We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew in tiles and old bathtub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lucayan, Bahamas to your Saves list
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Freeport
pompano beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mildew in tiles and old bathtub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

That's the most horrible bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. Mildew in between the tiles (black, brown), old soap running on the tiles, could be scraped with my nails, the fawcet coming off the wall, old and brownish bathtub with crack all rusted. I could never imagine that. Bed was very clean, good quality sheets and towels though. When the AC turned on it was very noisy bu after a while it was OK. We woke up everytime it started. There is a catch: all the reservations are made for 1 person, when you arrive at the front desk you have to pay for the 2nd person. Churchill's Restaurant is very expensive, and the waitresses were all messed up with the silerware, missing forks, etc.. Emplyees very nice.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathtub age and tiles cleaness. Be sure the reservation is for 2 when it is a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good day mzaggo,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor, we take all feedback seriously. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations while you were a guest at our hotel. As a result of feedback back like yours, some of the changes we are implementing include frequent checks of Guest rooms to ensure that everything inside the guest room is operational. We are making improvements in our guest rooms as well as in our common areas and ensuring that our grounds as well as our guest rooms are well kept. The room rate and taxes per night are based on double occupancy, however the resort fees, service charge are per person. The Resort fees cover amenities such as: Wi-Fi, In room coffee/bottled water, Lounges/towels poolside, Access to Spa and Fitness Center, daily resort activities, the Junkanoo Band on weekend, Hotel Parking, Nightly turndown service, $10 Casino Match Play, In room safe, Local phone calls. The Service Charge per person/per day covers: Housekeeping, bellman and staff. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area, we offer good value for our location and extensive facilities. We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    724
    300
    137
    93
See reviews for
548
803
61
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Bahamas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the grand lucayan. The resort is on the beach and next to the port lucaya shopping area.

You can have a view of the island, the marina or the ocean. In order to get to the rooms you need a keycard to pass through a security gate which is good. Additionally, you need a tag if you are a guests on the property, which is also good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello sun_sand_and_sea,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to see the Lucayan Marketplace and the Marina. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved this place! The rooms were great! Food was wonderful. We loved the sushi the best! Be cautious wondering around off the resort property. During the day, the market area can get slightly uncomfortable with the locals "begging" for sales. They exploit the children in this fashion as well. Although, we have found this common in our travels. Be cautious at night too. Someone was "jumped" and robbed not far from the resort. Although he apparently had too much to drink. I would stay with a group if you do wonder around after dark.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took the Celebration Cruise to Freeport and stayed at the Grand Lucayan for 4 nights. It was just wonderful, so relaxing and the surrounds were beautiful. Our room was on the 9th Floor, overlooking the pool and beach. Everything was exceptional about this hotel. Definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. Come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the resort. It is very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. We took a banana boat tour and enjoyed sight seeing and experiencing the wild life (dolphins, starfish and sharks). We enjoyed the clear clean pools and swim up bar. We didn't need to leave the resort for a thing. Everything is available including food, a workout gym and family fun! I will definately return to this resort again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Jamie P,

Thanks for coming to see us again. We love having you. And thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Took the Celebration Cruise to Freeport and stayed at the Grand Lucayan Resort for 4 nights. Absolutely the best time was had by my family. The resort is great with the choice of restaurants, pools, activities and more. The Weds. night Fish Fry was a blast. Great food, and the entertainment (Junkanoo) was cool.

Being right across the street from the Port Lucaya Marketplace, we had plenty of time spent walking the shops and restaurants. The best bargains can be found at the straw market which was right there too.

Most of the local tours and activities will pick you up at the resort entrance. Plenty to see and do. Highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello m0rph0,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and visit us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at a "time share" for a week, after a three days of torture in a rundown, old, stinky timeshare, we decided to check out and check in to the GRAND LUCAYAN Radisson....the best decision ever. Our mother/daughter vacation was saved by the grace of this resort...they had a special package deal that included ocean front room, massages for two, breakfast everyday for two, and dinner for two oh and in room champagne and strawberries...it was the best deal ever! (i dare not tell you the price, b/c I think it was a mistake, that's how good of a deal it was)

The premises were beautiful, hammocks, pools, beach, pool bars and great location on the island. Easy walk to the main shopping in Freeport. I appreciated that there was a check point guarding any outside visitors without wristbands into the resort. Everything you would want out of a resort is right here...

Our room, was clean, bright and spacious (for a "hotel room"). I loved the sliding doors to the HUGE balcony, it made the room feel like an indoor/outdoor room when all the way opened...the views from the room amazing. We happened to be there on a Fireworks night, what a treat!

The onsite food, was okay...nothing to brag about but still delish. We ventured out to local restaurants which were much better.

The staff, very nice and accomodating.

The massages and spa were awesome!!

This was just what my mom and I needed and more than we expected!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get an ocean front/view...with balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello MelCaribeGurl,

So glad that you we could swoop in and save the day!! :-) Thanks for staying with us!! Come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Road | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a Resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.