worth. Highlights and Lowlights instead:

LOW:

1. The entire feel of the place was just pure misery. The staff was absolutely horrid. Wouldn't greet you. No smiles, no hospitality, no care - Bellman that you had to say "excuse me" to, just to get them to move, so you could open the doors YOURSELF. However - the housekeeping department did seem friendlier and smiled/greeted us, but we came across them rarealy. Can't speak for all guests that were there during our stay - but every face we saw was discomfort and misery. Every guest we spoke to - discomfort and misery - from the first hour we were there, to the cab we shared with other guests on our departure to the airport. NOBODY had anything good to say.

2. Check in (we were "gifted" a room approximately 5 hours after our arrival) and that only happened after I dropped my patient, sweet demeanor and stamped my feet a bit. Yes, we arrived before check in - HOWEVER, we called TWICE before our arrival and were assured both times, that we could check in when we arrived (around noon). - so the canned excuse of "check in time is X time - no guarantee" - is not flying with me, here. Didn't happen. ZERO direction from front desk - usually you get even a sliver of hotel info when you arrive at ANY hotel. Resorts usually over-inform you, with directions, activities, etc. We were dismissed with a warning to not lose our towel cards, or be charged a $50 fee, then we were waved away with a frown and eye roll.

3. Rudeness of staff. On top of the fact that NO staff seemed to appreciate the fact that the hotel had guests, we couldn't escape staff making nasty comments about the "1000 Italians" that had been at the hotel the week we arrived. From the front desk, to the bellman, to the outdoor bartenders - they blamed everything on the "1000 Italians" - rooms not being ready for other guests, rooms not being stocked, rooms being filthy and trashed, staff being tired, Italians being rude, cheap, loud. SOOO unprofessional - vent your frustarations amongst yourselves, if you must - but PLEASE do not share this with other guests. Ugh.

4. While our room was in general, clean - it was very much in need of some FFE money being pumped into it. Black, moldy mildewy grout & tiles in shower, shower faucet held on by a pipe (pulling out of wall) chipped and cracked tile and grout. Leftover, wall-mounted soap dispenser in shower, which, clearly was no longer in use. Leftover, wall-mounted hair dryer in bathroom, which, clearly was no longer in use. Worn furniture - knicked, chipped up wood on furniture. Room door that wouldn't close without body-slamming it. Paper thin walls (zero sound proofing)USED bath amenities upon arrival (partial bottles of shampoo, etc.) Rips in bed linens, holes in the sandpaper-esque towels. Rust on anything metal in the room - the tub overflow drain was soooo gross.. Cold Water temperature in shower. You froze (had nothing to do with usage from other guests - we tried at any given time). Zero feel of luxury - nice sized room, but that was it.

5. Restaurants - cannot truly comment on restaurants, because we didn't use them (other than the Cafe that serves "Starbucks coffee" - translation: brown water, and the Hammerheads pool bar -sorry we bothered you guys and made you have to work by us ordering drinks....) We didn't use them, because we had no clue when the hours were! We could walk by any resort restaurant at any time of day or night - no rhyme or reason on when they were open. One night - Willy's appeared to have diners, next night, same time - closed and darkened. Wanted to try Iries (listed on hotel website) - went by - closed entire time. No note on door. Nothing.

6. The hotel was very dark at night and had a general uneasy feeling to it. I read somewhere that the resort is losing so much money, that they can't afford the electricity. I guess this is why one entire pool and water slide were closed the entire time and what appears to be a few buildings closed, as well? I guess providing very little evening lighting (at the expense of your guest's security) also saves you a few kilowatts?

7. Another note on staff rudeness. We braved the cold one day and parked ourselves on the resort's beach. Cruise ship passengers arrived to use the beach, as well. There were a couple of resort staff that were stationed to ensure that non-resort guests did not venture into the main resort beach area and to ensure these people didn't also (gasp!) use resort beach chairs. That's all fine and dandy, but I was soooo embarrassed for these people. The way the resort staff treated cruise passenger after cruise passenger - ugh! It made us so uncomfortable that we ended up packing up and heading back to our room. Resort staff yelled across the beach at the passengers "don't go past the rocks" "you can't use the chairs". Granted, there were almost no resort guests on the beach that day, so why be such a stickler? ESPECIALLY when we noted zero signage on the beach regarding this practice. Perhaps a couple of signs and maybe a relationship with the tourism department (taxis, buses, cruise ships) to ensure non-resort guests are aware of the "boundaries" prior to encroaching them, would save a lot of embarrassment.

8. Casino. Sad, sad, sad little casino. We went in there twice out of complete boredom (pray there is good weather if you happen to book this "resort" - cause there is nothing to do that is not outdoor related - especially when you are stuck there multiple days (how many times can you go to the gym/spa or try your luck at fnding an open restaurant??) There were no more than 20 or so people in the entire (tiny) casino, both times we went in. One entire wall of machines were out of order - a loooong wall of machines. Only a few tables open. Just sad and added to the miserable feel of the resort.

9. The overall layout of the resort was not user friendly and had no rhyme or reason. We were under the impression that Billy Joe's was not part of the resort - but on the wall past this shack, there was an old sign saying you were leaving the resort - AFTER you passed Billy's. Confusing. The outdoor guest bathrooms by Reef Village were absolutely VILE. There was FECES smeared down the stall doors, overflowing trash and paper everywhere. NO toilet paper or paper towels. Just really, absolutely disgusting (shame on me for having to walk in there 2 days in a row). Since the outdoor layout was so bad, hiking to find another restroom was just miserable. Trash (broken chairs, broken planters, beer boxes, etc) were piled up outside ths bathroom and were being blown around in the wind.

10. I absolutely despise that the hotel did not regulate the beach vendors ("braid your hair pretty lady?" "buy some ganja or nose candy, man?", "shells and necklace for the lady?"). Nothing worse than trying to make the most of being on a gorgeous beach in a sweatshirt and pants and being pestered over and over by vendors. (including the drug pushers). Ugh.

11. Learn the costs of taxis before your driver gets behind the wheel and agree to a fee before you take off. We were aware of what the actual charges should be each time (by checking distance and reading the government mandated taxi fees), but didn't want to argue and haggle. We estimate we overspent on taxis (which are supposedly strictly regulated by the government) by appx 200.00 while we were there. I only mention this with my review of the hotel, as we asked 3 different front desk employees about taxi costs to and from airport and were given 3 different prices. Resort front desk staff should know the true cost and be able to relay that to a guest. Period. Also, our departure taxi (called by the hotel) overcharged our party by over 30.00 (if you are to believe the guidelines printed in the local tourism guide that is distributed all over the island).



HIGH:

1. After a 5 hour wait and me almost raising my voice, we DID get a good view (center of ocean front, higher floor) - thank you mother nature!

2. We DID get a patio chair fairly promptly after we asked for one (supposed to be 2 on the patio - we only had one at arrival)

3. We DID get our wake up call and a cab waiting on our early departure morning - as we had requested the evening prior.

4. We were overall, happy to see that it wasn't just US staying at this hotel that were so utterly disappointed. We at first, thought we were being picky, but after meeting other guests (including guests at nearby bars that had actually checked out and transferred to OTHER hotels), we realized that it truly was a miserable, sad little place.

Summarize: DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE YOU BOOK THIS "RESORT". Learn the history of the property, the ownership, the lack of tourism, the lack of money, the lay-offs, etc. Perhaps this is why the staff was so miserable, but the ONLY people to blame are the managers, for lacking the knowledge, compassion and drive to make the most of the situation that they are in.

We didn't bother expressing our disappointment to the staff and/or managers during our stay, as we feel it would only have added to our frustration. If the lack of hospitality by 95% of the staff we encountered was a trickle down from the manager, I seriously doubt I could have handled a chat with a manager. I have also seen some of the canned replies here on tripadvisor, from the hotel manager. ugh.

Room Tip: Demand a room that is at least 7th floor or up - center of hotel, facing ocean. The ideal room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi CompanyHatesMisery,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and are sincerely apologetic that you did not enjoy your stay. I have read your response in detail andI do not wish to insult you with a reply to every point. But I do wish to express my disappointment that you did not express any of your disappointment to a manager while on property. I'm certain any expression of dissatisfaction would have been taken with the utmost seriousness and would have been met with very careful and deliberate assistance in any area in which you expressed concern. However, since that was not the case, I can only offer my apologies. Unprofessional service is certainly not our standard and many of our guests note us for our service, so I am very dismayed to hear you express such concern. The unusual wait time is a product of full bookings and the fact that flights and cruises come pouring in at the same time, making it a bit overcrowded at times. I do apologize. In those cases, our ability to control guest check out time to afford prompt room availability is limited when you consider the time it takes to turn a room over and prep it for new guests. As far as restaurant availability goes, we do have a schedule of restaurants available for guests at check in. I'm sorry that this was not made available to you.

Once again, I do apologize and will certainly look into your comments further as well as share your feedback with our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrival: Monday, February 11th 6:30pm EST.
Departure: Friday, February 15th, 3:30pm EST.

Let's start with the bad and end off on a good note.
BAD
1. Our vacation just so happened to coincide with an Italian telecommunications convention being held at the Grand Lucayan. Some travellers may have found this advantageous to their vacation, however, not so much for a single mother such as myself traveling with one child. The resort was pretty much booked solid for guests of the convention, with the exception of a few outsiders such as myself. And since the majority of the resort's guest that week were attending the convention, that meant that were very few children around. Which isn't so much a big deal. However, the kids club (Camp Lucaya) was closed each day we were there. And the reason I had chosen this resort was because of its kids club so that I could take advantage of the spa/fitness facilities. My travel agent pre-registered my daughter for the kids club in January when we booked our trip. So we were definitely under the impression it would be open. But no big deal, we still managed to have fun.
2. Ocean a little on the chilly side. Of course, no fault of the resort. However, we were hoping the pool would have been heated to make up for the chilly ocean. Not the case. Nonetheless, we still swam in the pool. But obviously not for as long as we had hoped.
3. Since both the pool and ocean were not as warm as we had preferred, we tried out the hot tub. Tuesday it was hot hot hot. Wednesday, Thursday and Friday the hot tub had cooled down drastically. And before you think it's just me being picky, several of the other guests had also made the same comments. Again, no worries...we still sat in the hot tub. Or should I say "lukewarm tub".
4. Plantation Cafe serves Starbucks coffee. Great, my fave. Except a small coffee cost $3.50. And no, the Plantation Cafe is NOT part of the all-inclusive plan. Yes, they have small coffee makers in the room and yes the breakfast buffet also served coffee...but it's not the same. I didn't mind paying for the Starbucks. I just think $3.50 is a bit steep for a small coffee.

GOOD
1. Ocean view room on the 9th floor was absolute perfection. Our room was located in the middle of the hotel. So we had a great view of everything going on. As opposed to be located on one end of the hotel. The room was clean. New flat-screen LG TV. Comfy mattresses and pillows. Safe was in perfect working order. Mini-fridge was nice and cold. Hot showers. Plenty of hangers. (Only 2 drawers though...would have preferred more. But it wasn't so much a bad point which is why I did not include it in my "Bad" list.)
2. Food was good. It's all-inclusive. Don't expect gourmet cuz you won't get it. But YES, the food is still very good. And round of applause goes to the chef at China Beach. I am asian, living in Toronto (which is full of excellent asian restaurants). But the food at China Beach was soooooooo good. You should definitely dine there.
3. Drinks also very good. Bartenders were not chintzy on the alcohol :-)
4. Front Desk Reception/Check In/Check Out...absolutely zero complaints. Quick service with a "genuine" smile. In fact, I tried to get a late check out (3:00pm) but unfortunately they were not able to accommodate. Not a problem. They still let me check out one hour later than usual, free of charge. Not sure if they do that with everyone but it was still nice of them.
5. Baggage Desk clerks...extremely friendly and willing to assist.

TIP: Even though your AI plan will include a 15% gratuity, trust me when I say this, tipping a little extra will go a long way. Everyone will have to share that 15% gratuity. But if you tip your waitress a little extra cash, they will remember you...and it'll definitely be worth it. Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying you need to pay cash to get good service. Even if you don't tip extra, I'm sure they would still be friendly.

In summary, yes, this vacation did have some bad points. Would I go back? YES. Would I recommend it to friends/family? YES. Next time, I will just make sure that Camp Lucaya is open ahead of time. And I would also inquire if there are any major conventions going on. Every service line of the resort (from front desk, to food/beverage, to housekeeping, to the towel hut clerks)...everyone was friendly and so kind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Ilove t,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay. I do apologize if the convention interfered with your vacation in any way. I'm so glad to hear that it did not affect the overall enjoyment of your stay and that you would still choose to stay with us again. That is a testament to the wonderful service that we work so hard to provide. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the kid's club as well. I can see how that would be frustrating. I'm so glad you got to experience the wonderful view and got to enjoy the delicious food at the wonderful China Beach, those are two guest highlights and I'm glad they delivered. I hope to see you again soon.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor,

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were in Freeport for 4 days and the weather was cool/windy most of the time. Because of this, we had to rely on the hotel's amenities a bit more than we normally would have (i.e. if the weather had been nicer, most of our time would have been spent on the beach). If you're looking for a basic beach vacation and get nice weather, this MIGHT work. Personally, I would never return for the following reasons:

-food choices are miserable, the restaurants open and close whenever they feel like it for no rhyme or reason. The marketplace is great, but it would be nice to have some options on site.
-90% of the staff act like you are doing them a huge favour by speaking to them (no eye contact, quick answers, eye rolling). We stood in line for 45 mins to check out! Have never experienced a whole hotel staff that act like this collectively, one or two rude staff members is expected but this was something else.
-bathtub in our room was rusted, mouldy and way overdue for a replacement. The knobs in the bathtub were literally coming off the wall when you adjusted the temperature. The carpeting in the room was equally gross.
-I understand the property used to house many more guests/used more buildings. Now, its like you are walking around a ghost town...super creepy. There are random buildings and restaurants that remain dark and closed. You can walk around the grounds and not see a soul (i.e. walking to the gym at 9am, walking back from dinner at 9pm).

This place did not leave a good impression on us. We have traveled to many other destinations in the Caribbean (and the world, for that matter) and I would never stay here again. We were not looking for luxury...but this place did not have that same happy, fun vibe every other resort in the Caribbean/Mexico has...something is missing here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear ShShCdn,
Thank you for your time in rating us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and take all feedback seriously. We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. Some of the things we are currently implementing include to post all restaurant hours as to ensure better communication with the guests, also having more associates at our front desk to ensure a smooth check in/check out. We have also added an express checkout line for guests. Thank you for pointing out the defects in the restrooms, we will certainly address this. We aim to please, our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a Resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.