We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Seahorse Road Between Pelican Bay & Grand Lucayan Hotels, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
+1 242-373-4363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 97 restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: With unmatched service & attention to detail, Flying Fish offers a blend of traditional & modernist cuisine techniques not used anywhere else in the Bahamas. Focusing on local seafood & indigenous ingredients prepared with the utmost skill & creativity. Flying Fish boasts an in-house sommelier. Chef Tim Tibbitts is named in the Top 25 Chefs for 2014 in the Caribbean by Caribbean Journal. The restaurant has also been named one of the Top 5 in the Caribbean, is Fodor recommended for Grand Bahama Island and has been awarded 4 Diamond rating by AAA. Waterside dining at its finest.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

food was very gourmet. more like 5 star dining, a short walk from our hotel, grand lucaynan, make a reservation. right on the water. very modern, delicious!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    228
    28
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

OMG I'm so happy I did not follow for the simplicity of the name because I was truely impressed by this place. From the atmosphere to the service to the art of each dish to the actual taste of every single dish was excellent. Even the dessert was work of art & creativity & combination of beautiful tastes that are so delicious I wished I lived there to eat there more often. The only bad thing was White powder they used in few dishes, which was disgusting but even that didnt change my enjoyment of the whole experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have had the privilege of eating in many restaurants on almost every island of The Bahamas from Paradise Island to Harbour Island and well beyond and this was by far the single best and most creative meal I have ever had in The Bahamas. Fantastic cocktails (the Mango/Cilantro Margarita rocks!), excellent service and style and stellar, world-class dining. An kudos to the chef/owner for serving Lionfish as a regular menu item - his commitment to not only culinary excellence but to conservation in The Bahamas has been noted and is appreciated by this patron. Thank you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy time for Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful setting - nice variety of happy hour drink and food selections. Attentive friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three days in paradise?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Grand Lucayan was very nice to stay for just three nights. China Beach great food and waitresses, Churchills, was lovely, with a wonderful bar staff and great singer and piano player. For me the only place to stay on the island. However, beware of locals in the bar telling you where to eat because the owners and/or chefs are their friends and they want them to make money.. Went to Flying Fish directly across the street from the Manor House entrance to the hotel on the site of Pelican Bay Hotel. While the décor was very nice, black and white and very modern, good view of the bay, and the waiters and other staff were exceptional, I wish we could say the same for the food. The chef, obviously had delusions of grandeur. The menu was extremely limited. The only steak that was offered was flank steak and we haven't eaten flank steak since we were young and had no money. Everything was seasoned with chili, including a tuna tartar as an opener which was very nice just lightly seasoned with chili. Then it went from bad to worse. Everything was chilied. And we mean everything. The food was overly expensive for what we were served. The chef./owner didn't have another seasoning or spice in his repertoire, everything was awful, overly seasoned with chili. I used to live there back in the late 60's and actually worked at the Lucayan Beach as it was called then. The Flying Fish didn't exist then and we believe that the chef\/owner must write his own reviews for this site. His closing offer was a mango ice lollipop which would have been great if he had left it just as mango, instead, you got it, he seasoned it with CHILI. Good luck Chef Tibbets, we wouldn't come to your establishment if it were the last place in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.