We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Freeport Resort & Club to your Saves list
Freeport Resort & Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rum Cay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Freeport
Mustang, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The pool area is awesome, quite, peaceful, local music playing in the background, the staff is helpful, always around if you need anything, room is spacious and clean, I rented a car and travelled all over the island, I recommend driving to the east end, check out pelican beach on the east end, go to the very end of the highway, you will see a green snack shop on the left, she has fried lobster for $12.00, lucyan national forest is on the the way to the east end, stop and walk through, you will get to see ben's cave and bats, walk through the swamp to the beach, by the hotel is a white sandy beach at lucayan beach, you can rent jet skies, there is a place to buy drinks and food, on the west end of the island - check out paradise cove, and be sure to eat some fried conch, keep going toward the west end and stop by the pink pearl restaurant, it is very very nice, I did not see a nicer restaurant on the island, it was built march 2013, also located close to the hotel is the cruise ship docking area, that is where we found the coconuts and shopping area.enjoyed my vacation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
11
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

One bedroom was very spacious. Resort was pretty dead-only four of the room were occupied and there are no on-site activities. Went to play tennis one evening with my dad, but the racquettes were old and lacked grips, and we were given only one usable tennis ball. The courts were occupied by locals so we had to wait but eventually could get a court. The resort has someone that offers excursions-but they were all over-priced. We had a car so just toured on our own, which was quite easy even through the resort activities person warned us that it would be dangerous to drive around and we probably wouldn't have any fun. (??). With a tour-book and a map you don't need to pay anyone to show you around. Pool was clean and quiet, we enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed from the 4th to 9th March and had a super time. Everyone at the resort was friendly and the staff went out of their way to help us with our questions. Prince was especially kind and ordered pizza for us as we arrived in the evening and Rochelle and Troy did a special supermarket trip for us the next day. Smiling Pat's trip was equally good. We even had a game of tennis with two of the local players.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great place if you like the quit vacation. It is not like the all inclusive, I would argue it is better! Dont make tour plans until to talk to "Smiling Pat" who is the local tour guide. To see the island in three days for a wonderful price you can't miss out on. If we decide to come back to this area we will not make plan to go anyother plans!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Everyone is better off going to the Caribbean! Freeport is boring, dirty, doesn't seem safe, this resort is completely outdated and doesn't have anything going on. They even ran out of bottled drinking water for almost 2 days, we ended up going to the store to get our own, which meant walking through un-safe areas. And Bahamas Air completely ripped me off -I had to repurchase my flight home when I missed a flight caused by Bahamas Air flights and they never reimbursed me as I was told they would. Don't go to the Bahamas, there are much, much better islands further south.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I just want to review Freeport Bahamas in general. Love it! Awesome! Want to move there. Grew up in south Florida and freeports gold rock beach puts all Florida beaches to shame. Went on a jeep tour where you drive your own jeep and it was the most awesome fun ever! Aside from riding your own airboat thru the glades!
Love JP at jeep tour, much like Kathryn Hepburn! Miss her. Hilarious! CB talk from jeep to jeep was like back in the day. Stayed on ship not on land.
Grand lacaian was Beautiful though.
Vendor named caroline was fun and not pushy, bought all souvineers from her.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading some of the comments here, I went to the resort with low expectations. Yes, it is definitely in need of an update (i.e. 1970's countertops) but it was very clean so not a problem for me. The one-bedroom we stayed in was super spacious. The shuttle service to beach, grocery store, and Port Lucaya was excellent. Since the resort is small, we enjoyed getting to know the other guests really well. Some of the guests had been coming for 32 years and their advice was very helpful. The major concern I had was the staff attitude. It seems like they are super stressed out and not warm or friendly despite our positive attitudes. The Tuesday night meal was the best I had all week! This is definitely not a teenie bopper resort but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freeport Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport Resort & Club

Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Freeport Resort & Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Freeport Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeport Resort & Club Hotel Freeport
Freeport Resort And Club
Freeport Resort & Club Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.